We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, could use some tweaks” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fish Creek Motel & Cottages

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Fish Creek
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fish Creek Motel & Cottages
Save
You added Fish Creek Motel & Cottages to your Saves list
9479 Spruce St, P.O. Box 125, Fish Creek, WI 54212   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Fish Creek
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nice place, could use some tweaks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We stayed in Fish Creek Suite 7, which is a one bedroom suite that had a separate living room area and small kitchen (micro, sink, fridge, dishes).

Great location - walking distance to downtown Fish Creek - good restaurants & shops. Next to the Fish Creek marina on a quiet street. Ample parking.

Overall, nice room. Kitchen had what we needed, shower was nice. Raised round sink in the bathroom was a pain - splashed water all over the counter every time we used it (faucet is too close to the top edge of the bowl - needs a different one to work well). Bed was too soft/squishy for our liking.

Could use a channel guide for the TV to know what the stations were.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    13
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

@Merry R...Maybe your review helped the staff "step up to the plate", as we thought Suite 7 was wonderful and clean. We love Fish Creek and it was nice being near the water. I can see the suite not being big enough for 4 people, but it was perfect for us. My husband and I enjoyed our stay there and the staff was great, as well.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marinette, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I stayed three days in suite 7, and while it looks luxurious, it's really just LOOKS! Very small space with big clumsy doors, no bedside table (where do I put my phone and glasses?), a bar height table and stools, no dressers or luggage racks and FILTHY floors. The bedding for the hide-a-bed didn't fit, and there was no place to hang a bath towel. The worst part, however, was that the garbage and dishes were MY responsibility. For $189 a night, I don't want to do the dishes and take out the garbage. There was a nice washer and dryer..and that's about it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Spent only two nights here in early August. The motel room was very clean and comfortable. Two entrances to the room. One from the parking lot and one at the "front". The front has a screen door and you walk out to a small patio which was great for people watching. Unfortunately our screen was torn but it was reported when we checked out and judging from the appearance of the rest of the grounds, it will be repaired immediately. While it wasn't directly on the water, the marina and some really beautiful boats were just around the corner. It was a comfortable walk to the main shops of Fish Creek and taverns/restaurants and also to Sunset Beach where we saw two great sunsets courtesy of Mother Nature. I would definitely plan to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We(2 adults and 2 kids) stayed in one of their suits, which was brand new, luxury designed, conveniently located, with friendly staff. But ... very uncomfortable to live. No table to eat for 4 of us, no place to put on or in our belonging. Everything was placed on the floor: clothes, bags, suitcases, books, laptops, plays and so on. Very messy. Even in bedroom there were just 2 small triangular shelfs (for glasses?). And no drawers. Small round table with 2 high chairs absolutely unusable, round sink in bathroom is too high for petit people.

Room Tip: It is good for two thin and high young people
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in a two queen bed room on the first floor at the fish creek motel. The room is newly renovated and kept clean. We had some issues with the refrigerator when we arrived and were moved promptly without complaint. The beds are very comfy and the space in the room was adequate for a family of four. The pool was clean and warm to swim in. The location was great, close to all the shopping in fish creek but down a quiet road. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Washington, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

What a great little place to stay. Clean, quiet and affordable. Walking distance to downtown, shopping, restaurants and attractions. We stayed in the motel and even though it wasn't fancy it was very comfortable. Would highly recommend this property for a great getaway.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fish Creek Motel & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fish Creek Motel & Cottages

Address: 9479 Spruce St, P.O. Box 125, Fish Creek, WI 54212
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Fish Creek
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Fish Creek
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Fish Creek Motel & Cottages WI - Door County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fish Creek Motel & Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.