We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a weekend retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abbey Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Abbey Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Abbey Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   269 Fontana Blvd., Fontana, WI 53125   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fontana
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great for a weekend retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

Came here with a LivingSocial deal for a two day weekend trip. This included one hour in the Sanctuary Suite and a free pass to the Spa.

I did not eat at the restaurant as I have heard bad things about it. We went to Anthony's Steakhouse one night and the Baker house the next. It is about ten miles from the resort to downtown Lake Geneva and there is not much for restaurants in Fontana. We did go to the Helm on Friday and Saturday night which was a great spot for drinks at the Abbey.

They let us check in early, which was great. We arrived at 1:00 P.M. on Friday and the staff was very accommodating even though check-in is 4:00 P.M. The beds are really comfortable in the room and we found that the resort was very clean.

The work-out center is very nice. You will have your own personal TV with the treadmills and ellipticals. The SPA is also very clean. The SPA was the most impressive part of our trip. You will be given a key for a locker and the locker will include rubber sandals and a robe. This room also includes clean showers, a tranquil area, and a steam room. The steam room was under construction (in the male area). In the SPA, there will be magazines, a juice bar, and a gigantic pool and hot tub. It's a very clean SPA and can't wait to see it again.

The sanctuary suite was kind of cool. It's a private room that includes a hot tub and a TV. I am guessing that many couples would love this.

My only issue is with the actual room. I have stayed at the French Country Inn and the Cove, and they both included a whirlpool in the bathroom. For a romantic weekend, a whirlpool would have been great in the room. In the basic room at the Abbey, there is only a shower, not even a bathtub. The room also has no fireplace which was included at the French Country Inn and the Cove. Would be nice to have a fireplace for a romantic night. In addition, we could hear the phone ringing in the room next door on Sunday morning. That was really irritating to hear before 8:00 A.M.

All in all, I will go back if I see a Groupon/LivingSocial deal in the future. They seem to do this annually.

Room Tip: I would get a room closer to the Lobby because it can be kind of a walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markus S, Manager at Abbey Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
Dear KevinF115,

Thank you for posting your review on Tripadvisor about your recent stay with us. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your spa getaway.

We take great satisfaction in our excellent customer service, the tranquility of our spa, and relaxed atmosphere of the Helm.

On your next visit, please request a room with a tub. I apologize that they are not whirlpool tubs, but many of our rooms do have tubs. I would also recommend booking one of our Harbor View Suites they have the finest view in the hotel, and come with a fireplace.

I would also recommend trying our all you can eat fish fry at the Waterfront. I try to go every Friday Night and this season its only $12.95.

Thank you again for staying with us at The Abbey Resort, we are looking forward to your next visit.

In Service,
Markus Savaglio
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    169
    88
    41
    32
See reviews for
149
239
10
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mukwonago
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

Stayed here with a bunch of guests and had a 50th birthday party in the Waterfront restaurant. We did a dinner and then dancing with the live band that was playing that night. The restaurant did an outstanding job of accommodating my requests for table placement, decoratings, and the dinner, even making up personalized drink tickets for me to hand out to my guests. Everyone had a great time, it was a total blast! And everyone that stayed overnight was very impressed with the rooms and resort decor and amenities. We definitely will be back!!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are outstanding. The decor with the boats and nautical theme is very classy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markus S, Manager at Abbey Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
Dear Linda W,

Thank you for posting your review on Tripadvisor about your recent stay with us at the Abbey Resort & Avani Spa. We are excited to read that your 50th birthday celebration was a memorable event.

We take great pride in our spectacular entertainment options in the Waterfront Restaurant and the Helm Cocktail Lounge, our staff’s commitment to outstanding guest service, and our luxurious guest rooms.

Thank you again for choosing The Abbey for your birthday celebration. We can’t wait to have you back for your 51st birthday getaway.

Sincerely,
Markus Savaglio
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington Heights, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

My Husband had ordered a dish and he was not happy with it ,write a away the Manager came over and offered another choice to my Husband, which was very good.They did not stop excusing them selfs for the food which was not write.Also they did not charge for his dinner.The manager of the resort Mr Marcus also was very helpful to accommodate us since there was a miner mistake was done. Exe lent Manegment from Mr Marcus part.Every couple months that we go toAbbey Resort We Do Have a Very Relaxing Time,enjoying The Wonderful Spa and the very Attentive Maneger Mr. John Morris who walks around just to make shure that all the guest are happy with everything, and if anyone needs anything else to be more relaxed.

Room Tip: Ask for the Harbouer view which is a beautiful area.You can seat on the balcony and enjoy the water...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markus S, Manager at Abbey Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 3, 2012
Dear Edith Z,

Thank you for posting your review about your recent stay with us at the Abbey Resort & Avani Spa. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We take great satisfaction in ensuring we are exceeding our guest’s expectations. I am glad to hear that your restaurant experience, even after a rough start was one that you enjoyed.

John Morris and I would both like to thank you for acknowledging our efforts, but we would be remised if we didn’t recognize our teams who take the time to ensure that all our guests are satisfied.

Thank you again for posting on Tripadvisor about your time at The Abbey. As always, I am looking forward to your return. Until then, take care.

Warm Regards,
Markus Savaglio
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bettendorf, IA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012 via mobile

A nice resort that offers a good variety of activities for kids.
Only, downside is that it's a Littleton the pricey side.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markus S, Manager at Abbey Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 2, 2012
Dear Hawkeye_Jeff,

Thank you for posting a review on Tripadvisor about your recent stay with us at the Abbey Resort. We are pleased that you found your children’s vacation to be full of excitement.

