We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Disapointed” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Parkwood Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Parkwood Lodge to your Saves list
Parkwood Lodge
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   3775 State Hwy 42, Fish Creek, WI 54212 (Formerly Beowulf Lodge)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Fish Creek
Alma, Wisconsin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very Disapointed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Let me start by saying the people at the Parkword were very nice and friendly. But the room was musty. The tub was not washed clean at all . we stayed for a week. The floor was not cleaned nor was the carpet vacumed the whole time we stayed there. Toliet was dirty , no toliet paper one day, we had to go look for some at the office. The sheets never were changed. Sink was not wiped clean and nothing was dusted the whole time we were there. coffee pot was not washed or even emptied. There were spiderwebs and even a bug in our sink one morning. I was very dissapointed, yes it was cheaper, but still have some pride in your place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GStillman, Owner at Parkwood Lodge, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
We are sorry you were disappointed in your recent stay with us and apologize for the issues you experienced. We are surprised to hear your housekeeping concerns. We have had many positive comments from guests about the housekeeping services we provide. We take pride in what we have to offer our guests. We appreciate your comments. We are here to serve and assist our guests to make their stay an enjoyable one. We wish you would have let us know your concerns while you were here so they could have been addressed and corrected at that point. We hope you will consider staying with us once again in future visits to Door County.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    22
    19
    6
    9
See reviews for
26
28
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

The Parkwood Lodge in Fish Creek was amazing! We had never been to Door County and were overwhelmed with where we should stay. We couldn't have chosen better with Parkwood Loge. The staff was fabulous and very helpful. They gave us a great recommendation for a sunset dinner at Fred & Fuzzy's--right on the water! The room was very clean. The only negative is that the day we were checking out something went wrong with the toilet, as in it wouldn't flush. We left them a note and I'm sure they took care of it pronto! I would definitely stay at Parkwood Lodge again. The location in Fish Creek was ideal to be able to go north or south to experience all of what Door County has to offer, which is a lot!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

The room was very dirty with large stains on the carpet everywhere. The bottom of the bathtub was black. Our room was also musty smelling. At first I thought it would be ok, but after the air conditioner turned on, it was horrible. The small fridge ran all night long, made for a long night awake. The landscaping looked nice out back, but I would suggest spending more money on updating this lodge.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, WI
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

This was our second stay here and we would definitely come back. The value for Door County and the amenities you have (pool, fridge in room (some have a mini-kitchen), hot tub, coffee, spacious well-landscaped grounds, tennis court, fire pit, etc.) are an added bonus. The owners are extremely friendly and accomodating which you are finding less and less in high tourist areas like DC. Not the most updated or fancy, but if you're looking for a great value with excellent customer service, give this place a try. Our stay this year was the weekend that Fish Creek had it's summer festival and they still only required a 2 night min vs. the other places requiring a 3 night min. Also gave us room to park our jet ski on the trailer.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaska, Minnesota
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We stayed there over the 4th of July 2012. Our room smelled musty the entire time we were there. The room was damp and the sheets were damp. We had the A/C running the entire time which should have dehimidified the room but didn't seem to work. The housekeeping people never once vacumned our room over the 5 days we were there. When we got new towels and washclothes they were stained terribly. I complained when we checked out and was told I would have to call a different day to talk to the manager. After a week I was finally able to talk to the manager. She apologized and said that they would put a small credit on my bill. Never happened. That was over a month ago and a credit has never appeared on my Visa account. We would have left and found a new place but everyting was booked. This place was $23 per night higher than where we normally stayed which was downtown Fish Creek and that place was spotless. I will never stay here again. I was a little concerned when I read other reviews about a must room. This was a disappointment. Only stay here if you want your vacation wrecked.

Room Tip: Go anywhere but here
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeniseS598, Owner at Parkwood Lodge, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at Parkwood Lodge. We work very hard to satisfy our guests. I know that you did speak with the Director of Operations following your departure and she applied a 15% discount to your entire stay. Please review your credit card statement because we do show a $79 credit applied on 7/12. We were disappointed that you did not mention some of your concerns during your stay so that they could have been resolved. Again, sorry for your experience and thank you for providing feedback it honestly helps us improve!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolingbrook, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

This hotel will be our first choice in the future. Rooms are clean, spacious and bright. They have a pool, hot tub, game room and tennis courts. We had a beautiful view from our room. Quiet but convenient location just outside of town. Rooms are cheaper than many other hotels that aren't as nice.

Room Tip: We liked the second floor. Nice balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeniseS598, Owner at Parkwood Lodge, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Parkwood Lodge! Our housekeeping department works very hard to keep our rooms clean ~ and they are happy when people notice and give postive reviews. I am glad you were able to take advantage of our recreational amenities. We hope that you return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012 via mobile

I was impressed with how clean and maintained this hotel is. Although the rooms are quite dated, everything is clean and well taken care of. I felt like I was stepping back into the early 1980's!
The indoor pool and hot tub is clean but pool was a little cold for my taste. I am not a tennis player but I noticed there is a nice court available. Also has the typical game room for the kids.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Parkwood Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkwood Lodge

Address: 3775 State Hwy 42, Fish Creek, WI 54212 (Formerly Beowulf Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Fish Creek
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Fish Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Parkwood Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parkwood Lodge - Door County has all of the amenities and comforts that you expect at a price you will appreciate. Parkwood Lodge is conveniently located on the north end of Fish Creek, Wisconsin across from the popular Peninsula State Park property. Parkwood Lodge is situated on 10 acres and offers a variety of room types for travelers to Door County. There are affordbale lodge rooms with 2 double beds, king rooms, kitchenettes and even suites that have fireplaces. The hotel has a great indoor pool and whirlpool, there are charcoal grills, picnic areas and a bonfire pit. Parkwood Lodge is open early May thru late October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Parkwood Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkwood Hotel Fish Creek
Parkwood Lodge Fish Creek, WI - Door County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parkwood Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.