We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Settlement Courtyard Inn & Lavender Spa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Fish Creek
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Settlement Courtyard Inn & Lavender Spa
Save
You added Settlement Courtyard Inn & Lavender Spa to your Saves list
9126 Highway 42, Fish Creek, WI 54212   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Fish Creek
Suamico, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

We were a little apprehensive when walking into the hotel to check in. The outside of the building had a look about it that said "old", and we had been burned previously on a hotel with nice pictures online only to discover not-so-nice accommodations.

We checked in and walked to our room (I liked that it was a real key and not a key card that we used, haven't seen that in years) and were pleasantly surprised when we walked in the room. It was nicely appointed with a king bed and a little kitchenette. The kitchenette had a real fridge as opposed to a dorm-sized appliance, microwave, toaster, sink, and dishes (including corkscrew - nice for all the wineries around there). Also had a nice wood table with seating for 4.

There was a smallish TV that did not have a large number of channels, but we weren't there to watch TV so not a problem. They advertise a free continental plus breakfast. Here is what we found: several types of cereal - oatmeal packets, Cheerios, Raisin Bran, and a few Kashi selections; fresh fruit - apples, oranges, and plums; baked goods - English muffins, bagels, bread, coffee cake, mini muffins, mini cinnamon rolls, doughnut holes, and danish; yogurt cups; juice - apple and orange; milk; and organic coffee. Quite enough to make a good breakfast. They have a seating area right there, or you can use a tray to take it back to your room.

The ice machine is not one of those annoying ones where you push a button and wait while the ice slowly trickles out. You open a lid and use a nice big scoop to get the ice, in and out in seconds.

The website boasts of extensive walking trails that connect to the state park. We went for a very nice hike on those trails, but could not find where they were supposed to connect to the park. The map they provided showed it connecting, but the trail ended in a neighborhood of condos. When I asked at the front desk, the gentleman there didn't know much of anything about the trails.

All in all, it was a very pleasant place to stay. Not sure if we will be back, only because we may want something on the water next time. I definitely recommend this, especially if you want something nice yet budget-friendly.

Room Tip: Room 4 overlooks the courtyard with pool and games, yet has flowers and bushes outside the window fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    24
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
23
38
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

overall this is a very quaint place to stay. It is conveniently located one mile or so from Fish Creek which is a fantasic little town to visit in Door County. it is also very near peninsula state park which is great for all kind of activities.

The hotel boasts being greener than some of the other area hotels and I was pleasantly surprised to find recycling containers in each room and other green amenities. the only thing they were missing would be additional recycling containers near the entrance and exits.

the evening staff upon our arrival was a little off putting but the rest of the crew have been very accommodating and pleasant.

venue is a little pricey given it is not water front. But the pool is clean and the grounds are well kept.

we may choose not to stay here again but it was not because of anything specifically wrong with the location. We would likely choose something waterside next time.

my wife disagreed with some of the decor but overall it was very nice place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

I was SO disappointed with The Settlement Courtyard Inn. The towels were so old they should have been replaced years ago. The wash towels were stained and dirty. The blanket in the closet that is used for the sleeper sofa had so many holes in it you would have thought that 100 moths had a feast on it. It was also soiled. The chairs by the pool were worn out with large holes in the threading. They should have been replaced years ago along with the towels. The air conditioner ran all day long but at 10PM shut off and didn't go on again until 8:30AM. We were told that it was on auto cycle. It was over 100 degrees outside (truly the hottest day since the 1970's). We had a 2 bedroom suite and the only air conditioner was in the main living area. Needless to say it was very hot and uncomfortable in the 2 bedrooms to sleep. Although the staff was friendly and apologetic, I would NEVER stay here again!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Settlement Courtyard Inn & Lavender Spa, responded to this review, July 14, 2012
We always ask our guests to let us know if things are not right with the room and we are so grateful this guest did so. Unfortunately some things got missed in the room and because of her letting us know we were able to change out all of the old towels and blanket and able to readjust the air conditioner to run continuously. That room was just refurbished but the remodel did not include air in each room but fans are provided in the bedrooms. And YES! the new pool furniture is on order.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

