We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank God for the Whistling Swan” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Whistling Swan Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fish Creek
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Whistling Swan Inn
Save
You added Whistling Swan Inn to your Saves list
4192 Main St, P.O. Box 193, Fish Creek, WI 54212   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 5 Fish Creek B&B and Inns
Highwood, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Thank God for the Whistling Swan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2011

We stayed here last October when our daughter was just 6 months old. The Whistling Swan was one of the ONLY inns in Door County that allowed young children and they really made our first family vacation a great success. My husband and I enjoyed what we ate here quite a bit and still discuss it. We tried several restaurants in Fish Creek and were severely disappointed, then started taking our meals in our room from the Whistling Swan restaurant and stopped eating out all to together. The bill was reasonable and the food terrific! The breakfast included with our stay was a steal and the best I've had in terms of complimentary breakfasts- homemade granola, egg fritata, yogurt with fresh blueberries, and wonderful coffee all served on a sun filled balcony and to EXCELLENT music. I wanted to buy the inn's iPod playlist! The only drawbacks were the walls were a bit thin, but I brought earplugs and it didn't stay loud long. In our particular suite, you had to walk through the bedroom to get to the bathroom from the sitting room. This was tricky with the sleeping baby. The other suite has a better set up with the bath off of the sitting room. The beautiful lobby with the fireplace is more for show. They fill the seats with too many pillows, which may be a subtle way of discouraging you from hanging out there. I love fires and so that was a disappointment. It is more for the restaurant and less for guests. Overall 5 stars!!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    16
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
4
45
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oconomowoc, Wisconsin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2011

My wife and I stayed for 2 nights as part of the perfect getaway package. We stayed in Suite 5 and really enjoyed our room, the general decor, staff and tasty continental breakfast. As part of the package we were offered a three course dinner for two at the in house restaurant and decided to go the first night. As a foodie and well traveled diner, I was hopeful but not expecting to be wowed. What a surpise! The dinner was incredible, one of the best meals I've had in Wisconsin, ranking up there with Sanfords and L'Etiole. The food was beautifully presented, sophisticated, generously proportioned and absolutely delicious. And our waiter was warm, knowledgeable, attentive and provided exceptional service. We enjoyed ourselves so much, we went back the next night to try a few new items and a couple of the standouts from the night before -- beet salad and stuffed poached pear. Again, the meal was exceptional.

We are headed back to Door County again this Spring and we are definitely planning to stay at the Inn and dine (twice) at the restaurant. If it's nearly as good as it was in January, we will make this a yearly pilgramage.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2010

My husband and I recently ate at the Whistling Swan restaurant and were looking forward to it based on reviews here and at Yelp. When we arrived I loved the look of the dining room with the bar and fireplace, but we were seated in the porch which I thought was also very nice. I just read all the comments about it being stuffy, we were perfectly comfortable.

We started with an amuse bouche which we were disappointed in. It was a green gazpacho which had a lot of potential, but needed another component that would have made it much better.

We ordered the pork belly tacos and calamari as appetizers - both exceptionally good. My husband said the pork belly tacos were the best tacos he'd ever had, and I had to agree. These were executed perfectly.

For our main course we had the ribeye and the pork tenderloin, which we were a little disappointed in as well. The ribeye came with hen of the woods mushrooms which we were very excited about, but unfortunately they were overcooked and crispy, totally ruined. It was also served with a potato pie which sounded intriguing, unfortunately they left it in the fryer way too long and it was almost burnt, we were surprised the chef sent it out honestly. The sauce with the steak however was well done and the steak was cooked perfectly. The pork came with an interesting sauce which could have used a little more tang and the pancetta was was overcooked.

Overall we had a very pleasant experience at the restaurant. I have to admit that we have pretty high standards and are true 'foodies' but we were content with the meal we had. I did overhear one of the servers telling another guest that they were shorthanded in the kitchen and one of the servers was helping out in the kitchen. Which I find a little hard to believe, but would make sense because of the big inconsistencies in our food (ie overcooked pancetta but then perfectly cooked steak).

Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukesha
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2010

The building, decor, and atmosphere was very nice. Location is great. We found the bed uncomfortable, the walls were thin, drafty, and we could hear bottles dumped in a dumpster from our room. We had the included breakfast and it was very good. We would still recommend staying here as long as you aren't a super picky crazy person.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2010

Stayed at the Whistling Swan B&B for 2 nights. The rooms were quite nice. Several of the rooms are ideal for small families with a separate sitting room and sofabed. The restaurant is visually promising, but the food was a big disappointment. The larger of the two seating areas, the porch, is hot and stuffy, and the floor has a substantial slant to it. I had a lamb dish that was tasteless.

If I were to go again, I would stay in the hotel, but would eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

We were in Fish Creek for 4 nights and saved The Whistling Swan for our last night dinner. What a disappointment.
The room was warm and stuffy. We were amazed at the poor service. our waiter only had one other table.
The tomato - peach salad was inedible. We were also disapponted in the entree's. The Pork tenderloin was infused with liquid smoke and the meatball dish was "Chef Boyardee"!
The complimentary aperitif was a combo of beet juice and cherry juice?
In short: overpriced, and pretentious.

Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oconomowoc, Wisconsin
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2010

This was a last minute trip to Door County. Found vacancy here seemed ok in the reviews. Stayed in Room #1, small but decent room. Other reviews of noise where accurate - noise migrated upstairs easily. Doors to the rooms have nice overdoor transom windows - until at night the hall lights cascade in -hope the owners can figure out a better arrangement. With this being said we did overall enjoy our stay. Decent morning breakfast - great service, good food - but the same selection everyday. Place was clean, prompt service if requesting anything - but not many extras that I have seen in other bed-n-breakfasts (social hours, etc). They had a onsite restraunt - but we found cheaper places outside. Great location - easy to access all of Fish Creek. Enjoyed our trip - good place, clean, good decore - just some fine tuning to take it the next level. We would stay again - but probably will sample other locations first.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Whistling Swan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whistling Swan Inn

Address: 4192 Main St, P.O. Box 193, Fish Creek, WI 54212
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Fish Creek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Fish Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Whistling Swan, the Door Peninsula's oldest operating inn, was originally built in Marinette, Wisconsin, in 1887. In 1907, it was moved across the ice of Green Bay by teams of horses to become part of Dr. and Mrs. Welcker's Resort and Casino. The inn, along with its other historic neighbors, has been designated part of the Welcker Historic District and is listed on both State and National Historic Register.Today, The Whistling Swan Inn is known throughout the County as one of the best places to rest and rejuvenate. It's also home to the areas most incredible cuisine. Give us a call today and let our staff create the ultimate vacation retreat for you in beautiful Fish Creek. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Whistling Swan Hotel Fish Creek
Whistling Swan Inn Fish Creek, WI - Door County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whistling Swan Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.