We take great pride in all of our children’s activities, and the many other activities for any age available on our grounds or nearby.

I would recommend watching our website for specials and promotions that will fit any budget; we often run specials focused on making sure families have a blast at a great rate.

Thank you again for staying with us. We hope your family will be able to join us again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Markus Savaglio
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

The Abbey has excellent service, and the adults only pool in the spa area is perfect for couples that are taking a weekend to get a little peace and quiet. There is also a separate indoor pool that is family friendly.

The rooms are spacious and the beds are very comfortable. They have clearly updated the bathrooms, which are lovely.

The buffet dinner was wonderful, and so was the buffet breakfast, and both were a great value. I recommend the bed and breakfast package--includes entrance to the spa and the breakfast buffet.

Only complaint was the hot tub/jacuzzi in the spa--the jets were broken, and the water wasn't very warm. It seems like a quick fix, and one that would be much appreciated, since most of the people in the spa seemed more interested in relaxing in the hot tub than the pool. There is also a jacuzzi in the women's locker room, however, which was working fine.

Room Tip: Ask for a harbor view--beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markus S, Manager at Abbey Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 3, 2012
Dear Jlynn41,

Thank you for posting a review on Tripadvisor about your recent stay with us. We are pleased that you found your vacation to be a delightful experience.

We take great pleasure in knowing you enjoyed the serenity of the Avani Spa, the luxuriousness of our guestrooms, and our decadent buffet options.

I was concerned to read of your experience with the Avani Spa hot tub, I do apologize that it was not up to our quality standards while you were visiting the spa. The Avani Spa hot tub is now fully operational and at a great temperature. Please contact me at 800.772.1000 so we can discuss your spa experience in more detail.

Thank you again for staying at The Abbey Resort, I hope you will be able to return shortly to enjoy our summer season.

Sincerely,
Markus Savaglio
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

A great place for families with children, couples, and girls weekends. The spa is fantastic for only $25 you can enjoy it daily if you choose not to purchase services. If you do get a service than the spa is included all day. Took a fun Zumba class on Saturday morning.

Room Tip: Ask for waterfront, off season there is no extra charge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markus S, Manager at Abbey Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 2, 2012
Dear Didiz,

Thank you for posting a review about your recent stay with us. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your getaway at The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa.

I too would agree that the spa is a great value, giving access to an array of amenities including complimentary coffee, tea, and juice; a coed sauna, and steam rooms in both the men’s and women’s locker room.

The fitness classes, like Zumba, Yoga, and Spin are included in your guest room rate, so feel free to try them all the next time you visit. Thank you for visiting the Avani Spa. I do hope you are able to return soon so you can enjoy another spa getaway.

Sincerely,
Markus Savaglio
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lemont, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

We attended a March wedding at the Abbey, which we hadn't visited in a long, long time. It was a destination in my parents' heyday, but over the years suffered from age and neglect to the point where it was commonly referred to as a dump. We were a little leery that our friends picked the Abbey for their nuptials, but what a nice surprise. The "old" Abbey has been transformed, upgraded, and modernized and looks like a shiny new penny. The rooms have been brightened and redecorated with crisp white furniture, flat screens, large marble baths and amazing mattresses. Our room also featured a sitting area with loveseat and a desk, and opened onto a pretty courtyard. Great breakfasts to go with the view in the Fontana Grill, and there's even Starbucks coffee on the premises.
But perhaps the biggest reason to go to the Abbey is the service. Wow...from top to bottom the service and attention to guests is so exemplary that it's obvious the entire staff has been chosen and trained by folks who know what "5 Star" means! They actually seem to enjoy working there. From the gracious and friendly front desk welcome crew to the wonderful bartender in The Waterfront who told us about the free shuttle into downtown Lake Geneva, to the folks who helped make our friends' wedding memorable and beautiful, the Abbey staff's mission seems to be to get you to come back as soon as possible. We will! We want to give a special shout out to Markus Savaglio, valet parking manager extraordinaire, who went out of his way to help us with cars and shuttles. You're the best, Markus!!

Room Tip: While the rooms overlooking the lawn and small harbor are lovely, the ones in back on the quiet, ser...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markus S, Manager at Abbey Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 2, 2012
Dear FreeMarketMaven,

Thank you for posting a review on Tripadvisor about your recent stay with us. A few years ago the hotel went under a complete renovation; with every guest room and public space getting a much needed face lift. We are thrilled that we were able to impress you with our continual improvements to the hotel, and we strive to impress you even more on your next visit.

We take great pride in the excellence of our customer service; it is our goal to make sure every guest feels at home the second they walk through the doors.

I would like to personally thank you for the wonderful compliments. We agree with you when you say our greatest strength is our dedicated staff. I will make sure to pass your compliments on to all of our staff members.

Thank you again for visiting us at The Abbey Resort; it was a true pleasure hosting your celebration. We all hope you will be able to visit us in the near future.

Warmly regards,
Markus Savaglio
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Abbey Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Resort & Spa

Address: 269 Fontana Blvd., Fontana, WI 53125
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Fontana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fontana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Abbey Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the lake at one of the Midwest's most iconic destinations. Whether you are vacationing on a girlfriends' getaway, business retreat, romantic escape or fun filled family vacation, The Abbey Resort brings you the best of the Lake Geneva experience. The Abbey Resort, on the shores of beautiful Lake Geneva, features 90 acres of manicured grounds. This Lake Geneva resort features lodge inspired accommodations with contemporary conveniences and facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Abbey Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Hotel Fontana
Abbey Resort And Spa
Abbey Hotel And Fontana
Abbey Resort And Fontana
Abbey Wisconsin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abbey Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.