We are always pleased when we stay at the Settlement Courtyard Inn. There were plenty of nice upgrades made over the winter...our favorite being foam egg crates added to the bed and new, comfortable bedding. The staff if always extremely pleasant and we look forward to seeing them each year. We enjoy spending quiet time in the lobby area, where we can listen to relaxing music and do some reading while our children play a quiet game of checkers. With the well maintained pool, hiking trails right on the premises, and complimentary breakfast, we don't even need to leave the hotel for most of the day if we don't want to! We also love the option to receive spa services right there at the Inn. The massage I received at the Lavendar Spa was one of the best ever!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkhorn, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

We have been going up to Door County for several years, and have always driven past the Settlement Inn, thinking it looked like a nice place to stay. Upon our stay this past summer, the accommodations leave a lot to be desired.

The service from the desk clerk was poor and I felt as if we were bothering her when we wanted to check in. I can certainly overlook that if the accommodations are superior. However, these rooms are in need of a complete remodel. They are horribly outdated, and not in a "quaint" way. Everything from the beds (hard as a rock), to the bedding, pillows, carpeting, wallpaper, etc...needs replacing.

The rooms are spacious, they do have a gas fireplace and ours had a kitchenette area. The reason I would never stay here again was the horrible odor in both the hallways and our room. The only way I can describe it, is that it smelled like dead, rotting mouse. It was very overwhelming and I wasn't sure if I could stick it out. I will not be returning to the Settlement Courtyard Inn- every place we have stayed in Door County was better than this Inn.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Il
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

Being in Door County for only one night (family wedding) we were not able to get the full experience of the Settlement Inn but we did have a fantastic stay. We were very pleased with the rooms and the amenities within them. It was such a nice option to be able to eat and keep food/drinks for ourselves. The ambiance of the room, with the fireplace, felt like a family room for us.

We were also very impressed by the staff. Having forgotten a card for the wedding, my husband went to the front desk to see if they had a convient store. The attendant went as far as calling her boss who was out and about to see if she would pick up a card for us. I thought that was incredibly thoughtful and beyond the usual service! Even the next morning as we passed by one of the facility workers he stopped to ask us how the wedding was. The attention given to us felt welcoming and personal beyond traditional hotel courtesy.

If we are able to head back to Door County this summer, we will certainly be staying here again.

As a side note, the one thing we were displeased with was the heater in the room. It was older and did not adjust temperature well. We kept turning it on and off because it would get soooo hot in the room and the temperature could not be well controlled.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

My family has been staying at Settlement for years. It was "our" place while hanging out in Door County for weeks or just a few days to celebrate the 4th. They have all that you need and are always friendly. I have so many great memories of while hanging out around their fire pits, sitting in the lounge playing card games, waking up early to grab a doughnut and OJ and then sitting outside breathing in that fresh country air, hiking the trails that the Redman family and co. set up throughout the years, the list goes on. My most favorite trail is the one into Fish Creek. There is a spot on the trail along the stone fence, just before you enter the more dense forest, and the quaking aspens form an alley, I can still hear the sound of them.

I really couldn't write down all that Settlement has come to mean to me.

Looking forward to visiting them again sometime in the near future!

Room Tip: The house that you can rent is definitely the best place to stay! The views off the top floor deck a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Settlement Courtyard Inn & Lavender Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Settlement Courtyard Inn & Lavender Spa

Address: 9126 Highway 42, Fish Creek, WI 54212
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Fish Creek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Fish Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming country inn and spa specializes in a total relaxing vacation experience. Beautiful inn rooms and whirlpool suites all have fireplaces and kitchenettes or dry bar. Heated outdoor pool, hiking trails, continental-plus breakfast, beer pub, horseshoes, sand box, grills and shops. The Lavender Spa is an intimate massage therapy spa offering massage services and packages. Menu items include Swedish massage, Aglow face massage, hot stone, aromatherapy, couples romantic spa packages, girls getaway packages and more. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Settlement Courtyard Inn & Lavender Hotel Fish Creek
Settlement Courtyard Inn And Lavender Spa
Courtyard Fish Creek
Fish Creek Courtyard
Settlement Courtyard Inn & Lavender Spa Fish Creek, WI - Door County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Settlement Courtyard Inn & Lavender Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.