We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel & Pet Friendly Too!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Edgewater Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Edgewater Resort to your Saves list
Edgewater Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10040 Water Street, Highway 42, Ephraim, WI 54211   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
$40 off room rate
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Ephraim
Siesta Key, Florida
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Great Hotel & Pet Friendly Too!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

This was our first trip to Door County, and we selected Edgewater Resort from a short list of pet friendly hotels. If we return to Door County, we'll stay there again, even if we are traveling without our dog (a 3 pound Yorkie). We stayed in a one bedroom cabin that was roomy and spotless. It had a living room with gas fireplace, a large fully equipped kitchen, a large dining area, and a spacious bedroom. (Dogs are allowed only in the cabins, but we'd choose the one bedroom cabin again even if we were without our dog.) Free WiFi throughout the property is a nice plus as well. There's also a nicely equipped fitness center, although with all the hiking and biking we did we didn't get to use it. The staff was great and the service excellent. And, it's in a perfect location. I recommend this hotel highly.

Room Tip: The one bedroom cabin is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    69
    20
    7
    7
See reviews for
71
187
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

My wife and I spent three nights at the Edgewater this past week in the Premium Suite on the third floor of the resort.

I'll begin by saying that the location of the resort is phenomenal. The hotel is located in the heart of Ephraim within walking distance of a few shops, an art gallery, a handful of very good restaurants, and a great coffee house. The resort is water front with unobstructed views and only Water Street between it and the water. Ephraim itself is a very short drive from everywhere (Peninsula SP - 5 min, Fish Creek - 5 min, Egg Harbor - 10 min, Sister Bay - 10 min, Baileys Harbor - 15 min, Whitefish Dunes - 20 min, Ferry to Washington Island - 20 min).

The premium suite was phenomenal! It features a VERY large private balcony with fantastic Eagle Harbor views on the third floor along with a roomy living room and a gas fireplace. The kitchen opens to the living room and is very well appointed (The silverware and cooking utensils are fairly basic. If you have more than 4 guests or want to cook an especially intricate meal you may need additional items. There is enough for basic meals for a family of four though without a doubt.). The bedroom is very large and has a large jetted tub with great views over Eagle Harbor.

The Old Post Office Restaurant is attached to the resort and features great breakfasts and a nightly traditional fish boil (Except Sundays). Regardless of your affinity for the fish itself you can't beat having a traditional fish boil right on property.

I couldn't recommend this resort more. The entire resort is meticulously maintained down to an exceptionally well manicured garden area. The room was well renovated and designed in a very tasteful way that reflected Door County well. The blending of these well designed new touches with the historic flair of this 100+ year old resort was flawless. I can honestly say I have never stayed anywhere this relaxing and peaceful.

Room Tip: If you like a private balcony opt for the premium suit. The first and second floors have shared (alt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We just spent a week at the Edgewater, our third year in a row, and even though there were a couple of hiccups I still have to give it an excellent review. We again stayed in the waterview suite, room 101, and let me tell you, when you get up in the morning and open the blinds to that gorgeous view of the lake and the sky—well, as another reviewer said I can’t imagine staying anyway else in Door County. And sitting on the veranda, sipping a gin and tonic while watching the sunset and listening to the jingling of the bells on the horse drawn carriage—no words. Some things could perhaps use a bit of updating (although they did replace the water heater during our stay and the dishwasher broke on our last day so that may have been replaced as well) but for us the good points far outweigh any problems. All the fantastic light in the spacious living room/kitchen area is a definite plus as are those nice blond wood floors and simple but comfortable furniture. Although it was too warm this year to use the fireplace, it’s a great addition when the nights are chilly. Another plus was that this year we were staying early enough to use the pool which I loved. Great view of the lake from the pool and the water temperature was perfect. It was not crowded at all last week—in fact I was alone except for one day when there was a couple using the whirlpool. Only problem was there weren’t any towels in the sauna room as I was told, so I took one from the room. They’re plenty big for the pool.

Some reviewers seemed to think the kitchens weren’t stocked very well, but we bring just a few items with us and are able to prepare quite decent, if simple, meals. Steaks, salad, chops, baked potatoes, that kind of thing. I mean, it’s not going to be like your kitchen at home but it’s sufficient for vacation. I take a couple of good knives, a big spatula and wine opener, and a nonstick skillet and we’re good to go. The kitchen is stocked with dinnerware and cutlery for four, as well as glasses (including wine glasses) and mugs. They do provide coffee and tea but…well, we bring our own coffee and creamer. We’re kind of spoiled when it comes to coffee. The Piggly Wiggly in Sister Bay is small but has anything you need in the way of groceries, and the Top Shelf Café and Gourmet across the parking lot from the Pig is a fantastic little gourmet store with a great selection of wines, soft drinks, cheese, meat, olives, pate, etc, as well as fun grocery items. If there weren’t so many terrific restaurants in the area I wouldn’t mind cooking in the suite every day, it’s really pleasant.

