We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Liked the pre-fire place better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Cookery Restaurant & Wine Bar

The Cookery Restaurant & Wine Bar
4135 Highway 42, Fish Creek, WI 54212
920-868-3634
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 27 restaurants in Fish Creek
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Racine, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Liked the pre-fire place better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

The Cookery is new; it had a fire about a year ago and since rebuilding has become more "gourmet." They used to have a wonderful breakfast and lunch buffet in the off season but now they don't and it is pretty much too gourmet and pricey for my sensibilities.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    133
    101
    27
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
288 reviews 288 reviews
199 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Nice balcony seating - just watch out for the bees”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

The first morning in Fish Creek we decided to just take a stroll up the street and check out the breakfast possibilites. The Cookery looked very attractive from the outside, and it had tables on the second floor balcony. The dining room downstairs had mostly booth seats with wooden bench seats and tall partitions, upstairs had small tables along the walls and next to the center stairwell. We sat outside on the balcony which was very pleasant at first, however, not long after, we found ourselves under attack by a large number of bees that must have been attracted by the large, fluffy and very tasty cinnamon bun I was having. At about the same time it also started drizzling (so maybe the weather also had something to do with the appearance of bees) so we had to retreat indoors and finished up our breakfast at a table next to the balcony. In spite of the bee episode, we still enjioyed our breakfast and if we are in Fish Creek again next year will definitely give the outdoor seating another try.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshkosh, Wisconsin, United States
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Perfect spot for great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We are frequent visitors to Door County & especially love Fish Creek. The Cookery Is our place for breakfast. We love that we can walk to it from the shops and the food is always hot and just what we ordered. The staff will make your omelet to please your taste buds & deliver it hot to your table with a smile. Children are welcome & accommodated and service is fast as well as efficient.
Of course anything with Door cherries is my favorite. Coffee is always fresh & delish too! Enjoy :-)

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeClaire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

My husband & I vacation in door county for our anniversary every fall & always eat at The Cookery. It has always been one of our favorite restaurants, which is probably why this past trip was so disappointing. We were rushed and hurried out the door in under 50 minutes! We would have loved to stay and relax and enjoy wine & food but it was very rushed. My husband found multiple bones in his fish and there was a hair in the middle of my turkey sandwich. Yuck!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caskare00, Owner at The Cookery Restaurant & Wine Bar, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
We are sorry to hear about your most recent meal at The Cookery. Your experience is certainly not up to our standards. We have addressed these problems with staff, and we hope that as long time customers of The Cookery you will dine with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Ehh...thats about it!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

Lets start with the good things - the whitefish chowder was delicious! My eggs(over medium) were perfectly cooked. I had the crabcakes benedict which were very good. The perch sandwhich my hubbie had, was just ok. The bloody mary tasted as if tomato juice had been mixed w/water and then poured over ice n sat. When asking if I could have another(as it looked like this was someones leftovers poured over ice) the waiter acted offended n said he would bring me the mix to try before making another. The mix wasnt the issue. A new one was brought out and it was just as watery. While the food was pretty good, the service and price fell short.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caskare00, Owner at The Cookery Restaurant & Wine Bar, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
I am sorry to hear about your experience at The Cookery! We try very hard to serve great food in a friendly atmosphere. We have taken a look at our bloody mary ratio, and have adjusted the amount of ice/vodka/mix that goes in each one. We will also be including your experience in our staff training the season, to ensure all of our guests enjoy their time at The Cookery. We hope you'll dine with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cookery Restaurant & Wine Bar also viewed

Fish Creek, Door County
Fish Creek, Door County
 
Fish Creek, Door County
Sister Bay, Door County
 

Been to The Cookery Restaurant & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cookery Restaurant & Wine Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.