We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best motel in FC” 5 of 5 stars
Review of By The Bay Motel

By The Bay Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Fish Creek
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
By The Bay Motel
4123 Hwy. 42, Fish Creek, WI 54212   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 8 hotels in Fish Creek
Moline, IL
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best motel in FC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

We have stayed at By the Bay several times and always try to stay there on our visits, quite often it is already booked :( Always clean, always friendly, and a great location. Try and book your room early and request a room in the front for best morning view of the bay - Love it an miss it!

Room Tip: Try and book your room early and request a room in the front for best morning view of the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    12
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
17
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Menominee
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

Premises were very clean and neat, rooms smelled fresh and were decorated very nicely. We really enjoyed our stay at By the Bay, found it by wandering on one of our trips to the area. PERFECT location, right across from the beach, had a great view too! The owners John and Mary were very helpful as to the area. VERY affordable and worth the stay! We will be staying there again!

Room Tip: MANY with beach view, no noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

Not the most spectaular motel, but the location definitely makes up for it. Within walking distance to everything. Large rooms. Large balcony. Owners are very friendly. Furnishings are outdated and there is no coffee pot in the room, but I can live with that.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nw indiana
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2010

When we couldn't get a last minute reservation at the Main Street Motel, our favorite Fish Creek motel, we booked at By The Bay as it looked similar and had similar rates. We agree that Mary was very helpful and friendly, and the location is ideal. Also appreciated the refrigerator in the room.

But something in the room set off our allergies so that we finally resorted to running the air conditioner on high all night, despite the cool Fall weather but that, combined with a matress that could use replacing, caused us to lose a fair amount of sleep across 3 nights.

And we missed the ceiling fan, free wi-fi and coffee maker in the room that we were used to at the Main Street for the same price as the By the Bay.

Mary does a very nice job with her motel, but it's a little worn and a little disappointing.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fond du Lac, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2010

Stayed at this motel for a week end in Fish Creek. It has a great location, near Peninsula Park, shopping, and a small public beach. You can park at the motel and walk almost anywhere. We stayed in a first floor room and there is a small area with tables and chairs where you can sit outside and enjoy the weather. Met some really nice people just sitting around the common area. They had free coffee every morning in the office. One complaint, unit 10 had a very musty smell. Unit 11 was fine, the only difference was that unit 11 had a dehumidifier and unit 10 did not. You may want to ask about this when you book your room.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2010

By the Bay Motel is a nice, clean place to stay when in Fish Creek. The rooms were perfectly acceptable - nothing special, but absolutely nothing amiss. The manager was friendly, and there was coffee in the office in the morning. The location is great - walking distance to anything you want to do in Fish Creek. It's also across the street from a nice little beach, which is nice since the motel does not have a pool.

There was a bike rack in the parking lot for our bikes. We also easily biked to Peninsula State Park, just a few minutes away.

We wouldn't race to stay at By the Bay again, but it was a good hotel for what we needed. I had no complaints about our experience.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fox Point
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2010

We just came home from Fish Creek WI, after staying 2 nights @ By the Bay Motel and thought we'd post a quick review. While the weather didn't cooperate our 2 night stay was quite nice! We arrived around 12:30ish since our round of golf was rained out. (Argh the weather! ) but were able to check in/settle in 2 hours early, thanks to the accommodating staff (thank you Mary!). Our room (#2) was a ground floor room, was located right on the main drag in Fish Creek (across the street from the public beach), had a mini fridge, was absolutely spotless, and was more than adequate! The bedding was also very nice and cozy. By the Bay Motel is within walking distance to all and every kind of shop you can think of or name in Fish Creek. It's also very convenient for the many eateries as well. We'd recommend this motel to anyone looking for a nice place to stay in Fish Creek and will more than likely spend many more nights there in the near future.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to By The Bay Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about By The Bay Motel

Address: 4123 Hwy. 42, Fish Creek, WI 54212
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Fish Creek
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 hotels in Fish Creek
Also Known As:
By The Bay Hotel Fish Creek
By The Bay Motel Fish Creek, WI - Door County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage By The Bay Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added By The Bay Motel to your Saves list