We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The resort is ok, but pricey” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Abbey Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Abbey Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Abbey Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   269 Fontana Blvd., Fontana, WI 53125   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fontana
Certificate of Excellence
Evanston, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The resort is ok, but pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

We arrived early and our room was not ready, which was fine, but the receptionist was not very helpful regarding what our options were with what to do while we waited. After pressing her for options, we decided on the Champagne Brunch at the Grill. $27 for a buffet is definitely the most we have ever spent on brunch. However, it was very good and we were starving.
Next we went to the family pool. Even though it was 90 degrees out, the pool was waaaay to cold and our son wouldn't swim in it. They were also out of towells. (This happened consistently over the weekend). I recommend bringing your own towells. The adult pool was a much more comfortable temperature, as was the indoor pool. The service at the pool cabana was painfully slow - 20 mins of standing in line to get a drink. Normally, I wouldn't be too bothered by freezing water or lack of towells, but at this price, you would expect the details to be taken care of. And the system at that pool stand was just silly.
We had a lovely dinner overlooking the harbor at the Waterfront. However, we were told by the hostess that there were no tables outside and that none would be available for 45 mins to 1 hour. Then we overheard another employee talk about the 2 open tables outside. There were actually at least 4 open tables outside, so I'm not sure why she was resistant to sit us out there.
There were small kid's activities that my son enjoyed - smores at the fire, glow in the dark swiming at night, game room.
Overall, we think this resort is really nice and we are interested in coming back in the winter to take advantage of the spa. The high ceiling in our room was nice, it was clean and the bathroom was nice with a double sink and Kohler fixtures. Maybe if they are not so busy, they will be able to get the guest service details right.

Room Tip: We liked the upper level room due to the high ceiling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markus S, Manager at Abbey Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 6, 2012
Dear Amy R,

Thank you for posting a review about your recent stay with us at the Abbey Resort & Avani Spa. We appreciate your feedback.

We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed the Campaign Brunch at the Fontana Grill, the delicious food options at the Waterfront, the cleanliness of your guestroom, and the wide array of children’s activities.

I would like to apologize for the lack of communication at both the waterfront and the front desk, and for the amount of time you had to wait for pool towels and drinks. I will bring these issues to our weekly managers meeting and they will be quickly resolved. I know this doesn’t change your experience, but I wanted to assure you that we heard your concerns and will do something about it.

Thank you again for choosing the Abbey, without your feedback we cannot continue to improve our services. We are all looking forward to your return.

I hope you enjoy your upcoming winter spa vacation.

Sincerely,
Markus Savaglio
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    338
    201
    102
    43
    33
See reviews for
180
273
12
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Genesee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

My husband and I had a wonderful stay at the Abbey Resort. It has everything, and is away from the crowds of downtown Lake Geneva. The Avani Spa is stunning.

Room Tip: We had a poolside room - a door opened to small patio and short walk to outdoor pool. It was wonderf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markus S, Manager at Abbey Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 6, 2012
Dear BethK2801,

Thank you for posting a review on Tripadvisor. We are glad you enjoyed your couple’s getaway.

I don’t think I could have described our resort any better. We can’t wait for your next stay.

See You Soon,
Markus Savaglio
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

We stayed at the Abbey over the weekend of May 19th for our 22nd wedding anniversary. The hotel is nice - good variety of things to do; adult swimming pool, kids pool, spa, game room, nearby boat rentals, fire pits, and various restaurants in the hotel and a couple close by. The room we got was a double - high beds so those who might have trouble getting into bed may want to request a stepping stool. The room was clean but does look dated and needs a little TLC (water stains in ceiling, peeling wallpaper, scratchy sheets). We had dinner at the Waterfront Grille. I had a turkey reuben (not good), my husband had the walleye - very good. We also went back one night for some apple crisp - good apples, crust too sweet almost pure brown sugar. We also had dinner at the Fontana grille and took advantage of the prime rib buffet. The prime rib was tasty, potatoes overcooked, good salad and fruit, desserts were just okay. The staff was very friendly. Be aware that the walls at this hotel are thin and if you are a light sleeper you may want to pack a fan or bring ear plugs. I think next time we will try another place, but we don't regret our stay here.

Room Tip: Location is about a 15 minute drive from downtown Lake Geneva.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markus S, Manager at Abbey Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 6, 2012
Dear FellowTravelerIowa,

Thank you for posting a review about your recent stay with us at the Abbey Resort & Avani Spa. We are delighted that you found your anniversary weekend to be an enjoyable experience.

We take great pride in the variety of activities offered at the hotel and the friendliness of our staff.

I would like to apologize for the few dining items that were not up to our quality standards. I have alerted our culinary team to your specific observations and they have assured me that your experience was isolated.

I would also like to apologize for the condition of your guest room; this is most certainly not how we maintain our guestrooms. Please contact me at 262.275.1433 at your convenience so I can identify the room you stayed in and get the deficiencies corrected.

I would like to thank you again for choosing The Abbey Resort. I look forward to hearing back from you.

Sincerely,
Markus Savaglio
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
112 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

We stayed at the Abbey for a wedding. The place is alright but was a bit pricey plus there is a $12 per night resort fee even if you do not use any amenities which are basicly just the pools and a game room. Even though it was quite warm out, the outdoor pools were not open. We asked for a resort view and what we got was the back of the spa and the parking lot. Not much of a view at all. The Fonteria Grill was not open for dinner on Sunday nights when we want to go (for our anniversery) so we settled for burgers at the Waterfront. We looked at the services at the Spa but decided they were a waste of money. Overall the place is fine I just expect more for close to $200 a night.

