We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wholesome & Sweet” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Northern Sky Theater

Northern Sky Theater
10351 Bella Vista Lane, Ephraim, WI 54211 (Formerly American Folklore Theatre)
+1 920-854-6117
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 11 things to do in Ephraim
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Musical Comedies to Delight Folks of All Ages. Northern Sky presents a trio of family friendly & affordable shows "under the stars" at our Peninsula State Park Amphitheater in Fish Creek June - August. The fall season moves indoors to the Door Community Auditorium September & October. "One of the most exceptional professional troupes in the country." Chicago Tribune.
Lake Geneva, Wisconsin
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Wholesome & Sweet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We loved the story, the talented actors, and the venue. Clean & well ventilated auditorium. Would definitely go back to see another performance!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    17
    5
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Excellent musical”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Warning, the theater moves indoors to the Door County Auditorium after Labor Day, which is not clear on their website. We almost drove into Peninsula State Park, but luckily asked our hotel for directions which is how we found out. Anyway the production was excellent, Victory Garden. The singers were wonderful and it is based on a true story. Would highly recommend as the best theater in Door County.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful every time! Talent galore!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Set deep in the fragrant woods of Penninsula Park, the drive in at sunset is a great start to the eve. If coming from North, top and climb the lookout tower on the way.
Easy parking and a short woodland stroll in-- buy tickets there! AFT offers themes of north woods, fishing, life on the Lake, which are transformed to original, clever musical comedy delights enjoyed by young & old.
Our family has enjoyed AFT plays for over 25 yrs. Live musicians, talented casts, the faint smell of campfires and laughter under the stars add to a magical evening. The Halloween Bone Dance is terrific.
Doug Manchewski (sp) is fabulous-- he is hysterical --often acting with body language alone! Musical numbers are both funny & touching. A Don't Miss experience!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“A wonderful original experience for the whole family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

I would really recommend this experience for everyone traveling to Door County. The outdoor atmosphere is is unique and beautiful. You take a short walk through the woods to get there. It's general admission, but I'd recommend paying the few $ extra to get the assigned seating. You can show up right before the show time, and you get the cushioned seats. I've seen a lot of theater, and the talent was solid. We saw Loose Lips Sink Ships, and it was very entertaining. I liked that it had a local storyline, and they acknowledge all veterans at the end. I talked with people that saw other shows, and the reviews were all positive. This is a very family friendly, unique opportunity for everyone- not to be missed.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barboursville, West Virginia, United States
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“What a Pleasant Surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Our Trolley guide highly recommened this venue and we were thrilled with the outcome. The play "Loose Lips Sink Ships" was an unexpected delightful last activity during our amazing stay in Door County, WI. The musical was well written, funny, educational, and extremely well acted. We were in an ampitheater surrounded by the beauty of the state park on very comfortable benches with a star filled sky above. Perfect surroundings and a great story of WWII. Wish we could have been there to see all the other plays that were offered this summer.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Northern Sky Theater also viewed

Fish Creek, Door County
Sturgeon Bay, Door County
 
Egg Harbor, Door County
Baileys Harbor, Door County
 

Been to Northern Sky Theater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Northern Sky Theater, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.