We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing, Cozy Get-Away” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Village Green Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Village Green Lodge to your Saves list
Village Green Lodge
10013 Poplar Street, Ephraim, WI 54211   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Ephraim B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing, Cozy Get-Away”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2011

We enjoyed our visit more than ever at this lovely spot in Ephraim. After a few years away we returned to find that Sue and Steve still warmly welcomed us back as if we were old friends. It is so easy to relax here because they seem to have a formula that works year after year. They seem to understand that most people want to get away from their stressful lives and enjoy relaxing and peaceful serenity. We hope to return much sooner next time. In the past, we cosidered going somewhere else, but we're afraid we'd be
disappointed. Carol and Leon

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    21
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
97
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Mukwonago, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2011

My wife stayed at Village Green Lodge for our wedding anniversary in May of 2011. We were very impressed from the first moment that we arrived. We were greeted by Sue when we walked in and she was very welcoming and genuinely happy to have us and give us some great recommendations of places to visit in the area. We had both stayed in Door County several times before, but were a little unfamiliar with the places that she recommended, and we were very pleased with the results - by far the best experience we've had in the area in 10 years and we've always enjoyed our time here.

The service continued throughout our stay, Sue and Steve had breakfast delivered to our suite each morning, in addition to that service, the food itself was amazing! The lodging was great, rooms were extremely clean and well maintained.

Overall, a perfect experience. He had a great time during our stay and would absolutely recommend Village Green Lodge to anyone looking to stay in the Door County area.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texarkana, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2011

We actually arrived about a day early after a 16 hour drive from Texarkana, TX. No problem, here are the keys, will get the paperwork later. That was so good to hear we were so tired. The room was great, overlooking the pool, not opened yet, to early, and a view all the way down to Green Bay. Plenty of towels, the rooms were immaculate and the bed comfortable. The breakfast's prepared by Sue and Steve are exquisite. Plenty of food for two grown men with healthy appetites. The chocolate chip cookies in the evening with coffee almost melte in your mouth.

I was in town for the Easter service at my sister's church. She is the new pastor of the church and it was her first Easter service. So, if your there on a Sunday, and you want to go to church try the Ephraim Moravian Church. Sister gives wonderful sermons and I would say that even if she wasn't my sister. Just walk up the hill, make a right at the top and walk about two blocks, church entrance is toward the back.

Just to sumarize, you won't go wrong staying at the Village Green Lodge. Sue & Steve are absolutely wonderful hosts who if it is in their power will meet your every need. And the food, just wonderful.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, NC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

What sets this apart is the excellent hospitality from Sue and Steve (owners), including a warm welcome, excellent breakfasts, and scrumptious afternoon treats. I have stayed many places and I must say this is the best service I have ever received!! If you are looking for a bed and breakfast in Door County, and wish to have more privacy than traditional B&B's, put this on top of your list. The rooms are more like a hotel (very functional rooms), but the food and service received orient you to a B&B feel.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frankfort
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2010

We stayed at the Village Green Lodge in October and absolutely were thrilled with the accomodations and hospitality. You will enjoy all the comforts of a traditional bed and breakfast, but with the added privacy of having your own private room entrance. The hosts are terrific; the breakfast is yummy and the cookies are downright delicious. An added plus--the adults-only rule. It was nice and quiet, perfect for a weekend getaway. We would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago suburbs
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2010

My friends and I have a "girlfriends' getaway" every fall and this year we stayed at the Village Green Lodge. I can't say enough nice things about this place and especially the innkeepers, Steve and Sue Sherman. They were very attentive and helpful with information about the area. It is impossible not to feel welcomed when you see Sue's big smile. Our breakfasts were generous and delicious. We loved having them served buffet style and being able to come down when we wanted, including early for coffee and tea. It was nice to have healthy choices like old-fashioned oatmeal, but I have to admit I indulged in the sausage casserole, cheesy eggs, Finnish pancake and apple crisp, too. We enjoyed having the cookies and cider in the afternoon and warm drinks available in the evening. The food was so good, several of us bought Sue's cookbook. Our rooms were very clean, spacious, comfortable and cozily decorated. It was helpful having a small refrigerator in the rooms for our cheese, wine and doggie bags. We were within walking distance to shopping and a few places to eat. (The place right next door was great for lunch). This place has a very high level of repeat business, and it is easy to see why. By the way, Ephraim is a dry town but you can buy wine in other towns on the peninsula and bring it back to your room. I would not hesitate to stay here again and to recommend it to others.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2010

My husband and I visited Door County for our first time (we live in Madison), and stayed at the Village Green Lodge. What a wonderful place!!
The room, which was beautifully decorated, was light and airy, warm and cozy. We had a lovely view of the gardens and could even see the lake from our window.
The owners of this Bed and Breakfast, Steve and Sue, are friendly, accommodating, and caring people. They went out of their way to make us comfortable, doing whatever they could to make our stay enjoyable.
Breakfast is delicious! A fantastic spread! There were yummy omeletes, tasty pastries and breads- everything homemade!
We have already recommended The Village Green Lodge to many of our friends.
Thank you Sue and Steve!!!
Barbara and David

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Village Green Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Green Lodge

Address: 10013 Poplar Street, Ephraim, WI 54211
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Ephraim
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Ephraim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience gracious hospitality at its best. Charming bed & breakfast inn catering to adults looking for a peaceful, relaxing atmosphere. Casually elegant whirlpool/fireplace suites and rooms with two double or one king bed. Enjoy an exceptional homemade full breakfast and afternoon tea, served in the cozy fireplace lodge room. Secluded, wooded setting one half block from Eagle Harbor. Heated outdoor pool. Open April - Mid December. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Village Green Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Green Lodge Ephraim, Door County, WI

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Village Green Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.