We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over exceeded my expectations.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Segway the Door Tours

Segway the Door Tours
4189 Maple St., Fish Creek, WI 54212
+1 920-376-0256
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 12 Activities in Fish Creek
Type: Segway Tours, Sightseeing Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Segway Tours of Peninsula State Park, Lighthouses near Baileys Harbor, Sturgeon Bay, Ellison Bluff, and more. You will have a great time!
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Over exceeded my expectations.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We had no idea what we were getting ourselves into when we called and scheduled to spend a day on Washington island on a Segway. Josh, our tour guide, was friendly and fun. He took the time to teach us individually how to use the Segway before we were expected to jump on and go. Josh was extremely knowledgable and was able to answer our questions about the Island and surrounding area. I would recommend this tour to anyone. We had several people with us that had lower extremity injuries that would make walking or bike riding tedious. We were able to get a closer look at the areas of the Island that if we were driving ourselves we wouldn't know existed.

What a great day! A great tour and guide. Thank you for making our first trip to Door County memorable and very fun.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SegwayNick, Owner at Segway the Door Tours, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
We aim to Exceed Expectations. I'm glad you took the risk of booking a tour, especially the longer Washington Island Tour, without ever have gliding on a Segway PT before. I hope you will be able to visit Door County again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    4
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northbrook, IL
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Excellent Segway Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Four of us took the Segway tour of Peninsula State Park and had a great time. Nick was very accommodating when making reservations and our guide Leif was very knowledgeable, having grown up in the area (he even "introduced" us to his family).

The first half hour was for training to make sure everyone was comfortable using the Segway. Although two of us had used a Segway before, the others were able to master it within a few minutes. Our trip lasted about 2 1/2 hours.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SegwayNick, Owner at Segway the Door Tours, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Did Leif's relations speak back to you? ;)
I'm glad you had a good time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Home
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“So much fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Group of 4 senior gals visiting Door County for a few days. Decided to try Segways in Peninsula State Park. Two of us had ridden before, two were new to segway riding. We had a great time. Josh, our guide was very patient, made sure everyone was safe and comfortable with maneuvering. The 2 hours flew, the scenery was beautiful. Would definitely recommend. Thanks josh for a great time.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SegwayNick, Owner at Segway the Door Tours, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
I'm glad you had a good time! You chose the best all-around experience in the Peninsula State Park Tour. "The Park" has beauty in nature, amazing overlooks of the bay and island, and hills.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“A Fun day on Washington Island with two great guides.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

This was our second Segway tour. Our first was in IL. We opted for the longer Washington Island tour that was about 5-6 hours long. Our guides Leif and Barry were an awesome team. We were a couple and then were joined by 4 more couples that came together. The group of all of us was so fun. We had never met the other people on the tour, but they were wonderful and fun people and with our great tour guides it made for a fun filled day with good memories. Barry and Leif took care of everything and made sure everyone was doing okay and if anyone needed extra attention they were right there to help out. We are so glad we decided on this tour and what a nice time was had by all. We highly enjoyed this tour, the company, and the guides. We paid $168 per person. A sandwich and water bottle was included. If you get Barry and Leif you will have a great time.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SegwayNick, Owner at Segway the Door Tours, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
I'm glad you had a good time on the Island with us. It is fun to meet other interesting people on the tours. Being on the segway pt makes it easy to make conversation. I hope you come back and try one of our other tours on the mainland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Didn't want it to end - Segway tour of Cave Point and Dunes State Park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

A super fun and unique thing to do in Door County! Riding the Segway is the fun part - whatever scenery you see is a bonus. It started with a thorough training on safely using the Segway so everyone could be comfortable on it. It's easy and anyone can do it so don't be shy. And the guide is with you the whole time. It' s a bit pricey compared to Segway tours in our hometown but worth a splurge. We didn't want it to end! (Be aware there are 2 different Segway tour companies in Door County and each offers multiple different tours.)

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SegwayNick, Owner at Segway the Door Tours, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
"Didn't want it to end"- I agree! I still love gliding on the Segway 9 years later. I'm glad you had a good time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Segway the Door Tours also viewed

Sister Bay, Door County
Fish Creek, Door County
 

Been to Segway the Door Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Segway the Door Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.