We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Mini Break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Xuroy Alcaufar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Xuroy Alcaufar to your Saves list
Hotel Xuroy Alcaufar
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   07720 Alcaufar, Minorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alcaufar
Greater London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Mini Break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2008

Visited here early July with a friend for 5 days of 'chilling'. We wanted peace and quiet to read and lounge round a pool and that's exactly what we got. Hotel was basic but exceptionally clean with fresh towels daily. We had a room overlooking the car park but the plus side was it was north facing so cooler, though we still made constant use of ceiling fan. Food was very good but not very exciting and breakfast was very repetitive I imagine it could get boring if you were there 14 nights. Bar staff were very friendly and unlike other reviewers we did not find the drinks to be particularly expensive....a VERY generous measure of Baileys for 4 euros, also I loved the coffee! The pool was very clean and there were plenty of loungers and umbrellas. We did swim in the sea and the views of the cove are great. As we were only there 5 days we didn't venture very far except to Mahon on the bus -great service and cheap - 1.45 euros - just note random times for your return as we had to get a taxi back at 17 euros. You may wish to hire a car if there longer as roads are great and well signposted.
Lots of repeat customers and I can see why!

  • Liked — cleanliness, friendly staff, location
  • Disliked — climbing all the stairs!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    74
    21
    9
    8
See reviews for
20
116
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
stourbridge west midlands
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2008

we have just come back from a holiday at the xuroy and it was our third time there and we will defintely be going back next year
the food is excellent and fresh the acomodation is very clean and comfortable but basic the pool is lovely and spotlessly clean
i couldnt believe the reviewer whosaid the staff were unfriendly they are the friendliest people you could ever meet and greeted us like old friends this year - the older waiter came out of the dining room and shook our hands and welcomed us back - what more could you want from a holiday and we met people who had been to the xuroy 10 and 15 times and loved it!

  • Liked — the staff the food the great location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2008

Having read all the reviews, we decided this hotel seemed worth a try, as we like small hotels with no organised entertainment, no TVs in rooms etc

The location lived up to its reputation - the view from our top floor balcony was truly wonderful. The peace and tranquility was just what we needed for a complete chill-out.

We enjoyed the evening meals - ok, so it's not Gordon Ramsey, but as others have said, it's plentiful and varied. The fish dishes were particularly nice and yes, it's chips every night, but they were lovely chips! Our only complaints were that the waiters whisked our plates away so quickly - you only had to put your knife and fork down for a second and it was gone,no matter that the other person was still eating. This got rather annoying after a few nights. And when we asked for butter for our rolls (with the soup) we were told rather brusquely "No butter with buffet." The desserts at the beginning were lovely - creme caramel, profiteroles, tiramisu, but by the last couple of nights we got tinned pineapple rings and tinned pears!

Breakfast was not great. Like others, we found the hot drinks at breakfast completely undrinkable, and the orange juice was watered down (no fresh juice available). We like fruit at breakfast but there was just a basket of apples and oranges - no melon, although they sometimes had melon as a dessert at dinner! Also no yoghurt, or eggs. The bread was either sliced (for toast) or hard rolls. I would've thought they could get some nice fresh bread delivered from a local bakery.

We had read about the staff being rather unfriendly so went out of our way to smile and be pleasant, but to no avail. The man on reception was very abrupt and reminded us of Basil Fawlty, the older waiter never cracked a smile, although the younger ones were OK.

I'm afraid the old "sunbed-bagging" is still alive and well, there were towels out there before the gates to the pool were even open (presumably someone in the poolside rooms had been out early), and when we returned from days out at about 3 -4pm there were never any free beds - well, there were, but they had towels on even though the owners did not reappear for a very long time! It is a lovely pool though, very clean and well maintained.

The rooms were kept spotlessly clean, but the cleaners always seem to start at the bottom and work up, so if we wanted a rest mid afternoon after a trip out we were always interrupted by the maids, who seemed to reach our room 3 - 4 pm.

All in all, it is a very nice "no frills" hotel in one of the most beautiful, peaceful locations I've ever been to, perfect for complete relaxation, and to be honest the views made up for the little niggles. For me, to lie in bed with the balcony door open and go to sleep to almost complete silence, except for the gentle lapping of waves on the beach below, was just heaven.

  • Liked — Location, cleanliness
  • Disliked — Breakfasts, staff
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, England
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2008

We've been going to Menorca since 1989 and to the Xuroy since 1999. We've gone every year, some years twice.

We like the peace, the lack of organised entertainment and the simplicity. The rooms are simple and clean and (get a sea-view room) the view superb.

If you're lazy you can just eat in the hotel dining room after a G&T on the terrace. With a hire car and a bit of energy you can eat in one of the very decent restaurants once or twice for a change. There's also a bar and a restaurant in the village.

