We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back after 15,614 days!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abbey Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Abbey Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Abbey Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   269 Fontana Blvd., Fontana, WI 53125   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fontana
Clare, Illinois
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Back after 15,614 days!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We spent the night at the beautiful Abbey Resort. We spent our honeymoon there 15,614 days ago, We are 91 days short of our 43 year. The resort was built in 1963 and recently underwent an extensive remodel and is absolutely gorgeous. Rooms were great with nice comfortable beds and large walk-in showers. Food was exceptional, Service was super attentive and polite. Property is right on Lake Geneva and very well maintained. Beautiful grounds

Room Tip: Rooms stretch out quite a ways. We were fortunate to have one just off the lobby. Noise was not an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Claireinsguy,

Congratulations on 43 years of marriage and we are delighted that you selected The Abbey Resort for your get away! We are extremely happy to hear that our resort and services have only improved since you visited for your honeymoon 15,614 days ago. Our congratulations once again, and we hope you will be back again soon.

Kind regards,
Sara Schmitz
Guest relations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    160
    85
    40
    32
See reviews for
144
228
9
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

My husband booked our Sunday-Tuesday stay on Friday afternoon over the phone. This is relevant only because it was less than two days prior to our visit and the Abbey knew about the sidewalk/parking lot construction going on given the signs which greeted us on the doors of the 'villas'.

We booked a 2BR villa as we have a daughter under 18mos, I am pregnant and wanted the luxury of an extra bedroom and a full kitchen. We thought $269/nite during off season was a little steep, but given the high ratings on tripadvisor, we figured it was worth the splurge.

Sunday check-in is a little late at 4pm, so we arrived at 6pm not to be killing time with a little one. The villa was not worth $269/nite. It was a throwback to 1980, appliances and all. The unit was clean, but asking $269/nite was downright bold. It should be noted that the pictures on the website show more updated villas - I believe commanding a price of $319/nite. When making the reservation my husband specifically inquired about the price difference and the agent informed him the only difference was more updated furniture....she neglected to include appliances, decor and all finishes in that comment. Whatever, we weren't going to be in the room that much so chalked it up to experience.

We awoke Monday am to sounds of the parking lot and road adjacent to our building being torn up. Talking with the front desk, they apparently were unaware of this at the time of booking citing, 'miscommunication btw the management company of the condo villas and the Abbey resort'. That's simply unacceptable. 4 hours later at 11am we had packed everything up and were situated in another villa at the other side of the property which the Abbey assured us would not be impacted by construction during the remaining 24 hours of our stay. While in the unit, a man came in to service the furnace, he was very apologetic for disturbing us and told us he was told the unit would be empty all week, which he probably was.....likely more miscommunication.

The new villa was more in line with our exectations, although this unit commanded $319/nite during off-season? We were not subject to the upcharge. Enjoyed the baby pool on Monday afternoon only to have to navigate around ripped up sidewalks to get back the unit. This was really comical.

Tuesday am, deja vu - construction again! Given we were checking out in a few hours, we fled into town for breakfast, defeating the whole point of having booked a villa with a full kitchen for a little one! Upon arriving back at the property, we could not access our unit, as there was construction on both entry ways to the property. Would not have been a big deal, given the comedy of errors, but we had another vehicle trapped in there. After parking a bit away and returning to the villa, we requested a late check-out and my husband was on the phone with the front desk so we could navigate our exit from the Abbey resort.

I cannot recommend this property to anyone under any circumstances. I understand that construction needs to get done. We should have been made aware that there was construction so we could have made an informed choice whether or not to stay at the Abbey. Further their prices should have reflected the construction environment or even limited the availability of particular rooms.

We purposely went away after Labor Day so we would not have crowds to contend with. We had many choices in terms of accomodation and were sorely diappointed in our choice of the Abbey. We wasted time moving rooms, logistics of entering/exiting/being trapped at the property and ulimately escaping the property for some quiet.

Poorly done Abbey.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Mic13,

Thank you for your extensive review of The Abbey Villas. We are very sorry for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. I understand the manager you spoke with on Sunday morning resolved the matter to you/ your husband’s satisfaction.Please feel free to contact me at schmitz@theabbeyresort.com if you would like to discuss your stay in further detail.

