We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place right off the main road.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of French Country Inn of Ephraim

French Country Inn of Ephraim
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ephraim
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
French Country Inn of Ephraim
Save
You added French Country Inn of Ephraim to your Saves list
Ephraim, WI 54211   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Ephraim B&B and Inns
Trevor, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful place right off the main road.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

The inn is a beautiful respite from the bustle of door county. A very short walk into down or drive into fish creek. Walt the innkeeper is the perfect host. The rooms are so charming and the common areas invite you to sit down and quietly read a book, play a game or do a puzzle. We stayed in the back room for 2 nights and it was perfect. Slept with the windows open, and we were never bothered by street noise.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shelbyville, Kentucky, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Take yourself back to your childhood when things were simple quiet and honest. Walt and Joan are the best hosts. Great breakfast. Healthy and made with local ingredients. I would reccomend that if you are in the area, stay with Walt and Joan and relax for a while. We stayed busy for days without going too far. Be sure to get a copy of the peninsula pulse from Walt and he will be able to make reccomendations that you will enjoy.

Room Tip: If you are a close couple ask for the small room it is very cosy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park Forest, IL
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

I've stayed with Walt and Joan many times over the years. The ambiance of the inn is second to none. It's quiet, near the water, and the healthy, homemade breakfasts are wonderful.

Walt can answer all questions about places to eat, sightsee, and shop. I think the prices are great. I have other favorite B&Bs in other states but they don't have Walt and Joan's welcoming, warm atmosphere.

Room Tip: Every room is comfortable and charming. Since I have gone with a friend or my daughter, I have alwa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

We stayed at the cabin. A little rustic but it was very clean. Fireplace was nice for the cool evenings. Less than a block from the shore. We loved this place and will be back! Thanks again Walt!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarks Summit, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011 via mobile

Walt was a gracious host. Breakfasts were wonderful, and Walt was very helpful with information on the area. We took our thee daughters and son-in-laws/boyfriend who are all in their 20's, we all felt at home. The Inn is steps from the water and a public pier where we watched fireworks on the 4th. This is a good vlue, I highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2010

My friend and I stayed at the French Country Inn of Ephraim for one night. We were looking for something quaint, quiet, and conviently located. I must say that it was the sweetest little Bed and Breakfast that we have ever been to! It was the PERFECT place to stay for our girlfriend getaway. I would love to bring my husband back for a quiet weekend away as well. Just as we thought, sharing a bathroom was not even an issue, and having the home-made breakfast in the morning at the large table was as cozy and sweet as the rest of our stay. Despite it being a humid 75 degree day/night, the house stayed quite comfortable. Everything was just fantastic!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, MI
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2008

A GREAT find in Door County! Felt like home..not a display! Walt is a wonderful host who makes the best homemade granola I have ever eaten. He even shares the recipe Joan lovingly cares for a spectacular flower garden.. The rooms are comfortable - sharing a bathroom was not an isssue. We were here for 2 nights last weekend and had a wonderful time!!!

  • Liked — comfortable - close to everything
  • Disliked — Might be an issue if very warm without air. It was in the 80's when we were there and very comfortable with ceiling fan
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to French Country Inn of Ephraim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about French Country Inn of Ephraim

Address: Ephraim, WI 54211
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Ephraim
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Ephraim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Ephraim Country Inn
French Country Inn Of Ephraim Door County, WI

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage French Country Inn of Ephraim, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.