We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good 'ol Waterbury Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waterbury Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Waterbury Inn to your Saves list
Waterbury Inn
2.5 of 5 Condominium   |   10321 Water St, State Hwy 42, Ephraim, WI 54211   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Grayslake, IL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Good 'ol Waterbury Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My husband and I decided to be bold and take our 21 month old triplets on a trip. We had originally booked lodging at some cottages in Sturgeon Bay as it was a bit cheaper and the cottages appealed to us. HUGE mistake! They were disgusting and extremely unsafe for our kids, though they had gotten excellent reviews on Tripadvisor. We forced ourselves to stay for 24 hours, then popped over to Waterbury Inn to see if they had any availability. Thank goodness they did. I had been coming to the Waterbury Inn since I was a child. According to my father, since 1987.

The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms were spacious enough and clean. The playground was well kept and safe. Pool area was clean. I really appreciated the coffee bar. The Waterbury Inn was exactly the same wonderful, warm, happy place that I remembered from my childhood and I definitely plan on returning with my family in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    14
    10
    6
    1
See reviews for
36
25
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Germantown
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Another outstanding stay at the Waterbury. This is a beautiful property, very reasonably priced, and it has every amenity that a family with three children could want. The staff is top notch, the facility is clean and exceptionally well maintained, and the location is very convenient to dining, beaches, bike trails, play grounds, and shopping. We always enjoy the indoor and outdoor pools, movie check outs, games, outdoor grilling facility, and the welcoming staff. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: We prefer any of the two bedroom unites when traveling with our 3 kids. When traveling as two adult...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, Wisconsin
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

My sister and I stayed at the Waterbury Inn on a short weekend getaway to Door County. What a fantastic find! The staff was very friendly and welcoming (we were even greeted by an adorable bulldog, Juliet) and the room was far better then we expected. It was clean, comfortable, and very affordable. There are movies in the lobby which you can check out and watch in your room, so we got a scary one and cracked open a bottle of wine! In the morning, there is a coffee and cappucino machine in the lobby as well as a coffee machine in the room. I was a little concerned about a review which mentioned mustiness in a ground floor room, but we had no problems with this. Overall, a nice stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterburyinn, General Manager at Waterbury Inn, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Waterbury for your lodging needs while you were in Door County. We are glad that you and your sister enjoyed your ladies weekend getaway. It is always nice to hear from our guests after they have stayed with us. We hope that you will come and stay with us again when you are in Door County.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.S.A.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

My family spent a final long weekend at the Waterbury Inn before our daughter heads off to college. We had a one bedroom with a pull out couch and a roll away bed. WIth all that going on the room became small and hard to navigate. That was the only negative. We were greated so warmly and that did not wear off.....ever!!! The people that work at this cozy estabilshment are some of the nicest people I have ever come in contact with....anywhere....not just on vacation. I don't get treated this nicely by people I have known for years.....and these folks only knew me for seconds. Just the best.

My wife and I both stated that the room, pool, greatroom/coffee area, game room and such would be a great place for a couple away on a vacation. There are families at this Inn but they did not diminish the ambiance at all. We had a wonderful time. We have been going to Door County, WI for over 48 years and had never stayed here. What a hidden gem. Everything abut the facility is cozy and comfortable. It is away from the bustle of downtown Ephraim...which was a surprise but was a welcome surprise. Everything was a short car drive or bike ride away. The Inn has a comically enjoyable pet in residence which would come out from a room behind the front desk when we would ring the bell when the staff was away. It was fun coaxing him/her out to greet us. Would definately stay here again as a couple. !!!!!!!

Room Tip: Chose a larger room if you have a family. First Floor Rooms are very convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

We were greeted warmly by Wally upon arrival this past weekend, and very happy with the stay, amenities and offerings! Our fam of 4 fit perfectly, with the kids on the pull out sofa. The fully stocked kitchenette was PERFECT for us. The decor inside the room was a bit dated but overall, met our needs for a long weekend in DC without breaking the bank! Will go back again, but likely look for the rooms with loft layout! Ps, juliette the bulldog is awesome!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigo, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We have been coming to Door County for my July birthday for many many years and this is our first stay at the Waterbury Inn. We will be staying here from now on. The rooms are large with a full kitchen. The staff is very friendly, including Juliet the 4 year old bulldog.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We've stayed here twice, once in winter and once in the summer, and were impressed both times. The staff is friendly and professional. Our kids love the indoor pool (outdoor was a bit chilly) with hot tub, and also the ping pong table. The atmosphere in the main lobby area is warm and inviting with hot coffee/chocolate, and in the summer a fruit infused chilled beverage. The resort provides puzzles and a few family games for your enjoyment and there are also a large number of DVD for you to borrow during your stay. We stayed in a 1 bedroom suite with a pull out sofa for our 2 kids, it wasn't large but plenty of space for our family of 4. Next time I think we'll check out the 2 bedroom loft unit. We've stayed in plenty of places throughout Door County this one does not disappoint.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waterbury Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterbury Inn

Address: 10321 Water St, State Hwy 42, Ephraim, WI 54211
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Ephraim
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Ephraim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Waterbury Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waterbury Inn is nestled in the woods of North Ephraim. Just minutes away from so many great attractions. All units have kitchenettes, living space, flat screen TV and dvd player. Extra amenities: outdoor/indoor pool, hot tub, gas grills, picnic area, childrens play area, ping pong room and arcade room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Waterbury Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterbury Hotel Ephraim
Waterbury Inn Ephraim, Door County, WI

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterbury Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.