Kind regards,
Sara Schmitz
Guest relations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheaton, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed at The Abbey on 08/09/13 and 08/10/13. We picked this place to stay because we went to a concert at Music By The Lake (Williams Bay). The weekend was wonderful. We were given a lovely room that looked out at the lake. Dustin was our waiter at The Waterfront. We were a little pressed for time, and he was most accommodating. He was quite helpful with menu suggestions and very fun. We took the shuttle van the hotel provides to our concert. Jose was our driver and was quite helpful in the arrangements of drop off and pick up. He dropped us off right at the entrance and was there to pick us up as soon as the concert ended. He even communicated with the crew at the venue to collect us. It was our first time at this venue and we weren't sure of how everything worked/ran! The resort is large, but has a small feel to it. I would highly recommend this resort.

Room Tip: Ask a room with a view of the bay/lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
630carol0903,

Thank you for your review and for specifically naming our outstanding team members in your review. I will be sure to share your comments with them and their respective managers. I am pleased to hear you had such an enjoyable stay with us, and that you would highly recommend our resort to others. You might consider signing up for our e-mail alerts to stay apprised of our specials and packages. We look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards,
Sara Schmitz
Guest relations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaska, Minnesota, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Beautiful area.
Very clean hotel.
It is nice to have a alcony to sit on and have an outside enterance as well as inside.
Check in isn't until 4pm, which I thought was a bit late.
We would visit again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Cheryl R.,
Thank you for your review. I am delighted to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards,
Sara Schmitz
Guest relations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lombard, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

If you are looking to relax, this is the place. Adult pool , kid pool lots of restaurants and some in walking distance. Food is good in all restaurants and not expensive. 15 Min drive to downtown. Great for couples or families. Definitely will be going back!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
G2379,
Thank you for your review of The Abbey Resort. I delighted to hear that you found our resort relaxing and enjoyed your stay. You might consider signing up for our e-mail alerts to stay apprised of our specials and packages. We look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards,
Sara Schmitz
Guest relations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We purchased a Groupon for this Hotel and we were very pleased with the property. Everything is very well kept and clean. The resort layout of rooms can be like finding your way through a maze but it is so rewarding when you find your way! We had a king bed, pool room with a large shared patio overlooking the pool. The bed was wonderful. There were umbrella tables outside our door, so sharing a glass of wine and some cheese was so convenient. The outdoor pool was great and the option of an indoor pool came in handy the day we had some rain. The restaurant at the resort, Fontana Grill, was very good. The food and the service more than met our expectations. The price for beverages at the pool are overpriced, a domestic can of beer for $4.50 is a bit much. Bring a six pack and a bottle of wine for down time. My only complaint would be that the carpet in the room smelled old, maybe it was a smoking room at one time? Lots to do in the area and the drive to Lake Geneva (the town) is an easy drive. Lots of shops and restaurants. We will go back. H. Varkalis

Room Tip: Rooms near the outdoor pool are very convenient and the pool closes at 9 p.m. so it is quiet. We sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Rockydays,
Thank you for your review. I am happy to hear that you had a wonderful 3 days with us. It great to hear that you were able to not only enjoy the pools and restaurants, but also find some time for R&R. We look forward to your return stay.

Kind regards,
Sara Schmitz
Guest relations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ingleside, Illinois
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Cannot say enough about the beautiful hotel, and grounds. It was all very clean and well maintained. The rooms have quality beds and sundries. It was nice to have a choice of restaurants.
The staff was very helpful. We rented a boat, kayaked and also enjoyed the lake and pools. Stayed using their Anniversary room special, that included fifty dollars a day for food and beverages. This was very reasonable and well worth it.

Room Tip: I recommend the Harbor side rooms, very pretty facing the water, day or night, and also a suite if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Kayakdeb2,
Thank you for your review. Your time here sounds absolutely wonderful and I thank you for sharing your review. Our location certainly allows you to take full-advantage of the many water sports that Lake Geneva has to offer. You might consider liking our page on Facebook to stay apprised of future overnight offers and water sport promotions.

Kind regards,
Sara Schmitz
Guest relations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Abbey Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Resort & Spa

Address: 269 Fontana Blvd., Fontana, WI 53125
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Fontana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fontana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Abbey Resort & Spa 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the lake at one of the Midwest's most iconic destinations. Whether you are vacationing on a girlfriends' getaway, business retreat, romantic escape or fun filled family vacation, The Abbey Resort brings you the best of the Lake Geneva experience. The Abbey Resort, on the shores of beautiful Lake Geneva, features 90 acres of manicured grounds. This Lake Geneva resort features lodge inspired accommodations with contemporary conveniences and facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Abbey Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Resort And Spa
Abbey Hotel Fontana
Abbey Hotel And Fontana
Abbey Resort And Fontana
Abbey Wisconsin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abbey Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.