We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding experience - The great escape!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thorp House Inn and Cottages

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Thorp House Inn and Cottages to your Saves list
Thorp House Inn and Cottages
4135 Bluff Lane, Fish Creek, WI 54212   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Fish Creek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A TripAdvisor Member
“Outstanding experience - The great escape!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2006

The Thorp House Inn is a bed and breakfast that is sure to please those who are looking for a great excape from a hurried life. The Inn Keepers were very personable and took great care to meet the needs of their guests. Not only did they answer our questions, but they took extra effort to ensure that we knew our way around town and recommended various actiities that suited our desires for our visit.

The accomodations were exceptionally clean and have the characteristics associated with the romance, ambiance and history of the Inn itself. Quite the unique experience.

The outstanding experience of staying at the Thorp House Inn cannot be described in words. Not only are the rooms a comfortable and pleasant place to stay, but it also invites strangers to become friends. The common areas invite you to indulge in reading, relaxing and conversation.

We regret that our stay had to end. However, we will soon return..again and again and again.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    28
    8
    4
    2
See reviews for
21
123
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2006

My husband and I have stayed at the Thorp House for 3 years in a row, and look forward to a return visit. The Inn is charming. The antiques in each room are beautiful. The innkeepers Sverre and Chris make you feel welcomed and very much at home. The ho-made scones served at breakfast are amazing! We enjoyed a delightful and relaxing weekend.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2005

Stayed at the Beach House, which appears to have last undergone renovations in the early 80s; it's kind of a time warp. Unit was generally pretty clean, well aside from the filthy lip-stick stained wine glasses that I found in the cabinet as I was about to serve wine to some friends. Ewwwwww...yuck. It's certainly not the worse place I have stayed, but I would not return.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2005

I stayed for a week in one of the cottages that surround the main lodge, and the experience was disappointing. The cottage smelled old and musty, and the egg smell and taste of the water was bad, bad, bad. The floors creaked, and the furniture was worn and lumpy. The two bedrooms were cramped, as were the bathroom and kitchen. The clear, low-watt light bulbs made for a depressing atmosphere. Needless to say, I stayed in the cottage as little as possible.

The photogenic main house, which has a few guest rooms, seemed to be in better shape -- so you might want to explore that option first. I did enjoy sitting on the large front porch, and the location -- just off the main street in Fish Creek -- can't be beat. The owner was pleasant and helpful.

Note: The Inn's Web site includes photos and virtual tours of each room and cottage. My experience, at least, indicates that things look better online than in person.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2004

Wow! Was I ever surprised to read the review titled "we hated...". Simply couldn't believe it. Thorp House Inn is absolutely one of the most charming and relaxing places we have been, and we return here year after year. Sverre and Christine Falke-Peterson are very gracious hosts' and run a first rate Inn. After many years of coming here, alone and with friends, I can say I have never had a breakfast here that wasn't first rate, and completely homemade! I run very early in the mornings and can find Sverre on any given morning in that wonderful kitchen preparing breakfast... from scratch. The Eliza happens to be our favorite room, very quaint and private, right off of the library and parlor. As for noise, you can expect some of that... Fish Creek is a tourist area, and needs to conduct business, and early deliveries are standard. Don't think I'll even address the issue of no half and half for his coffee... I would hate to see anyone considering The Thorp House Inn make a decision based on this reviewer.. this is a fabulous place to relax and unwind. We will continue to come here, and certainly encourage others to do the same.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2003

We recently reserved a room at the Thorp House Inn for two evenings-the only two we could get away from Chicago. We were surprised to receive a call one night asking us to switch rooms; the innkeepers wanted to accommodate other guests who planned on staying four nights and requested the room we had already reserved. After promising to look one last time at the website, I called the next day to say that we were sorry but we wanted the room we had already reserved. Mr. Falck-Petersen said that he would honor our request. We received a subsequent confirmation in the mail noting that we were in the room we had asked for. Upon arrival and with no advance notice whatsoever, we were told by their assistant that we had been "upgraded" to a more expensive room. The room was lovely but the "upgrade" ignored the fact that we had asked for--and been promised in writing--another room. We didn't want this room. We were bumped anyway. When we asked whether the innkeepers would be around the next day to discuss the issue, we were assured they would. They never showed up at the B&B during our two days. When we returned to Chicago, we wrote a lengthy e-mail expressing our disappointment and annoyance. We never received the courtesy of a reply.

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thorp House Inn and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thorp House Inn and Cottages

Address: 4135 Bluff Lane, Fish Creek, WI 54212
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Fish Creek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Fish Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For over 100 years, Thorp House Inn & Cottages has welcomed visitors to the charming village of Fish Creek. The five unique guest rooms in the Inn offer the authentic ambiance of a bygone era amidst the spectacular natural beauty of the Door County peninsula. Whirlpools and fireplaces are available. The Cottages at Thorp House Inn have a charm and following all of their own. They are just what you had in mind... cozy and private... nestled in the pines... close to the beach... in the heart of the village. Walk to shops, restaurants, Peninsula State Park and much more. Each cottage is decorated in country antiques and has its own unique character. Most have fireplaces and some have whirlpools. Both the Inn and Cottages are open year-round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Thorp House Inn and Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thorp House Inn And Cottages Hotel Fish Creek
Thorp House Inn And Cottages Fish Creek, WI - Door County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thorp House Inn and Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.