We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friday night dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of English Inn

English Inn
3713 Hwy 42, Fish Creek, WI 54212
(920) 868-3076
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 28 Restaurants in Fish Creek
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Wausau, Wisconsin, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Friday night dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Great place that has a good fish fry. I had the Halibut special which was very good. I would recommend.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    44
    27
    14
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Richland Center, Wisconsin, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

It was our third visit. We took our daughter and son in law this time and everything was wonderful.We very much enjoyed the spinach salads with the hot bacon dressing, our entrees (BEEF WELLINGTON) and dessert! Can't wait to come back!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“quite surprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I have been traveling to Door County all of my life. Finally, we decided to give this restaurant a try. Was quite surprised how beautiful the interior was especially the cozy bar area. The food was good, although two members of my party each ordered the pork chops. One came perfectly done the other was quite pink. The service was excellent. Based off of another person's recommendation of their grasshoppers, we didn't find them excellent at all.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Come for the Grasshoppers”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

The food is average and the service is slow - even off season. After one particular bad experience I have sworn off eating there. I don't need average food with slow service. But I would recommend their grasshoppers. Don't get me wrong - the food is not bad, but nothing to write home about. They are open year round which is a plus and this winter I may actually return. Can't hold a grudge forever.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Iowa
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Beautiful restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We have been coming to this restaurant for about 25 years. It changed hands a few years ago.
In the past they had been a bit disorganized, but this time everything went perfect. We were
seated where we wanted to be, next to a plate glass window with a fish pond right outside. Also
there was various sculptures outside the window.. The food was good. I had baked brie which
is my favorite. The fresh halibut was very good. The service was excellent. There is nothing I
can think of that would be considered negative. Congratulations English Inn.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed English Inn also viewed

Fish Creek, Door County
Sister Bay, Door County
 
Fish Creek, Door County
Fish Creek, Door County
 

Been to English Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage English Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.