We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Way over priced” 2 of 5 stars
Review of English Inn

English Inn
3713 Hwy 42, Fish Creek, WI 54212
(920) 868-3076
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 29 Restaurants in Fish Creek
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Dessert, Late Night, Reservations
Wisconsin, USA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Way over priced”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Last night we ate at the Waterfront. Tonight at the English Inn. There was only $11 difference in price. The difference in quality and service was so far apart it is unbelievable. We had planned to have steak. We asked if their beef was prime or choice. Prices were high enough to be prime, but we have been fooled before. Our waitress did not know and had to go ask. She reported back that the steaks were choice. We decided to have fish. My husband ordered pistachio encrusted Whitefish, and I ordered pistachio encrusted Halibut. We also ordered Oysters Rockefeller as an appetizer. When it came, it looked great. Big oyster shells heaped with spinach. However, that is pretty much what was in there. The oysters were so tiny it was hard to find them in all that spinach. One shell had no oyster in it. Then the salads arrived and they were very good. Spinach salad with warm bacon dressing. Nothing spectacular, but good. The entree arrived a after a bit too long of a wait. The baked potato was pretty gummy and barely warm. The pistachios on the fish were just at the point of being almost burned. Definitely too brown and didn't taste very good. We brought it to our waitress's attention and she informed us that they were always that dark. We scrapped off the pistachios and ate some of the fish. Brought the rest home and gave it to the dogs. There are some really great places to eat in Door County. Really upscale restaurants that put this old has been restaurant to shame. Don't waste you money here. It is expensive and mediocre.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    46
    29
    15
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fish Creek, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Fun evening with friends”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Last night we visited the English Inn for dinner with friends from out of town. We had called ahead for reservations and were seated right away while some others were still standing in line. Our waitress was friendly and helpful and kept up with our needs very well. As it was a Friday night, I had the walleye fish fry which was great and very lightly breaded so nothing heavy there. The Spinach salad with bacon dressing is wonderful and one of our favorites. We also love the au gratin potatoes here. My husband had a delicious steak, my friend's husband had a filet and my friend had the whitefish oscar. That was the only entree that was disappointing--bones in the fish. Really hopping place last night!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Value Missing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Spent a wonderful autumn day in Door County and having been to the area before we had not dined at the English Inn. It is an inviting local pub feel and relaxed service, that has a value to price disconnect.
A chefs salad consisted of lettuce, sliced cheese, ham and turkey slices.Thats it. No garnish, tomatoes or an egg wedge. A tuna sandwich was done perfectly but you receive a sandwich and thats it not even a pickle. The tab which included two bloody marys was over $40.00. Chicago yes, but not a Door County pub.
Stop for a beer, find another choice to eat

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“English Inn , Fish Creek Wi- POOR service good food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We visited the Inn on a Saturday night during the fall peak leaf changing season. We made reservations and arrived right on time. We were told 10 minutes. My wife ordered a martin at the bar while we waited. The bartender grouchily served it in a lowball glass and said - we are out of martini glasses. It spoiled the drink.
At dinner our waitress was short and in a hurry.
We ordered an appetizer , salads and dinner.
Salads came out ( the bacon dressing is great) and we asked about our appetizer- the waitress forgot we had an appetizer. Before we could finish our salads she brought out the calamari. It was very mediocre.
Before we could finish the Calamari she brought out our dinners. We had to hold our salad plates so she had a place to put the dinner.
The main course was good. One fish and two beef wellingtons. the shrimp ceasar salad was good but not expecting fried shrimp.
The table was cleared by someone that piled all the dishes in one spot and cleared the food onto the one plate- Not acceptable when paying $25-$35 per plate
We felt rushed and not really cared about.
People that arrived without a reservation were quoted 1 hour . When we left 1.5 hours after arriving the restaurant was half empty.
WE WILL NOT BE BACK HERE AGAIN WITH THIS SERVICE.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frankfort
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Door Countys Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Went on a Saturday nite with reservations and had to wait about 20 min, however, was given a wonderful table in the main dining room next to the fireplace with a view to the outside the ambiance was spectacular, well worth the wait. The spinach salad with cherry viniagarette was to die for and I go there every time I am there for thier duck. It is done to perfection, no grease or fat, just crisp skin and moist succulant meat with choice of orange, raspberry or Door County cherry sauce. It is undoubtedly the best duck I have ever had and can't wait to go back.Fine dining at it's best. J.D.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed English Inn also viewed

Fish Creek, Door County
Fish Creek, Door County
 
Fish Creek, Door County
 

Been to English Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage English Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.