We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time - will definitely be back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pine Grove Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Pine Grove Resort to your Saves list
Pine Grove Resort
10080 Water Street, P O Box 94, Ephraim, WI 54211   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Ephraim
Milawukee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great time - will definitely be back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

Spent a few days with our family at the Pine Grove Resort in Ephraim Wisconsin and have a great time! We were in one of the suites which is spacious and definitely worth the little extra cost. They have a nice indoor pool as well as a nice private beach for guests which offers a wonderful place to see the sunset. My husband were here in July 2011 also and will be returning for a fall getaway in October!

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    34
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
28
27
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sun Prairie WI
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011 via mobile

Nice place to stay in Door County! We can see the water, walk to Anderson's, walk to Wilson's, play at the beach, sit in the hot tub... What else do you need? It's clean. The room is big. This had been great!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

Just stayed at the Pine Grove for 3 nights with extended family. Room was large and comfy and appeared clean, though it smelled funny. The beach is small, but sandy, with a view of the sunset and lots of chairs. The gazebo, on the other hand, was so cobwebby and spidery that it was unusable.
Staff was not very helpful - when we arrived after 4 pm our rooms were not ready for move-in, and we got no apology or offers to store our luggage or use a bathroom or anything. One morning our toilet was clogged. Housekeeping came and went and either didn't notice (didn't clean the toilet?) or didn't think they needed to do anything about it. We went to the front desk, where they said, "just a minute - I'll get you a plunger - just bring it back when you're done with it". It's embarrassing, as a guest, to walk through a hotel brandishing a toilet plunger. Breakfast was offered. But it's just in the hallway - no place to sit and eat. I don't want to carry my breakfast back to my room to eat - only two chairs for 4 people in the room, among other problems. So we ended up going out for breakfast. There was no wifi available for most of our stay, only intermittently from right next to the front desk.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glen ellyn
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

The private beach was a draw for us. Our son would be happy just swimming and building in the sand. The bathrooms DEFINITELY need to be updated, but the staff states they are in the process. The staff was friendliest we have ever found. Kinder than when we stayed at Trump Towers in Chicago. No matter who they were or what they were in the middle of, always said hi and had a genuine smile. Breakfast was great and cookies and lemonade were always an afternoon hit after a long day of swimming.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

We stayed at the Pine Grove Motel for a long weekend in July. The weather was hot but the Pine Grove kept us cool and comfortable in the beautiful town of Ephraim Wisconsin. The hotel was beautifully designed with large, comfortable rooms that were nicely furnished. Many of the rooms have decks outside their sliding doors that provide a great view of Lake Michigan. It's location is among the best of Door County with the beautiful harbor just a few steps away across the street. The beach area is cozy in size but very well maintained. They have a nice picnic shelter with a gas grill on their private beach as well as comfortable chairs and lounges to watch the fantastic sunset. We found the rooms to be very clean and the staff to be extremely cordial and helpful. There are numerous fine restaurants nearby and the marina just down the way offers boating and sailing opportunities on the beautiful blue water. On cooler nights, their indoor pool and exercise center are perfect. We have stayed at several different lodgings in Door County over the years but none of them match the quality and value of the Pine Grove. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicagoland
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2010

We stayed in the family suite for a week and loved it - there were 8 of us total, including 4 young kids.

There are a few things that are a bit dated, the stove, the dishwasher - but we didn't use them anyway. The living room has the best sunset views in all of Door County, and the staff was more than helpful. There is a great little hut across the street with a gas grill and a picnic table to use and we cooked out there more than once. A short walk to Wilsons for some ice cream and then a dip in the hot tub and that makes a perfect day.

The pool and hot tub are are in great shape and kept clean. The water is kept at the perfect temp, we had to drag the kids out on a regular basis.

We have stayed at this resort more than once, and have reservations for next year, as this is a gem for a family vacation

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenfield, Wisconsin
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2010

Background:
In 2009, I stayed at Pine Grove with a friend. The front desk was very helpful and pleasant in making reservations. I noticed that there was a family suite with a great front view to the sunset and main HWY 42. This year, my family and I stayed at the family suite, which this is a review on.

House Keeping:
The house keeping was horrendous. When we arrived, no toilet paper was stocked, the fridge had smear marks on it and my Mom found a huge globbing semen stain on her comforter with a hair stuck in it. When she showed it to the young lady at front desk, they said, "Oh, we'll get you another one." Apparently this is occurs frequently??? During one day, house keeping did not even go in to clean my sister and brother-in-laws bedroom and bathroom.

Front-Desk:
The first stay with my friend had great service. This stay with my family was mixed. They seem to alternate between front-desk personnel frequently, which may account for the up-and-down quality of customer service.

Environment:
Overall, the view was great for the family suite. I really liked the layout (2 floors) and the open concept of the 1st floor. The pool was nice with another great view to the lake-front and sunset. The hot tub was positioned perfectly for this. The game room was nice, but only open until 10PM as it's in the pool room. I noticed that the bathroom had cracked caulking around the tub and the decor was non-existent.

How the Hotel can Improve:
- CLEAN the rooms thoroughly!
- Train front-desk personnel so that customer service is consistent.
- Spend some time upgrading the rooms: guest are looking for a get-away, not something less than what they have at home.

Overall: 3 stars

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
555559, Manager at Pine Grove Resort, responded to this review, May 16, 2011
We are in the process of updating all our rooms at Pine Grove Resort.

All rooms have new carpeting and this season we will be adding ,new bedding, curtains and updating the bathrooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pine Grove Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Grove Resort

Address: 10080 Water Street, P O Box 94, Ephraim, WI 54211
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Ephraim
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Ephraim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Pine Grove Resort. We are the only resort in Ephraim to have a piece of natural, untouched shoreline, along with a private sand beach that tapers gently into the water.Our rooms are spacious, comfortable and include many amenities free of charge. Our luxury suites include private whirlpool baths. From our heated indoor pool, whirlpool or new pool sundeck, you can gaze down to the sparkling water of Eagle Harbor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Pine Grove Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pine Grove Hotel Ephraim
Pine Grove Resort Ephraim, Door County, WI

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pine Grove Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.