We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Bargain Lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Czarnuszka Soup Bar

Czarnuszka Soup Bar
9928 Water Street, Ephraim, WI
(920) 634-9649
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 10 Restaurants in Ephraim
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“A Bargain Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

I learned about Czarnuszka Soup Bar in a Door County magazine that I picked up on a visit to DC late Oct 2011. On another visit to DC last week, I had the opportunity to try it. It is very small inside but since it was a perfect June day, we ate outside on a deck table. The restaurant had 4 soup offerings (which apparently change daily or often). For $5 (each) we had a large bowl of soup and a fresh roll. I had a cheddar bratwurst kraut soup that was very tasty, and my dining companion had a mushroom barley that was declared delicious. Czarnuska is tucked into a tiny building in Ephraim near Leroy's Coffee. It is casual and unfancy. If I lived in Door County, I would be a regular at this place, especially in cool weather.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    19
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ellison Bay, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Crazy little spot with delicious soups”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

This is a soup-only carryout place, although there are a couple of small tables inside. The selection of soups isn't deep, but we tried four during our stay in Ephraim, all were really excellent. Check out their Facebook page for daily postings of new selections, we're now a Czarnuszka "friend."

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Yummy homemade soups”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

We tried two of their soups: a vegan mushroom-barley and a vegetable chowder. Both were made from good, fresh ingredients, and were nicely seasoned if a bit on the salty side. The mushroom-barley had an earthy depth to its flavor, and the vegetable chowder a nice mix of veggies in a tangy broth. It was one of the few restaurants open in Ephraim in mid-May.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suamico, Wisconsin, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Cute & Quaint”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

We visited here after a walk through Newport State Park. Very cute idea and location. Four soups daily that come with a roll on the side. Small deck to eat outside weather permitting and a very small seating area inside. Owner was friendly, soups were good. Will visit again.....hoping to see some more traditional soups next time, but for those looking for different these are the ticket.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, Wisconsin
2 reviews
“Delicious soup!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

We took a quart of cabbage soup home and enjoyed it. The "dining room" is just a few tables. It was busy on a Sunday afternoon. Czarnuszka is somewhat hidden off Hwy. 42 in one of the old cottage resorts which now have cute little shops. The owner filled in as chef and waiter.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Czarnuszka Soup Bar also viewed

Sister Bay, Door County
 
Fish Creek, Door County
 

Been to Czarnuszka Soup Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Czarnuszka Soup Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.