We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fabulous gem of a hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Xuroy Alcaufar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Xuroy Alcaufar to your Saves list
Hotel Xuroy Alcaufar
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   07720 Alcaufar, Minorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alcaufar
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A fabulous gem of a hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We have just returned (june 2013) from an idyllic week in this total gem of a small family owned hotel. Cala Alcafuar is a small very old Spanish village with some recent building. It has one small shop (do try their cheapest wine at just 2.9 euros a bottle as the white, red and rose' were all more than equal to the hotel's house wine.). There is also one excellent bar restaurant called the Piccolo Mundo just five mins walk from the hotel, having fabulous views from the terrace across to S'algar. The Xuroy hotel is situated at the end of a beautiful long narrow inlet opening out in spectacular fashion to the sea. The inlet ends in a lovely small safe sandy beach which is cleaned every morning, backed by woodland walks and the terrace of the amazing 2 star Xuroy hotel on the other. The beach is quiet and totally safe for children, seeming to be used more by Spanish families than hotel residents; it was never crowded. If you are looking for an a 'get away from it all' location to either just chill out in (as we were), then look no further than The Xuroy. The hotel is also a great starting point for either short of longer coastal walks, although take some good walking shoes as paths can be a bit rocky and uneven. We were on the 1st floor in room 101 (George Orwell fans will enjoy the irony of that !! ) which was newly refurbished in a very simple style, all white, with very comfortable single beds pushed together, ceiling height shelving for clothes, ceiling fan and a double wardrobe with a safety deposit box. The lovely tiled bathroom also seemed brand new and was immaculate. The room faced west overlooking the beautiful swimming pool with the beach and terrace to the left. Many a glass of wine was enjoyed on the small balcony watching the lovely sunsets after dinner. There is a lift for persons with mobility difficulties. Daily room service was excellent with clean towels every day. From the moment we were met at Reception by the ever cheerful Carlos, the staff were all helpful without exception, and most staff spoke pretty good English, and all were very helpful. The somewhat rotund owner spoke the least English. This was our first trip to Menorca and we quite simply bowled over by this beautiful island. Menorca is easy to get around as the buses are always on time and cheap; e.g. a one hour air conditioned bus/coach journey from the capital Mahon to Ciutadella (pronounced 'Suitadella') took one hour and cost just five Euros; the fare from the hotel to Mahon was just 1.6 Euros - a bargain methinks, My wife is a fluent Spanish speaker and was surprised to find many differences in Menorcan Spanish to mainstream, as it is heavily influenced by Catalan. The only negative comments I heard and also have seen on here about The Xuroy concerned the half-board food, which is self service (al la carte is also available on the terrace); well...here is my view on the food - breakfasts were plentiful in the continental style, comprising pastries and cold meats (except for scrambled egg and bacon at weekends) which I could not fault. The evening meals comprised a large selection of fresh salad, then usually three different meat and fish dishes and sometimes vegetarian dishes. If you are a non fish eating vegetarian then I expect you woukld find the menu limiting. The very good house wine is just 6.99 euros a bottle. Whilst the food tended to be a bit repetitive by the end of the week (mainly the puddings), I most certainly never went hungry, enjoyed every single meal, and thought that the half board additional was very well worth the money...I am aware this was not the opinion of all, and I believe that those who voiced negative opinions of the food just expected far too much from a two star hotel. As a matter on interest, if you ate a three course meal in a basic bar restaurant, the cost would be at least 45 euros a day/315 euros a week per couple; therefore, the half board tariff is a very good deal indeed from a cost point of view. In summary, if you are looking for a lively 18-21 music terrace holiday, then The Xuroy is definitely not for you: however, if you are looking a chill out away from it all safe location holiday in a beautiful small hotel in an idyllic location, then this is most definitely 'it' . Several people we met had been going to this hotel (only served by Thomson and direct booking) for years; indeed, one person had been going to the Xuroy every year since 1974 !. We will definitely go again...but Shhh...don't tell too many people about it please....it is rather special.

Room Tip: Take a travel kettle as we did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    74
    21
    9
    8
See reviews for
20
115
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

This was a beautiful hotel in stunning surroundings. The little beach (mostly used by the Spanish people in the village of Alcaufar) was wonderful, safe, clean and the sea so clear that you could see the fish swimming. The hotel pool was also amazing - never too crowded, and with views from the pool of the sea, sand, pine trees and turquoise skies...
Our room was minimalist, with a balcony and en suite but was all we needed. Beautifully cleaned every day by very friendly local staff. It was just a lovely place to be, and so relaxing.
The food was not terribly exciting, but it was quite tasty and there was always plenty of it. The only slight problem I encountered was that one was never quite sure what was vegetarian food and what was not as nothing is labelled.
Such a terrific place though, we will be returning.

Room Tip: All rooms are very quiet, and we overlooked the swimming pool which was completely quiet. The sea vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

we have just returned from another stay at the xuroy we went for 2 weeks this time and loved it again everything about this place is perfect its like being in a dream sitting looking down the cove drinking a cool beer all the staff are so hard working and freindly we can highly recomend this hotel it is fantastic life seems to stand still.we are booking again for the 1st week in october cant wait.if you go to the xuroy you will have a lovely relaxing and enjoyable holiday.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billinge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