We're on our way back yet again in a few weeks.

  • Liked — Peace and quiet
  • Disliked — Beds rather firm
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorset
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2007

We found this place very nice indeed, lovely beach, hotel very basic but clean and tidy.... food was all we needed and plenty of it and replenished regularly so you didn't get left with the dregs if you chose to eat late.
PROBLEM number one was
we were short changed in the bar on day one
Problem number two was we were short changed in the bar on day two
Problem number three was we were short changed again on day three
To top it off the bill for our final meal which should have been 45 euros arrived for EIGHTY FIVE Euros after questioning the stroppy waiter, the bill was revised and halved with no explanation...
Found staff rude and felt like we were in the way alot of the time.
Take lots of money as drinks and food not included in your package are very expensive and there is no where else to get a drink unless you risk your life walking cliff top to the nearest shop.

Stayed August 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Uk
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2007

We spent a fantastic week at The Xuroy from 25th Aug to 1st Sept. We booked through Thomson as a last minute break and the reason we chose this place was because of reviews on here saying how 'out of the way' it was.

We did our homework before we flew out, and decided to ditch the airport transfer and book a hire car for the week, which we collected on arrival. We then drove straight to the hotel. If you want to see the island, Alcaufar is quite out of the way and although there is a bus service available, we found a car to be perfect for us as it gave us complete flexibility.
When we arrived, our room wasn't ready. We weren't bothered at all as it was only 10am and we hadn't really expected it to be. We were allowed to put our cases up in our room though and told that if we wanted to have a drink at the hotel bar it would be ready within the hour.

Our room was on the top floor overlooking the bay. It cost us £40 for the upgrade and I would pay if I were you. It was definitely worth it. The view was exquisite and I used to get up early and sit on the balcony every morning and watch the fishermen mending their nets. That's REAL Menorca!

I agree however with the reviewer who said that if you have mobility problems you need to be careful which room you book as there are no lifts and lots of stairs. However, there was a couple there in their 80's who were on their 3rd visit to the hotel in as many decades and it didn't bother them at all.

We had booked compulsory half board and had originally planned to maybe eat at the hotel once to 'try it' and eat out the rest of the time.....however, once we'd eaten at the Xuroy once, we ended up eating there every night except once, when we went to watch the sunset at the Cova d'en Xoroi (I recommend doing this....it's a superb setting in caves overlooking the sea, and they play ambient music while the sun goes down). Anyway, we found the food at Xuroy to be excellent. The salad was the freshest we had anywhere. There was always a choice of meat, fish and vegetarian dish plus vegetables, pasta, soup. You could visit the buffet as many times as you wished and the chips (although on the menu most nights) were like chip shop chips, not those horrid fries you sometimes get! The breakfast, although adequate, could do with being a little more adventurous....processed cheese, ham, salami, croissants and cakes every day. I defintely agree with the 'horrible coffee' review. Lots of people had their own jar of Nescafe with them and when we go back we will do that as it was pretty bad at the hotel!

We used the pool once. It is great for kids and had plenty of sunbeds but to be honest, a pool is a pool and the view from the beach was so much better that we spent our time there but that's a personal opinion. From the beach it was half a dozen steps to the bar/terrace. Excellent for a lunchtime beer whilst keeping an eye on the kids!!!! And so relaxing.... We had lunch there once (moules mariniere and tuna) and both were wonderful. The terrace is shaded by several trees so it was also a welcome relief from the heat of the beach.

Alcaufar is a very pretty, natural fishing village. Nothing fake about it at all. There's a bar which does tapas down the road from the hotel and also a restaurant. The streets are narrow and bouganvillea spills down whitewashed walls. It's absolutely beautiful.

The only thing the Xuroy could do to improve their hotel is to install air conditioning. The fan in the ceiling was quite inadequate considering the seaview rooms had the sun all day. But this is a very small thing and in no way spoilt our stay.
We loved this place so much that we are already planning to book ourselves a 'relax and unwind' weekend there next spring.

May it always remain as it is........lovely!

  • Liked — Locaton, rooms cleaned/linen changed EVERY DAY, Fantastic Views
  • Disliked — slightly boring breakfast, no aircon
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Xuroy Alcaufar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Xuroy Alcaufar

Address: 07720 Alcaufar, Minorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Minorca > Alcaufar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alcaufar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Xuroy Alcaufar 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Xuroy has 46 bedrooms each with full bathroom, terrace, fan and safety deposit box. It also has a dining room, lounge and restaurant/cafeteria on the best terrace shaded by pine trees in Menorca, right on the edge of the beach. Swimming pool, chidren's pool, sun-bathing terraces and private parking are other facilities that the Xuroy offers its clients. Since 1950 hte Xuroy has been run by the owner's family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Xuroy Alcaufar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xuroy Alcaufar Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Xuroy Alcaufar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.