We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Late Fall in Door County” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thorp House Inn and Cottages

Save Saved
You added Thorp House Inn and Cottages to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Thorp House Inn and Cottages
4135 Bluff Lane, Fish Creek, WI 54212   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Fish Creek B&B and Inns
Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Late Fall in Door County”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

My fiance' and I stayed here for the first time in early November. We couldn't have had a better time! The house was cozy and warm. The fireplace is a great place to relax next to, and the house's history and design is very beautiful. They also had a cribbage board to use, which we took full advantage of. We cannot wait to come back in the summer/fall of this year!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    112
    26
    8
    4
    2
See reviews for
19
108
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

My Husband I last minute decided to spend New Years Eve just the two of us. We got the last room in town and we are so happy it was at The Thorp Inn. They were so welcoming! The rooms was very quaint and comfortable. They had a bottle of champagne in the fridge with our name on it and an excellent breakfast in the morning. We will definitely stay again when we come to Fish Creek. Thank you for making our New Years special!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This was my first stay at the Thorp Inn B&B and I'm already making plans to return next Winter in 2013! My room was ideal for a single traveler seeking much-needed time to disconnect from her office and reconnect with the outdoors. I enjoyed the convenience of being close to Peninsula State Park, where one is able to see more scenery and wildlife, since most leaves have fallen. Upon returning to the Inn in the evenings, the staff at the Thorp Inn warmly welcomed me and in the mornings, I knew there would be a nice fire downstairs.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukesha, Wisconsin
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We spent last weekend at the Thorp House Inn and Cottages for the Progressive Dinner Weekend and had a very relaxing, wonderful time. The Thorpe House Inn is exactly the kind of place that makes Door County so special. The decor, the service, the opportunity to meet great people, all add up to a very special experience. This was our second stay at the Inn and we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We recently stayed here for the annual Progressive Dinner and a wonderful time. The room was great, the breakfast amazing (with the exception of the tea selection...they need more caffeinated tea), the fire so cozy, and the location perfect. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaukauna, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

There are "things" that make one get-away trip more memorable than others, and an important one to us is where we stay.
The Dove Cottage at the Thorp House Inn was perfect - positively memorable. When thinking of a description, cozy, and quaint are foremost! The decor and real wood fireplace added to an already inviting ambiance. The Inn staff were extremely friendly and more than willing to help in any way they could. The welcome received confirmed we had made the right choice in where to stay in Door County. The vicinity of the Inn to surrounding shops and restaurants, as well as Peninsula State Park, is ideal.
We often like to try different places just to experience something new, but our stay at the Thorp House Inn (Dove Cottage in particular) will be a sure reservation for our next visit to Door County!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

The cottage was clean and adorable. It was a perfect cozy home base for enjoying Peninsula State Park and the shops/restaurants of Door County. The staff was wonderful - when I accidentally spilled wine, the innkeeper was totally understanding and her last question to me was, "Is there anything else we can do to make your stay better?" Nope! It was already perfect.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Thorp House Inn and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thorp House Inn and Cottages

Address: 4135 Bluff Lane, Fish Creek, WI 54212
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Fish Creek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Fish Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For over 100 years, Thorp House Inn & Cottages has welcomed visitors to the charming village of Fish Creek. The five unique guest rooms in the Inn offer the authentic ambiance of a bygone era amidst the spectacular natural beauty of the Door County peninsula. Whirlpools and fireplaces are available. The Cottages at Thorp House Inn have a charm and following all of their own. They are just what you had in mind... cozy and private... nestled in the pines... close to the beach... in the heart of the village. Walk to shops, restaurants, Peninsula State Park and much more. Each cottage is decorated in country antiques and has its own unique character. Most have fireplaces and some have whirlpools. Both the Inn and Cottages are open year-round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Thorp House Inn and Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thorp House Inn And Cottages Hotel Fish Creek
Thorp House Inn And Cottages Fish Creek, WI - Door County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thorp House Inn and Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.