We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Weekend Getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Abbey Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Abbey Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Abbey Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   269 Fontana Blvd., Fontana, WI 53125   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Fontana
Wheaton, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice Weekend Getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed at The Abbey on 08/09/13 and 08/10/13. We picked this place to stay because we went to a concert at Music By The Lake (Williams Bay). The weekend was wonderful. We were given a lovely room that looked out at the lake. Dustin was our waiter at The Waterfront. We were a little pressed for time, and he was most accommodating. He was quite helpful with menu suggestions and very fun. We took the shuttle van the hotel provides to our concert. Jose was our driver and was quite helpful in the arrangements of drop off and pick up. He dropped us off right at the entrance and was there to pick us up as soon as the concert ended. He even communicated with the crew at the venue to collect us. It was our first time at this venue and we weren't sure of how everything worked/ran! The resort is large, but has a small feel to it. I would highly recommend this resort.

Room Tip: Ask a room with a view of the bay/lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
630carol0903,

Thank you for your review and for specifically naming our outstanding team members in your review. I will be sure to share your comments with them and their respective managers. I am pleased to hear you had such an enjoyable stay with us, and that you would highly recommend our resort to others. You might consider signing up for our e-mail alerts to stay apprised of our specials and packages. We look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards,
Sara Schmitz
Guest relations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    255
    144
    74
    37
    28
See reviews for
127
216
9
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chaska, Minnesota, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Beautiful area.
Very clean hotel.
It is nice to have a alcony to sit on and have an outside enterance as well as inside.
Check in isn't until 4pm, which I thought was a bit late.
We would visit again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Cheryl R.,
Thank you for your review. I am delighted to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards,
Sara Schmitz
Guest relations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lombard, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

If you are looking to relax, this is the place. Adult pool , kid pool lots of restaurants and some in walking distance. Food is good in all restaurants and not expensive. 15 Min drive to downtown. Great for couples or families. Definitely will be going back!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
G2379,
Thank you for your review of The Abbey Resort. I delighted to hear that you found our resort relaxing and enjoyed your stay. You might consider signing up for our e-mail alerts to stay apprised of our specials and packages. We look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards,
Sara Schmitz
Guest relations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We purchased a Groupon for this Hotel and we were very pleased with the property. Everything is very well kept and clean. The resort layout of rooms can be like finding your way through a maze but it is so rewarding when you find your way! We had a king bed, pool room with a large shared patio overlooking the pool. The bed was wonderful. There were umbrella tables outside our door, so sharing a glass of wine and some cheese was so convenient. The outdoor pool was great and the option of an indoor pool came in handy the day we had some rain. The restaurant at the resort, Fontana Grill, was very good. The food and the service more than met our expectations. The price for beverages at the pool are overpriced, a domestic can of beer for $4.50 is a bit much. Bring a six pack and a bottle of wine for down time. My only complaint would be that the carpet in the room smelled old, maybe it was a smoking room at one time? Lots to do in the area and the drive to Lake Geneva (the town) is an easy drive. Lots of shops and restaurants. We will go back. H. Varkalis

Room Tip: Rooms near the outdoor pool are very convenient and the pool closes at 9 p.m. so it is quiet. We sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Rockydays,
Thank you for your review. I am happy to hear that you had a wonderful 3 days with us. It great to hear that you were able to not only enjoy the pools and restaurants, but also find some time for R&R. We look forward to your return stay.

Kind regards,
Sara Schmitz
Guest relations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ingleside, Illinois
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Cannot say enough about the beautiful hotel, and grounds. It was all very clean and well maintained. The rooms have quality beds and sundries. It was nice to have a choice of restaurants.
The staff was very helpful. We rented a boat, kayaked and also enjoyed the lake and pools. Stayed using their Anniversary room special, that included fifty dollars a day for food and beverages. This was very reasonable and well worth it.

Room Tip: I recommend the Harbor side rooms, very pretty facing the water, day or night, and also a suite if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Kayakdeb2,
Thank you for your review. Your time here sounds absolutely wonderful and I thank you for sharing your review. Our location certainly allows you to take full-advantage of the many water sports that Lake Geneva has to offer. You might consider liking our page on Facebook to stay apprised of future overnight offers and water sport promotions.

Kind regards,
Sara Schmitz
Guest relations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My mother and I came here to celebrate her birthday. She's elderly so it was kind of hard for her to get around. I asked for a wheel chair and the resort was very accommodating. We were able to keep it in our room for easy access during our stay. We had a pool side room and were able to enjoy the pool while staying close to our room. The Waterfront restaurant was ok. Nothing special really. Service could have been better. Take advantage of the free shuttle to the Lake Geneva shopping. This place would be great for a girls getaway. We saw a few groups of people just outside their rooms on the patio having some drinks, etc. Luxurious, no, but a very clean and comfortable place. Our room was very nice and clean.

Room Tip: Pool side room is very nice, first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Laura G.,
Thank you for selecting The Abbey Resort for your mother’s birthday celebration and our best wishes to her. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our staff to be accommodating. You are correct in that we are a great destination for girls’ weekends. We offer spa overnight packages that are perfect for girls’ weekends. However, I am sorry to hear that you did not experience exceptional service in one of our dining outlets and have shared your comment with the management team so that it can be addressed. We look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards
Sara Schmitz
Guest relations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

The room was exactly like the pictures. We woke up later than planned and got a late start on our water sports adventure. I asked the front desk if it was possible to check out a little later. She let us check out around 2:30 and even gave us a key to the pool so we can still enjoy after check out. Great customer service. I will be going back soon

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Madeline M.,
Thank you for your review. I am delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay and to hear that our staff provided you with great customer service. We look forward to your future stay.

Kind regards,
Sara Schmitz
Guest relations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Abbey Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Resort & Spa

Address: 269 Fontana Blvd., Fontana, WI 53125
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Fontana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Fontana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Abbey Resort & Spa 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the lake at one of the Midwest's most iconic destinations. Whether you are vacationing on a girlfriends' getaway, business retreat, romantic escape or fun filled family vacation, The Abbey Resort brings you the best of the Lake Geneva experience. The Abbey Resort, on the shores of beautiful Lake Geneva, features 90 acres of manicured grounds. This Lake Geneva resort features lodge inspired accommodations with contemporary conveniences and facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Tingo so you can book your Abbey Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Hotel Fontana
Abbey Resort And Spa
Abbey Hotel And Fontana
Abbey Resort And Fontana
Abbey Wisconsin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abbey Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.