This hotel is in one of the most beautiful settings right on the beach. The hotel itself is spotlessly clean with friendly and helpful staff. Situated in a small village this hotel is for those who wish to get away from the hustle and bustle of life and require a peaceful holiday as it comprises of the hotel, one shop and one bar/restaurant, the rest of the village is made up of private residencies and a few villas. The pool area is on three terrace levels for sunbathing with plenty of sunbeds with a superb swimming pool, although they don't open the gates to poolside until 10 am. The food,although basic, was excellent served buffet style in the dining room at 8 pm each evening. Quite a few of the guests we spoke to have been coming back to this hotel for a number of years which speaks volumes. We hired a car for a couple of days to visit the island as the bus service from the village is irregular. The Thomson rep, Luke, was very friendly and helpful and got us a good deal on the car hire rate. There are walks around the coastal paths to nearby Punta Prima, but would recommend that you wear adequate footwear. The bar/restaurant situated in the village is Piccolo Mondo, this is run by friendly staff and the lunchtime meals we had there were first class ( and cheaper than those served at the hotel ) it is also a lovely setting for evening drinks as an alternative from the hotel bar. So, would we recommend this hotel and resort? Yes, but only if your looking for a peaceful vacation.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martock, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We have just returned from a weeks holiday at this Hotel, or should I say a Hostel. Several other guests agreed with me over this description. I know it was a 2 star rating but that does not have to be bad.
When we arrived all looked lovely and clean, we went to our room and it smelt really musty, the furniture was very old and the veneer was peeling away, we could not use the drawers as they were very stiff, and I would not have wanted to anyway.
We did not always have hot water, I went and saw a waiter he told to me run it for a long time as the pipes were the other side of the Hotel !! So several times we went without hot water.
The food, what can I say it was awful, luke warm and no variety obviously a very low budget has been used for guests food, but if you ordered downsatirs in the restaurant it was much better, not good when you have paid for half board.
We went for a daily walk to S`algar calling into Piccolo Mundo for their gorgeous sangria, olives bread and Ali Oli, on the way back from our walk,we ate our evening meal here a couple of times and it was lovely, seafood soup and main course of sea bass for one evening and it was gorgeous and very fresh, a lovely family run bar/restaurant
The beach at Alcaufar was lovely and quiet and safe for children, safe to swim and the people who live there are so friendly.
I will not come back to this Hostel again which is a shame as location is fab.
We did make friends with people who stayed there the same time as us, we all seem to have the same sense of humour!!.
Shame I have to write this but I do. so please take note Thomson

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

This is a wonderfully sited hotel in an ultra quiet village. The highlight is definitely the view from a sea view room although it should be said if you want evening sun then pool rooms are better. The room was adequate but dated , shower good ,bed a little hard with good cleaning service.
What could spoil the holiday unless you have a sense of humour is the food... I have never had worse in my life. It is worth an essay in its own right but I will just mention a few things in summation. There is choice but everything is tasteless and looks as if it has been cooked hours before. The soups or should I say flour and water were indescribable, the sweets were so awful and mirrored those served up in an ' all you can eat Chinese ' The highlight being a powdered cream caramel with a Marie biscuit randomly mixed up in it!! For some reason they often just dump a tray of spaghetti on the buffet table with other dishes that could not be eaten with it. Meat were the cheapest cuts imaginable. Another highlight was a tray of Paella which contained only closed mussels rejected by the restaurant downstairs and the thinnest crab legs with no meat in them!
The dining room is as soulless as is the food. The restaurant downstairs is very expensive for fairly plain offerings.
All other guests I met concurred with the low standards and before people claim this is only a two star hotel , in France two star hotels sometimes serve the best food in the area.
The coastline is beautiful as is the cove directly below the hotel, swimming amongst the sardines was lovely. The beach itself is nondescript.
There are some pleasant walks to S'Algar , a modern resort with little character but prosperous with unusually no beach and to Punta Prima with sandy beach but no character.
The municipal area of San Lluis is fairly bland but escapes to Mahon and in particular Cuitedella are rewarding ,the latter having all the architectural delights you could wish for plus some proper restaurants rarely found on the island.
The village shop is tiny and very expensive , a large bottle of water was 1.90 euros ,yet only .65 in Punta Prima so it could be said that Cala Alcafar has a very captive audience. The only other restaurant Piccolo Mundo is a welcome alternative for a drink or pub standard meal.
I can understand people returning for the location ,weather and peace and quiet but I am afraid that we will not return purely based on the food standards in the hotel and area in general.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We have been returing to this hotel on and off for 23 years. We have just had a fortnight this May and although the weather was a bit "iffy" the staff were as welcoming and friendly as ever and we met up with many old friends who also return year after year.
A bonus this year was that our usual room had been upgraded over the winter closure - we didn't recognise it! A definite improvement - light and airy with a super en-suite facility and much better wardrobe/storage facility.
I would also go as far as to say the food was an improvement on previous stays. Beautiful fish dishes every evening - as well as meat, pasta and salads. The breakfast remains an basic as ever but you wouldn't starve.
Please also wander up the road to the Piccolo Mundo bar/restaurant, as we did every evening for our nightcap. The staff are very friendly and welcoming.
We'll be back.
Jane and Martin

Room Tip: You will need to take travel kettle and hairdryer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Xuroy Alcaufar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Xuroy Alcaufar

Address: 07720 Alcaufar, Minorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Minorca > Alcaufar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alcaufar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Xuroy Alcaufar 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Xuroy has 46 bedrooms each with full bathroom, terrace, fan and safety deposit box. It also has a dining room, lounge and restaurant/cafeteria on the best terrace shaded by pine trees in Menorca, right on the edge of the beach. Swimming pool, chidren's pool, sun-bathing terraces and private parking are other facilities that the Xuroy offers its clients. Since 1950 hte Xuroy has been run by the owner's family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Xuroy Alcaufar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xuroy Alcaufar Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Xuroy Alcaufar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.