We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just right” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Retlaw Plaza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Retlaw Plaza to your Saves list
Retlaw Plaza
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 North Main Street, Fond du Lac, WI 54935 (Formerly Ramada Plaza Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Fond du Lac
Webster
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Just right”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed at the Retlaw one night. Our clean, double, queen room had comfy beds, nice bathroom amenities and plenty of space. At my husband's request, the evening restaurant staff modified their meatball sandwich menu choice into a spaghetti and meatballs plate - very accommodating. Our breakfast omelet was great & was complimented with breads, cereals, fresh fruit, yogurt & beverages. The reasonable room-rate, booked through Priceline, included free parking and breakfast. The staff were friendly and helpful. We would book here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    33
    24
    11
    8
See reviews for
22
14
9
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed at the Retlaw for 3 nights over the weekend. The hotel was full. I was excited to get coffee in the lobby at the fabulous coffee bar that was advertised on the website. It was never open. When I inquired about that I was told that it was only staffed during the week, yet it wasn't open Monday morning either. The had a hot continental breakfast that was really nice with the exception of Saturday when the Chef got frustrated because his eggs were sticking to the pan and walked off the job. This hotel could be a gem with some improvements.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

I stayed there one night for a wedding on the third floor. It was fine until I woke up around 2 am with something whispering in my ear and a heavy pressure on top of me. I was awake yet frozen and could not move or speak. The feeling must have lasted a minute but it felt like an eternity. I could not sleep for the rest of the night...spent the rest of the night listening to noises in the hall way. I checked out first thing in the early morning. Since then I will forever belief in the "paranormal".

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
88 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here 2 nights for a wedding. Here are the highs and lows of our stay:
Staff - This was the high point. Front desk staff are very helpful and friendly. Banquet staff did a great job serving quickly and efficiently. And they were friendly, too.
Ballroom - We thoroughly enjoyed the wedding reception in the ballroom. There's a nice outdoor patio so the wedding guests could spread out. We didn't see any ghosts.
Location - We enjoyed Saturday sidewalk sales and walking down to Lakeside Park (a little over a mile). There aren't a lot of shopping options downtown, which is unfortunate because you can tell this was once a thriving area. But we did like Cujak's Wine Market, Bagelmeister, Kremer Pharmacy where we bought locally produced chocolates, Trinity for cocktails and Schnikelfritz for beer (except when they ran out of Spotted Cow). However, if we hadn't been there for a wedding, I don't know if the location would've been favorable.
Room - The good part was getting a corner room. We never heard other guests. The bad part was that the room was worn. I didn't sit in the chair because the fabric on the arms looked grimy. I wanted to wear my shoes the whole time so my feet wouldn't touch the carpet. The bathroom was clean but outdated. You get 4 amenities: 1 bar of soap, 1 shampoo, 1 conditioner, 1 lotion. Another bar of soap would be helpful. At least towels were plentiful. Here was the odd part: The bed was made wrong! Bottom sheet, blanket, top sheet and bedspread. Ew! Why would the top sheet go over the blanket?? Maybe the ghost was acting up, visiting the 5th floor and rearranging the bedclothes. If the ghost was there, we never heard it because the air conditioner was loud. Very effective but loud.
It just wasn't a comfortable room. We did our best to be out the room as much as possible.


I'm sorry to say I

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We booked through Priceline and were nervous after reading others haunted reviews. We somehow ended up in room 717. I was ok with that because I don't believe in that stuff... Or didn't. Felt my hair get pulled around 2:30am and heard strange noises all night so I didn't get much sleep. My husband drank enough beer at the wedding we attended to sleep soundly. Guess he had the right idea! I would have loved to explore other areas.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

This is an old hotel that they have tried to renovate but it is a not worth considering for a stay. It is in a dying part of the downtown area. Parts of the hotel smell musty and we had to meander through the hallways like a maze just to get to our room. The room (especially the bathroom) was small and the management is poor. We parked in a ramp nearby where we had to park on the 4th level, then walk down to the street level to walk into the hotel, and then proceed to the elevators where we stayed on the 6th floor. You could hear plenty of voices and noise from the adjacent rooms. We stayed here as part of a wedding block but we would not consider staying here for ANY future stay in Fond du Lac, WI.

Room Tip: Stay on the edges of town where the newer hotels are located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was fine - it is an older establishment with a slight musty odor, however, the staff spooked my kids regaling stories of the haunted hotel and how there were different rooms on the 7th floor that were the rooms of ghosts like a ballerina and a ghost names Walter. Thankfully, we were in the 6th floor, but it didn't give my kiddos exactly a great night sleep as they kept waking up wondering if they'd heard a ghost.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fond du Lac
2.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Fond du Lac
1.7 mi away
Days Inn Fond du Lac
Days Inn Fond du Lac
#6 of 13 in Fond du Lac
3.5 of 5 stars 166 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Fond Du Lac
Holiday Inn Fond Du Lac
#5 of 13 in Fond du Lac
4.0 of 5 stars 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Fond Du Lac
Comfort Inn Fond Du Lac
#4 of 13 in Fond du Lac
4.0 of 5 stars 71 reviews
2.1 mi away
No photo provided
1.3 mi away
Executive Lodge Fond du Lac
Executive Lodge Fond du Lac
#8 of 13 in Fond du Lac
3.5 of 5 stars 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Retlaw Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Retlaw Plaza

Address: 1 North Main Street, Fond du Lac, WI 54935 (Formerly Ramada Plaza Hotel)
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Fond du Lac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Fond du Lac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Retlaw Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Retlaw Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Retlaw Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.