We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couples Getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Abbey Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bookmark
You added Abbey Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Abbey Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   269 Fontana Blvd., Fontana, WI 53125   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fontana
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Couples Getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed at this hotel over the summer with friends. We had a great time. It is right on the water (if you are bringing a boat they have easy parking and boat lauching), and has beautiful views. The rooms were comfortable but not huge. The bathrooms were large, updated and clean. Comfortable beds too. The main bar & grill on site was nice. The food was good and the live entertainment was fun both Friday & Saturday night. Being a lake time and otherwise sleepy little town at that, the mix of people was very interesting. It was a very diverse crowd, the the live band was playing a little bit to everyone. The spa in the resort was gorgeous, albeit expensive as hotel spas generally are. Fontana is a great little place to visit, but lacks many choices for accommodations. The Abbey is a little expensive for what it has to offer, (with little competition I guess it can be), but we would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Kbernaske,

Thank you for your review of The Abbey Resort. It sounds like you took full advantage of our resort’s offering including our spa, restaurants and nightly entertainment; and thank you for your comments about our rooms and views. You are correct it that we do have easy boat launching and docking – perfect for enjoying the Lake Geneva summer experience. We hope that you will have the opportunity to visit us again – maybe in the fall or winter to experience a different – but still very fun – time.

Kind regards,
Sara Schmitz
Guest relations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    169
    88
    41
    32
See reviews for
147
239
10
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Il
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We had a wedding to attend at the Abbey and decided to go up for an extra day to enjoy. And enjoy, we did. The room was comfortable and cozy. Right outside was a bean bag game and the pool What more can you ask for :)

Room Tip: There are rooms on the Harbor side and the pool side. If you have kids opt for the pool side - you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Nicki001,

Thank you for your review. I am delighted to hear you had such an enjoyable stay. We hope that you have the opportunity to stay with us again.

Kind regards,
Sara Schmitz
Guest relations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niles, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

A most memorable and enjoyable weekend. The spa, the room, the restaurants were all top-notch. We will be going back as soon as possible. If you are using the spa, ask for a room near the spa. It is quiet and you are able to go to and from the spa very easily.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Tom768,

Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear that you were able to escape and find the R&R that you were seeking and that you are looking to return as soon as possible. To help with planning your return trip, we have just launched a great mid-week spa special -- Autumn Escape Spa Package. You can book your package online or via our 800 number (800-709-1323). Looking forward to seeing you soon.
Kind regards,
Sara Schmitz
Guest relations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Overall good stay. Very low shower pressure. pressure varied as did temperature while taking one. Also the shower head was over 7' high, not sure why, Im over 6' and it was a bit of a reach. My hotel room door wouldn't close, i told them and they came by quickly and tightened down the hinges.

Nice area to play pool and table shuffleboard. I thought the food prices were a bit expensive ($3 for a soda) and the grounds themselves were beautiful. I liked the coffee shop, the gal there was sweet as pie and they had a nice selection of muffins, pastries, etc.

Room Tip: Get a room looking over the water, Geneva Lake is a beauty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Jackson 1812,
Thank you for your review. I pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to take advantage of some of our onsite amenities and found our staff in the Café Latte to be kind and helpful. We look forward to a return visit in the future.

Kind regards,
Sara Schmitz
Guest relations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Our stay at The Abbey was all around wonderful. Our room was small but so cozy and comfortable. It was very well decorated and loved the ceiling beams. We could sit outside our room and see the harbor and lake. The grounds were immaculate and had beautiful flowers. The outdoor pool was super fun for the kids with slides and sprays. They had outside games for the kids (or grownups) and inside games as well. We enjoyed the free ice cream sundaes. We loved walking around the property and by the lake. There is a nice park for kids across from the hotel as well. This is an older property but I was so happy to see that it has been maintained and kept up to date. The only negative was at check in when we arrived an hour early and thought we would be able to get in our room but it was not ready. No problem, we walked around and got acquainted with the area. However, it was not ready for another two hours. Other than that it was a wonderful two day stay. We got a super good deal online and will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Blubird Traveler,

Thank you for your review and your very nice comments about our resort. I am delighted to hear you had such an enjoyable stay with us and were able to take advantage of our onsite family activities. As you are looking to return again, might I suggest that you sign up for our online emails via our website to stay apprised of the discounts and promotions we are running.
Kind regards,
Sara Schmitz
Guest relations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed at the Abbey because we went to a wedding in the area and it was the venue the bride/groom had blocked off for rooms. I wish I had taken the time to find another place. We spent $400 for two nights of minimal sleep and lackluster service in an overpriced and outdated room. Both nights we were awoken around 12 am and 2 am, because the walls are unbelievably thin and you can hear *everything* going on in the rooms above and next to you... It was so bad we could listen to the YouTube video the people next to us were giggling over at 2 in the morning, and then had to listen to the person upstairs as he/she stomped around in their room at 7am. We called the front desk at 2am to have them ask the people next to us to be quieter. Then, at 8:45 am (after maybe 5 hours of fitful sleep) the maid service was pounding on the door to clean our room. **WHAT?!** What respectable hotel has maid service before 9am on a Saturday morning? You have to be kidding me. No apology from the girl who was going to clean our room, either, when I told her it seemed a bit early for the room to be cleaned, just a "oh well that's when we start here."

I have no idea what the $12 a night "resort fee" went to because we weren't there enjoying any of the "resort activities". No one at the front desk bothered to explain what that covered. And, they certainly didn't bother to ask us how our stay was when we checked out.

If you go to the Lake Geneva area and want to relax, don't stay here. You'll go home more tired than you arrived.

Room Tip: Maybe the villas are better, but a room on the first floor is guaranteed to keep you up ALL NIGHT.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
HLB981,

Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear that your stay was not as you had expected. Please feel free to contact me at schmitz@theabbeyresort.com if you would like to discuss your stay in further detail.

Kind regards,
Sara Schmitz
Guest relations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare, Illinois
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We spent the night at the beautiful Abbey Resort. We spent our honeymoon there 15,614 days ago, We are 91 days short of our 43 year. The resort was built in 1963 and recently underwent an extensive remodel and is absolutely gorgeous. Rooms were great with nice comfortable beds and large walk-in showers. Food was exceptional, Service was super attentive and polite. Property is right on Lake Geneva and very well maintained. Beautiful grounds

Room Tip: Rooms stretch out quite a ways. We were fortunate to have one just off the lobby. Noise was not an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Claireinsguy,

Congratulations on 43 years of marriage and we are delighted that you selected The Abbey Resort for your get away! We are extremely happy to hear that our resort and services have only improved since you visited for your honeymoon 15,614 days ago. Our congratulations once again, and we hope you will be back again soon.

Kind regards,
Sara Schmitz
Guest relations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Abbey Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Resort & Spa

Address: 269 Fontana Blvd., Fontana, WI 53125
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Fontana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fontana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Abbey Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the lake at one of the Midwest's most iconic destinations. Whether you are vacationing on a girlfriends' getaway, business retreat, romantic escape or fun filled family vacation, The Abbey Resort brings you the best of the Lake Geneva experience. The Abbey Resort, on the shores of beautiful Lake Geneva, features 90 acres of manicured grounds. This Lake Geneva resort features lodge inspired accommodations with contemporary conveniences and facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Abbey Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Hotel Fontana
Abbey Resort And Spa
Abbey Hotel And Fontana
Abbey Resort And Fontana
Abbey Wisconsin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abbey Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.