I just didn’t experience any problems with traffic noise that other people mentioned. Maybe because we stay later in the year? I don’t know. I didn’t hear much traffic after 10pm, and wasn’t bothered by any in the morning either, although I am an early riser. The bed did feel way too hard for my taste, but I sleep on the sofa so it wasn’t an issue for me. Luckily I’m short enough to sleep on the sofa without pulling it out into a bed, just take off the back cushions and I’m fine. My sister didn’t have trouble sleeping on the bed but she did bring her own pillows this year.

One more thing which might be of concern for people with mobility problems—the room where we stay is pretty accessible. Plenty of space for a wheelchair in the living area and the bedroom, and the bathroom. There are two seats in the shower which is nice. The bed is really high but a step is provided.

Not much else to say—the Edgewater is in a great location, has great views, very comfortable suite, super nice staff. Not cheap, but it’s Door County folks. There are cheaper places to stay, but you don’t get that view and great central location.

Room Tip: I can't recommend room 101 highly enough. Lots of windows, more privacy when sitting on the vera...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waukesha wi
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

This was our 2nd time staying here and we come back again. Our balcony overlooked the pool but beyond that the views are so beautiful. Our room had a kitchen and living room. The bedroom is nice sized and has a really nice tub for 2 and a fireplace. The staff was great!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakdale, Minnesota, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Staying at this hotel for 4 days. Had car trouble with our foreign car and had to consider cancelling our stay and going home for repairs. Their new maintenance kept trying until he found a local repair shop that had the part we needed which was installed at no cost to us other than the part. Without this mans efforts our little vacation would have been a bust! Customer service at its best. They have just won our continued desire to stay at the Edgewater resort from now on. Oh, yes, great food , the best fish boil, view, ressonable rates. What more can you ask.

Room Tip: First floor is great as it has just as good a view and is easy to get to the nearby parking lot
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plover, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We are frequent visitors to Door County and always try to schedule a stay at the Edgewater Resort. The staff is so friendly and attentive to making your stay in Door County the best! The accommodations are exceptional. Because Ephraim is located between Sister Bay and Fish Creek, we find so many shops, restaurants, and golf courses within minutes of the Edgewater. Spending our evenings on our patio overlooking a spectacular view of Eagle Harbor after a walk to Wilson's Ice Cream Shop was the perfect ending to each perfect day.

Can't wait until we can return next year!

Jean J.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EWRGM, General Manager at Edgewater Resort, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Thank you for making the Edgewater Resort your vacation destination. I am glad to hear of your positive experience during your recent stay and we look forward to your return visit. We strive to have all experiences at the Edgewater Resort be positive and comments such as yours help us maintain the best possible service for all our guests.

I want to let you know that we offer special special rates during the fall and winter. Door County is a great destination in the off-season. Our property is one of the few that is open year-round for your relaxing getaway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at the Edgewater! We stayed in Room 111. It was very spacious and clean! We loved the location, proximity to the bay and short driving distances to Peninsula State Park (be sure to rent bikes!) and other Door County attractions. Breakfast at the Post Office (connected to the Edgewater) was delicious! We felt the staff was very accomodating, nice, helpful and knowledgeable.
We will be back! (BTW, sunsets on the pier....beautiful!)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Edgewater Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater Resort

Address: 10040 Water Street, Highway 42, Ephraim, WI 54211
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Ephraim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ephraim
#4 Family Hotel in Ephraim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Edgewater Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Door County, Wisconsin - Relax at one of Door County's most historic and sought out waterfront resorts. Located in the heart of Ephraim, Wisconsin overlooking scenic Eagle Harbor. A Sense of Simplicity. Visitors to the Edgewater Resort often comment that it's the most relaxing place they've ever stayed - full of today's comforts yet so reminiscent of the past. Whether guests gather on a covered veranda at sunset, unwind in a soothing hot tub, or stroll along the shoreline, they experience a sense of going back ... to a time that was much simpler and much more relaxed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Edgewater Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Hotel Ephraim
Edgewater Resort Ephraim, Door County, WI

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Edgewater Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.