We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bright, Clean, Spacious Rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Parkwood Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Parkwood Lodge to your Saves list
Parkwood Lodge
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   3775 State Hwy 42, Fish Creek, WI 54212 (Formerly Beowulf Lodge)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Fish Creek
Bolingbrook, Illinois
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Bright, Clean, Spacious Rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

This hotel will be our first choice in the future. Rooms are clean, spacious and bright. They have a pool, hot tub, game room and tennis courts. We had a beautiful view from our room. Quiet but convenient location just outside of town. Rooms are cheaper than many other hotels that aren't as nice.

Room Tip: We liked the second floor. Nice balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeniseS598, Owner at Parkwood Lodge, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Parkwood Lodge! Our housekeeping department works very hard to keep our rooms clean ~ and they are happy when people notice and give postive reviews. I am glad you were able to take advantage of our recreational amenities. We hope that you return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    22
    20
    6
    9
See reviews for
26
28
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012 via mobile

I was impressed with how clean and maintained this hotel is. Although the rooms are quite dated, everything is clean and well taken care of. I felt like I was stepping back into the early 1980's!
The indoor pool and hot tub is clean but pool was a little cold for my taste. I am not a tennis player but I noticed there is a nice court available. Also has the typical game room for the kids.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We stayed at the Parkwood for 2 nights and had booked at the last minute. It's not a fancy place but our room was very clean and everything we needed for a short stay. It's also nice not having the 3 night minimum which seems to be the norm in Door County. Our beds were comfortable and it's in a quiet setting. We enjoyed the Door County coffee in the morning, but it should be available before 8:00 a.m.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wi_bay_girl, Owner at Parkwood Lodge, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at Parkwood Lodge. Thank you for your feedback. Like many Door County hotels, we often require minimum stays, but it is good to call because often we can fit a stay in between others. I am glad we were able to accomdate your request. For people that like early morning coffee we do provide coffee makers and packets in each guest room. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Washington, Wisconsin
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We stayed at the Parkwood Lodge for 3 nights. The setting is beautiful. Located outside of Fish Creek, you have a wood's like setting, tennis courts, fire pit, picnic tables and grills all on site. There is an indoor pool, whirlpool, small game room, free Door County coffee in the morning, board games available to play and lots of brochures, newspapers in the office for events and outings in the area. The staff was very friendly. The room we had was clean and didn't smell, like some of the other reviews I read. Our room had a full size coffee pot, which we appreciated.
On the down side, the beds in our room were very uncomfortable. Did not get a good night sleep the whole stay. The sink is in the sleeping area, so if you have light sleepers in your party, that is a disadvantage.
We stayed on the second floor in the Alpine Building, so we didn't hear any traffic noise and the people in our section were very quite, we didn't hear anyone.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

Reading the other reviews, we were lucky with regards to our room! We based ourselves here for 3 nights while exploring Door County. We had an upstairs room, clean, spacious and not musty at all. The complex is set back from the main road in spacious grounds. Parking lots are provided around the grounds. The trees provided welcome shade over the buildings in mid summer. The reception area and staff were welcoming and helpful, with coffee provided, books and games available which would be great in inclement weather. There is also a hot tub and pool. Wi fi was good. Parkwood, in our experience, offers basic, spacious and importantly affordable accommodation. We notice that it is frequented by cycling and hiking groups who appreciate it's location just on the edge of town.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

We ended up staying here after a snafu with the cottage that we were supposed to stay at blew out its wiring. This was the only place available for the same price we were paying at the cottage in town. The staff was friendly and accommodating but the room was not great. It had a terrible musty smell that would not go away. The cabinets in the kitchenette were old and rusty. The hot pads had food crusted on them and had not been washed. The furniture was old and worn out as well. My son enjoyed the pool and hot tub and the location is close to Peninsula State Park. I would not stay here again unless they did some serious updating of the rooms.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

Others have blasted this place, but I would ask what do you want for 100 bucks in door county?? It is dated, but the new owners are making some improvements. Our unit was a bit dirty in a few spots (kitchen area, some dishes, the tub) but not filthy or anything. There is some road noise from hwy 42, but the up side is that you can mountain bike from the motel right onto the trails. This is a big plus if you are here to hike or bike in peninsula state park. We come in the fall and the off season rate is good. I would probably not want to be here in the peak season...too many units. The pool and hot tub are decent and well heated. Good for a family but not a place to spend in a luxury get away. Wifi is very good in our unit.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Parkwood Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkwood Lodge

Address: 3775 State Hwy 42, Fish Creek, WI 54212 (Formerly Beowulf Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Fish Creek
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Fish Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Parkwood Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parkwood Lodge - Door County has all of the amenities and comforts that you expect at a price you will appreciate. Parkwood Lodge is conveniently located on the north end of Fish Creek, Wisconsin across from the popular Peninsula State Park property. Parkwood Lodge is situated on 10 acres and offers a variety of room types for travelers to Door County. There are affordable lodge rooms with 2 double beds, king rooms, kitchenettes, family suites and even suites that have fireplaces. The hotel has a great indoor pool and whirlpool, there are charcoal grills, picnic areas and a bonfire pit. Parkwood Lodge is open early May thru late October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Parkwood Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkwood Hotel Fish Creek
Parkwood Lodge Fish Creek, WI - Door County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parkwood Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.