We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of our favorites...on a bad night?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of English Inn

English Inn
3713 Hwy 42, Fish Creek, WI 54212
(920) 868-3076
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 29 Restaurants in Fish Creek
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dessert, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Sheboygan, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“One of our favorites...on a bad night?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

The English Inn has been one of our Door Counry favorites for almost a decade. This time, we were disappointed by the quality of the food (warm bacon dressing was cold, woody carrots, steaks WAY overdone) and the unenthusiasic service. We will be back just to find out if this was just an off night or the start of an unfortunate trend.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    46
    29
    15
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Halibut A Must”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I would drive from my house in SW Illinois to the English Inn every day if I could just have one bite of the Pistacio Encrused Halibut that the English Inn serves. However, I must work, therefore, I think about it and plan my next escape to the area where I can once again indulge in this delicacy.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, great food, great time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Favorite place in Fish Creek for dinner. When it's not busy and you get the table by the fireplace it's a very romantic and very enjoyable night. Hope to be back soon.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A great place for nice evening.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

My husband and I just got back from Door County and had a wonderful meal at The English Inn. I had a filet cooked perfect to medium rare. Beautiful decor, nice service.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Definitely downhill”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We have gone to the English Inn before while in Door County. The food and experience were
always good. We were so disappointed this visit. My husband's filet had no taste and neither
did my whitefish. When you pick a place to go for a nice dinner, you expect good food.
We were disappointed. I don't think we will return for awhile.
Keep on driving down 42 and pass this one by.........

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed English Inn also viewed

Fish Creek, Door County
Fish Creek, Door County
 
Fish Creek, Door County
 

Been to English Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage English Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.