We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scrapbooking Weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cooksville Farmhouse Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Evansville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cooksville Farmhouse Inn
11203 North State Road 138, Evansville, WI 53536   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Evansville B&B and Inns
Chicago, IL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Scrapbooking Weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Seven of us were able to enjoy a weekend full of scrapbooking and socializing. We had plenty of room to set up our tables and supplies and still had space to relax and enjoy the fireplace and woodstove. The house and property are beautiful and the owners did a wonderful job making us feel welcomed! Even though it is an old house, there were plenty of electrical outlets, good lighting, and an open layout that worked well for our group. With all of our scrapbooking materials we were thankful that we didn't have to bring along bedding and towels. It was so wonderful to have all the conveniences of home! We're hoping to invite a few more gals and return again soon!!!

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cooksvillefarmhouse, Owner at Cooksville Farmhouse Inn, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
It was great to see these folks making good use of the house in a way we hadn't seen before. I never knew scrapbooking required so many supplies. The common areas of the house are big enough that they could really spread out. They moved furniture out of their way and made the space work for them. They also very kindly put everything back in place at the end of the weekend and did a fantastic job cleaning up. It was our pleasure to host them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    1
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
5
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Our extended family spent a great (but very hot!) weekend in June at the Cooksville Farmhouse Inn. We received a pre-trip email letting us know the air conditioning would be on for our arrival, and that was much appreciated. The setting is simply wonderful, with beautiful views across the prairie. We all enjoyed walking through the prairie and around the farm and around tiny Cooksville. The house has been very comfortably finished, and we cooked several large meals and had all the equipment we needed. There is a swing set and a seating area around a fire pit, where we had a campfire one evening, as well as patio seating to enjoy the view. Indoors, the game room has a dartboard, card table and shuffleboard table, which the twentysomethings in our family especially enjoyed. There is a television, but we never bothered to turn it on.

The Inn receives five stars from me for its wonderful, welcoming owners, its beautiful setting and rustic charm. It was also nice to be only twenty minutes from Madison while feeling many miles away. Please note, though, that the Inn is a farmhouse, so those expecting Ritz-Carlton bedding and amenities will be disappointed. This is a fantastic place for a large family gathering, and we hope to return before too long.

Room Tip: Be sure to take a walk through the prairie.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

My husband I spent a much needed relaxing weekend in April at the farmhouse. Even though it is so conveniently located close to both Madison and Chicago it really gives you a feeling of being far away from the daily grind.

The open and bright farmhouse, the scenery around and the hosts made the visit incredibly relaxing, leaving us wanting to stay much longer. The weather cooperated and allowed for some nice biking.
Martha and Bob have thought of everything from games, books, etc., so, coming with a larger group would be a lot of fun too. They are very hospitable and gave us delicious eggs freshly laid by their free range chickens.

Room Tip: This is really a vacation rental where one is charged by the number of people in the party and the n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

My Mom & 4 sisters spent a week at the Cooksville Farmhouse during the summer of 2011. It just reminded us so much of spending summer vacations at Grandma's farmhouse when we were kids. The early morning farm sounds, the walks through the farm meadows, the lay-out of the house and the farm provided many opportunities to relax and unwind and to reminiscence about earlier days. We enjoyed our daily walks about the quiet and quaint town. It was almost like staying at Grandma's...except we had all the modern conveniences of 2011...AC, dishwasher, cable, etc. We'd love to come back for another visit.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2011

My wife and I spent Valentine's Day weekend at the Inn and had an amazing time! We spent hours reading by the fireplace and woodburning stove, took a snowshoe walk (provided by the innkeepers) through the fields behind the farmhouse, and went to an artisanal cheese tasting in a nearby town and into Madison to visit the history museum. The Inn is not a bed and breakfast, so you'll have to make your own food, but coffee, tea, and hot chocolate are provided and you have the whole farmhouse, including the kitchen, all to yourself. We hope to go back in the spring to see the wildflowers in the fields and hopefully get a tour of the renovated barn from the owners!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lippstadt
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2010

The Cooksville Farmhouse is amazing - it conveys the feeling of a cozy, comfortable, and welcoming home. We started relaxing the minutes were arrived. I already stayed in several B&B, but rarely encountered such a friendly, welcoming atmosphere. Thanks again for having us & we would love to be back any time! Wolf-Uwe, Carsten, Antje, Brigitte, Margot, and Katherine

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waupaca, WIsconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2010

We knew from your prompt and detailed responses to our email inquiries that we would be well taken care of here. We were spoiled with your full weekend of graciousness and fantastic hospitality! A weekend at the farmhouse was the perfect recipe and the secret ingredient to fulfill our appetite for old fashioned relaxation. We toasted and celebrated the true blessing of womanhood, friendship, and laughter by the warmth of the fires (inside and out) you stoked while we were away shopping. Thank you! Thank you for showing us your home - the "barn" is amazing and inspirational! Cooksville is so fortunate to have you a part of their community and we feel lucky to have found you! We'll be back! Thank you and God Bless!
Heather and the Girls from "Girls Weekend " 2010
Heather, Allison, Carrie, Christine, Yengyee, Stephanie, Renee, Nancy, Danielle, and Heather

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cooksville Farmhouse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cooksville Farmhouse Inn

Address: 11203 North State Road 138, Evansville, WI 53536
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Evansville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Evansville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cooksville Farmhouse Inn is located 19 miles from Madison and 2 hours from Chicago. The farmhouse, originally built c. 1845, is on the National Register of Historic Places along with most of the village. It is set beside a lovely restored prairie crisscrossed by paths for snow shoeing in the winter and walks along the spring-fed stream in the summer. Enjoy the quiet, rustic, family friendly atmosphere of the farmhouse which has a soapstone woodstove and a massive free standing fireplace to keep guests cozy when the snow flies, a large deck and stone patio area for barbeques and outdoor meals in warm weather, as well as great views of the prairie and sunsets. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cooksville Farmhouse Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Cooksville Farmhouse Inn to your Saves list