We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tour on a Segway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Segway the Door Tours

Segway the Door Tours
4189 Maple St., Fish Creek, WI 54212
001-920-376-0256
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Segway Tours of Peninsula State Park, Lighthouses near Baileys Harbor, Sturgeon Bay, Ellison Bluff, and more. You will have a great time!
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Lockers / storage
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Tour on a Segway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We had such a good time on our first tour, we went back and did a second one the next day. The operators of the tour company take great care to make sure everyone is comfortable on the machine before we headed out. We had an excellent guide (Leif Erikson - not a joke - his real name!) and he has lived 6 decades in Door County so he really knows some AMAZING stories. We cruised Peninsula Park for nearly two hours including stops to view the scenic overlooks and see the sights. The next trip was from Ellison Bay to Sister Bay via the shore roads: beautiful. Don't miss this attraction.....

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SegwayNick, Owner at Segway the Door Tours, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
I'm so glad you were able to enjoy Door County with us. Thank you for the review and doing TWO tours with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    4
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Evanston, Illinois
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“Our 4th Segway Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We love taking Segway tours of Door County, and Segway the Door is the way to do it. Not only do you get the fun of riding a Segway, the guides also very knowledgeable about what you are seeing. There is a lot to learn about Door County!

The tours we have done are (in order - one each summer) Peninsula State Park, Washington Island, Bailey's Harbor Lighthouses, and Everything Sturgeon Bay.

They are all great tours. If you only have 90 minutes, our favorite so far is the Peninsula State Park Tour. If you have the time to spend, the Washington Island tour is a great way to see the island! And it's fun to whiz past all the cars on to the ferry as they're waiting to board.

Segways are easy to ride too, so don't think you can't do it. The key is to trust the Segway to do the balancing for you. With that, it is a breeze!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Did the Algoma tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

Did the tour in algoma when they were there in August. Fun and easy. Very safe. Owner was our guide. We will definitely travel north to do this in door county next year. We did this with our kids and they had a blast.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Segway the Door Washington Island Door County”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Four of us (ranging in age from 76-68) took the 5 hour Segway tour (for two of us our third time) in mid-September 2012 and weren't disappointed. Two of us were seasoned riders while the other two were neophytes. Paul's simple instruction with safety in mind was all the newbies needed and they were off and running in no time. Paul was a wonderful, knowledgeable, laid-back guide for us. His long-time residency in Door County combined with his science-teaching background made for an interesting and informative tour -- but not overbearing. He made it a lot of fun and adapted to times we wanted to hop off and poke things with a stick or take photos. The box shore lunch included in the tour provided enough sit-down time to munch and chat.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palos Heights, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

I was bit leary when I booked this, thinking that maybe this would not be all it was cracked up to be. Well, I wil admit, I was very wrong. It was ALOT of fun. We did the Peninsula State Park tour and glad we chose that one. First, out guide Linda was fantastic. She had us up and going in 5 minutes and kept looking after us during our ride. This is a great way to see the park and if you have never seen this park, it is beautiful. Once we were done, we weren't even out of the driveway and we were already saying we how we couldn't wait to do another Segway tour. Do yourself a favor and try this, you will not be disappointed

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Segway the Door Tours also viewed

 

Been to Segway the Door Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Segway the Door Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.