Room Tip: Don't get the resort view. Harbor view rooms have a good view but are more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markus S, Manager at Abbey Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 3, 2012
Dear WindyCityTraveler13,

Thank you for posting a review about your recent stay with us at the Abbey Resort & Avani Spa. We appreciate your feedback.

I would like to apologize to you for the lack of communication regarding the pools, the resort fee, and the Fontana Grill’s hours. The resort fee covers many amenities here at the hotel including high-speed Internet access, weekday delivery of the USA Today, use of the spa fitness room, local transportation to area attractions, bicycle rentals, board games, and self or valet parking.

Our summer season kicks off on Memorial Day weekend; the outdoor pools are opened, the restaurants have extended hours for summer, and our live entertainment is extended from Friday nights through Sunday afternoons.

I would again like to thank you for your feedback, and recommend that you keep an eye out for our packages and promotions that can provide an added value to your stay. I hope that you will find a package that suits your needs; and will be able to return this summer to take full advantage of our facility.

Sincerely,
Markus Savaglio
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batavia, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

It's hard to juggle a 4 year old and a 1 year old and have a relaxing time... Well we had a very relaxing time at The Abbey! We forgot the Pack-N-Play and were instantly in panic and called the front desk to see if they had anymore left in the full hotel. "No Problem" when we were out they set it up and even provided a little blanket and small folded baby towel with soap. They even had little sheets on the Pack-N-Play. That was such a nice touch! The staff and facilities were truly wonderful and they made our stay very relaxing!

Room Tip: All the rooms are very nice. If you are up for a special time without kids, the Harbor view is reco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markus S, Manager at Abbey Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 18, 2012
Dear Jay R,

Thank you for posting a review about your recent stay with us. We are pleased that you found your family getaway to be relaxing.

When it comes to forgotten items, our housekeeping staff is always ready to take care of those urgent requests. If you ever need a short break from your little ones, our Activities department is available to set up babysitting services in either your guestroom or in Rainbow Point.

Thank you again for choosing The Abbey Resort for your family getaway. We are all looking forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,
Markus Savaglio
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

We had a very nice time during our weekend stay at the Abbey Resort. While the weather was horrible for May - it was raining and cold - the resort luckily has many indoor activities. We had fun playing board games in the Solarium and swimming in the indoor pool and hottub. We also really enjoyed having drinks and chatting with the nice bartenders at the Helm Bar. The rooms were very clean and comfortable too. Overall, it was a very nice and relaxing weekend.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markus S, Manager at Abbey Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 10, 2012
Dear Julie U,

Thank you for posting a review on Tripadvisor about your recent stay with us at the Abbey Resort & Avani Spa. We are pleased that you found your weekend getaway to be relaxing and enjoyable.

While we were also upset about the weather, we were delighted that you took advantage of our rainy-day activities in the solarium, and that you found time to take a dip in our spacious indoor pool.

I have passed your compliments about the Helm staff to their department manager. I know I speak for the Helm staff and the rest of our associates when I say it was a pleasure hosting your weekend and we can’t wait for your next visit.

In Service,
Markus Savaglio
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

I would highly recommend staying here vs. a hotel/resort in Lake Geneva. Why? Because you are truly a short walk from the lake (and can hike around it), and can get a room with gorgeous harbour views. When I visited Lake Geneva it did not appear that there were accommodations comparable.

But, more to the point - this resort is excellent. Everyone was helpful and friendly. The room was clean; designed with coastal charm in mind. The food at the Grill was excellent (main course portions were HUGE). The spa services sooo relaxing; and with a great pool and fitness facility. I truly had a relaxing time here (which is what I was going for). Only wish I stayed 3 nights, instead of 2.

To add to the relaxation, I recommend taking the Metra from Chicago to Harvard Station, from where the resort offers a shuttle service (leave the car at home - be free!). I also recommend visiting Yerkes Observatory (you can request a shuttle drive there), and then walk back to the resort using the lake path (approx. 45 minutes). This way you wander through people's back yards, and see the gardens of the houses right up by the lake.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markus S, Manager at Abbey Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 10, 2012
Dear Scarlett_Atom,

Thank you for posting a review about your recent stay with us at the Abbey Resort & Avani Spa. We are delighted that you found your vacation to be a wonderful experience.

We are very excited you took advantage of our complimentary shuttle service. Our shuttle service is available from 7:00AM to 10:00PM, and advanced reservations are highly recommended. We are available to travel to any area attraction within 10 miles of the resort, and we are always happy to arrange a pick up, or drop off, along the lake shore path.

All of our associates take great pleasure in the peacefulness of the Avani Spa, the quality and quantity of our meals, and the luxurious appearance of our guest rooms. It was a delight to host your two night getaway, and we will all be looking forward to your three night getaway in the very near future.

Sincerely,
Markus Savaglio
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Abbey Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Resort & Spa

Address: 269 Fontana Blvd., Fontana, WI 53125
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Fontana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fontana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Abbey Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the lake at one of the Midwest's most iconic destinations. Whether you are vacationing on a girlfriends' getaway, business retreat, romantic escape or fun filled family vacation, The Abbey Resort brings you the best of the Lake Geneva experience. The Abbey Resort, on the shores of beautiful Lake Geneva, features 90 acres of manicured grounds. This Lake Geneva resort features lodge inspired accommodations with contemporary conveniences and facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Abbey Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Hotel Fontana
Abbey Resort And Spa
Abbey Hotel And Fontana
Abbey Resort And Fontana
Abbey Wisconsin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abbey Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.