We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Cherry Stuffed French Toast in the World” 5 of 5 stars
Review of White Gull Inn

White Gull Inn
4225 Main St, Fish Creek, WI 54212-9697
920-868-3517
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 28 Restaurants in Fish Creek
Price range: $6 - $35
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Award-winning restaurant open to the public. Winner of Good Morning America's Best Breakfast Award. Sumptuous lunches, candlelight dinners and famous for traditional Door County whitefish boils. Open all year.
Sherwood, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
347 reviews 347 reviews
203 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 120 cities Reviews in 120 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
“Best Cherry Stuffed French Toast in the World”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We love the decor and often split the coffee cake of the day, followed by splitting the cherry stuffed French toast, and end with the fruit of the day, all washed down with black coffee. This morning was no different. Thought Door County was deserted we had a 5 minute wait at noon as the restaurant was full, a testimony to how good it is. Service was efficient and pleasant and the cost very reasonable.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    308
    102
    39
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wheeling, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fish boil was disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

We recently went to the fish boil with another couple. The first thing that annoyed me was that after checking in at the front desk, we were told if you wanted a glass a wine we had to go back outside and around the building to the bar. After the boil over, we were herded into the line where one person put potatoes on your plate while another person handed out the hunks of fish. Then on to the tartar sauce, cole slaw and lemon slices. Back at the table the server helped remove the bones from the fish. Dessert was cherry pie with vanilla ice cream. I thought the best part of the meal was the bread. Over rated and overpriced. A few years ago we went to the fish boil at the Old Post Office restaurant in Ephraim. In my opinion it's much better quality and more entertaining.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Stuffed French Toast - As Good As You've Heard It Is!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We visited the White Gull Inn for breakfast, of course to taste the renowned Door County Cherry Stuffed French Toast. We were not disappointed in the slightest! We actually began the meal with blueberry coffee cake, warm and crumbly and delicious. It's huge though - probably enough for four people to share. I feasted on the French toast, while my husband had a more traditional eggs, meat and browns breakfast. Both dishes really were amazing. Aside from the food, the rest of the experience was positive as well. The service was friendly and welcoming on a cold and rainy summer day. The place is cute and cozy. Overall a great experience - we'll be back during our next trip!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Door County cherry pancakes!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

I heard this place was popular, so we arrived right when they opened at 7:30. Service was excellent, and the food was even better! I don't like overly sweet entrees for breakfast, so I was a little worried at first...but the pancakes were yummy! They had whole door county cherries cooked inside of them. I would highly recommend making a stop here. I promise you won't be disappointed!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“amazing food and worth the wait!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

One of the best breakfasts I have ever had. Gluten free menu which is great for us gluten free people.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed White Gull Inn also viewed

Fish Creek, Door County
Sister Bay, Door County
 

Been to White Gull Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Gull Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.