We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value in Fond Du Lac” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites by Carlson _ Fond du Lac

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites by Carlson _ Fond du Lac to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson _ Fond du Lac
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   121 Merwin Way, Fond du Lac, WI 54937   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Fond du Lac
Illinois
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great Value in Fond Du Lac”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

A year after my first stay at this property and things were still very good. Despite being located in an otherwise undeveloped commercial site, the hotel is very convenient to everything in Fond du Lac. Grounds and interior are very clean and well maintained. The king room is very large - really high ceilings - and laid out very nicely for a business traveler.
I didn't get a chance to use it, but the pool here is much larger than usual for this type of hotel. Kids would have loved it if they were along for the trip.
Breakfast was awesome, featuring real scrambled eggs and bacon the morning I was there. Having some Tabasco would have been the only thing to improve on it.
Overall, this is a great hotel, at a very reasonable price.

Room Tip: Best to stay on the side of the building away from the highway if road noise bothers you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sodame, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites by Carlson _ Fond du Lac, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you very much for the great review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you soon.
Tara Strassburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    29
    8
    5
    2
See reviews for
48
18
13
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tegucigalpa, Honduras
Top Contributor
294 reviews 294 reviews
119 hotel reviews
Reviews in 129 cities Reviews in 129 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I had a quick overnight stay. Arrived later on the afternoon and left early

Check in was smooth and friendly.

Room was spacious, clean, smelled fresh.

Bathroom functional. Two tvs in room.

King bed, very comfortable.

Breakfast was pretty decent, very generous for being a free breakfast.

The only thing that I did not like is that my room was facing highway and I could hear cars zooming by. I had to get my earplugs on. Too bad because bed was very comfy and room was very nice.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on west end away from highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cx_fdlw, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites by Carlson _ Fond du Lac, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete this review on trip advisor. I apologize you did not get a good night’s sleep. Unfortunately we are located right on highway 41, so for some this is an issue. If you are a light sleeper and the front desk staff knows this prior to check in we do our best to put you on the quieter side of the building. (Just a note for next time, because it seems to have solved prior guests problems with noise) But I thank you for the kind words on our staff, room amenities, and breakfast. We hope to see you again if your travels bring you back through Fond du Lac.

Thank you,

Kelly Opperman
Guest Service Manager
Country Inn & Suites
Fond du Lac, WI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

I was at the hotel for the annual EAA airshow, and the hotel was filled with show attendees. It was amazing how quite the hotel was inspire of all of the people in the hotel. The hotel landscape is very nice and the rooms are functional. Did I mention how quite it was?

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sodame, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites by Carlson _ Fond du Lac, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Country Inn & Suites during the EAA show. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and how quiet the hotel is, even during our busiest season. We would love to see you again next year, if your plans bring you back to the area.
Tara Strassburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, Wisconsin, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

We booked in when in fond du lac for the fair the hotel was very clean and the staff very friendly breakfast had good choice and staff made you feel welcome service was excellent would recommend it cheap cheery

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cx_fdlw, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites by Carlson _ Fond du Lac, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for letting us know how we are doing. We do have a great staff and they love our guests. We do hope to see you again if your travels bring you back to the area.

Tara Strassburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Very nice hotel by the highway with great check-in staff. Rooms are spotlessly clean with fast, free wifi. Beds are incredibly comfortable, I want to buy the mattress cover, it is that good. Bathroom a little dated with peeling paint but not a big deal.

One negative was the breakfast, promised to be this great spread of their website. But just ice cold stale eggs, Canadian bacon with hair on it, and a waffle machine with stale strawberries, among other limited cold options. Was disappointed with that but would still return if I'm back in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cx_fdlw, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites by Carlson _ Fond du Lac, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for the nice comments about the hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We do rotate our breakfast daily, so your next stay you should have a different choice. I will make sure the breakfast host is aware of the cold eggs, to make sure it dosent happen again. Thank you for making us aware of that. We look forward to your return.

Tara Strassburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The outside of the hotel looks very new. The inside is showing a little wear. The front desk people were very friendly. The room was clean and the beds very comfy. The room did have a bit of a musty smell, though. An unknown guest pulled the fire alarm at 1:30 a.m. so we were all standing in the parking lot for a few minutes until it was determined to be a false alarm. The breakfast food area is crowded and the breakfast is average.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cx_fdlw, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites by Carlson _ Fond du Lac, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel! I am happy to hear my staff did a great job. I apologize about the fire alarm sounding; unfortunately someone pulled the alarm and because it was a pulled alarm we had to be absolutely positive there was no fire before the alarm could be silenced. Besides that I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for the nice comments and we hope to see you again in the future.

Thank you,

Kelly Opperman
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, IA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We had a family reunion at a town 30 miles from here but the hotels were sold out there. So we booked this hotel. We had 4 rooms with family in all. We had a great time. Staff was great, the place was clean, and the lady doing the breakfast was AWESOME!! She worked do hard. I would stay again in a heartbeat! Easy to find the mall and othe rplaces to eat. A place called GINO'S WAS AWESOME FOR CHICAGO PIZZA! The kids loved the pool. The bed was very nice!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cx_fdlw, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites by Carlson _ Fond du Lac, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you so much for leaving the nice comments about our hotel and staff. I am glad your family enjoyed themselves at our hotel. I too love the covered porch so that the guests can sit and relax just like they were at home. Thank you again and hope to see your family again if your travels ever bring you back to Fond du Lac. (Or close to Fond du Lac)

Thank you,

Kelly Opperman
Guest Service Manager
Country Inn & Suites Fond du Lac, WI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites by Carlson _ Fond du Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites by Carlson _ Fond du Lac

Address: 121 Merwin Way, Fond du Lac, WI 54937
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Fond du Lac
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Fond du Lac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites by Carlson _ Fond du Lac 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites by Carlson _ Fond du Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Fond Du Lac
Fond Du Lac Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites by Carlson _ Fond du Lac, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.