We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a nice surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Horse Cafe

Blue Horse Cafe
4113 Main Street, Fish Creek, WI 54212
(920) 868-1471
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 28 Restaurants in Fish Creek
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Wauwatosa
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“a nice surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

With Drink Coffee closed for the season in Sister Bay, we wanted to find another place for coffee and bakery. Heading north through downtown is inadvisable due to construction so we went south and found Blue Horse. Excellent coffee and baked goods. Plus they use Rishi tea for loose tea and for chai. Definitely our winter go to for coffee now. If you want big portions of cheap food, look elsewhere. If you want quality baked goods and top notch drinks, this is a great place to visit.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    25
    6
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Definitely not a Cafe, should be Blue Horse Coffee house”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

I'm sure that as a coffee place it is very good but there is nothing good about the food. Between 3 people we only ate 1/4 of it, maybe great for the yuppy crowd but certainly not for anymore than coffee in the front of someone's house. We should have just left after looking at the menu but was willing to give it a try after everyone's great reviews- big mistake!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, WI
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great spot for lunch!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We stopped for a quick lunch of soup and sandwiches. It was a little pricey but the food was great and hit the spot. We sat on the patio area with a wall of windows overlooking the lake. What a great view!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Richmond, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great coffee in a new location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

The Blue Horse moved locations on us last year but the new place is wonderful. Same great coffee and great baked goods!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewood, Kentucky
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Place for coffee or small meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Small and intimate and centrally located in downtown Fish Creek, the food was simple but good and coffee very good. And, service with a smile despite the very busy season. Grab a table in front by the large windows so you can get a view of the bay and the people walking by. I'll definitely go back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Horse Cafe also viewed

 
Fish Creek, Door County
Fish Creek, Door County
 

Been to Blue Horse Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Horse Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.