We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect family getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waterbury Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Waterbury Inn to your Saves list
Waterbury Inn
2.5 of 5 Condominium   |   10321 Water St, State Hwy 42, Ephraim, WI 54211   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Holiday Savings
Aurora, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect family getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

We have spent the last two summers at the Waterbury Inn for our vacation in Door County, and plan to do so again this year. It is perfectly located in the middle of Door County, so it is only minutes to any neighboring town. We stay in the 2-bedroom suites on the top level. We enjoy the extra space -- we can put the kids to bed in the bedroom and then watch TV up in the loft or sit on the balcony. We have found the kitchen to be just fine for cooking 2 meals per day at the Inn so we don't have to spend as much at restaurants, and we bring along food to cook on the grill. There is even a dining table, so eating meals is comfortable too.

Our kids have adopted this place as their own, and love going down to the common room for hot chocolate and to watch cartoons or play checkers in the mornings. We enjoy the ping pong table, both pools, and the free movies from the office. The space is larger than you'd get in other hotels for a similar price, so it is a great value. We'll be going back!

Room Tip: We like the rooms on the second level. There is no elevator, but we use the rolling carts to move ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    14
    10
    6
    1
See reviews for
32
25
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Green Bay
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

Our family stayed at the Waterbury Inn over Mother's Day weekend and were very pleased w/ our visit. The staff was very friendly and accomodating. The hotel was very clean and well maintained. The kids enjoyed the indoor pool, game room, ping pong table and outdoor playset. The location was great and within walking distance or a short car ride to shops, restaurants and mini golf.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winneconne, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

I have been to the Waterbury Inn a couple of times over the winter. Within driving distance to most of the Peninsula. Rooms are exceptionally clean and comfortable, with a kitchen, cozy living area. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Indoor pool and whirlpool. With a lovely Great Room with fireplace to sit with coffee, or hot chocolate which is provided, it's a comfortable, cozy, inviting place to get away!! Can hardly wait to go again when the weather is nicer. Already planning the next trip.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

I prefer staying at the Waterbury Inn in Ephraim when I spend time in Door County. I like the fact that it is open all year long, and I try and get there at least once each season with family or friends. Although I enjoy Door County when everything is up and running, I also love it during the quiet times. This past winter I enjoyed sitting in the cozy Waterbury Inn lounge in front of the fireplace where I read a good book, drank hot chocolate that the Inn provided, and enjoyed the picturesque view when looking out the window. My friend enjoyed the indoor pool and hot tub. The Waterbury offers the best of two worlds: solitude and privacy when you want it or the company of others at near-by restaurants, galleries, and shops. The Waterbury Inn staff is amazing. The suites/condo units are clean and fresh smelling (new carpet and paint in the unit that I stayed in). I am looking forward to staying at the Waterbury Inn again in May for a first-cousins' reunion. We have already made our reservations!

Room Tip: I talked to the manager and told her my preferences and she helped me select a good unit that I like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wausaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

My husband and I recently enjoyed a weekend get-a-way at the Waterbury Inn in Door County. Located in the middle of the Door Peninsula, the Inn provides easy access to all that Door County has to offer. Our garden condo at the Waterbury included a well-equipped kitchen, comfortable living room with flat scene TV, bedroom with queen bed and a nice bath. All rooms were clean and tastefully decorated. There's a patio off the back facing a peaceful wooded area. The price is quite reasonable for such a pleasant experience. We would certainly stay at the Waterbury again and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mundelein, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

We spent a weekend in March and found the accomodations very comfortable with a beautiful Great Room and fireplace. The staff is extremely friendly and the overall cleanliness was excellent. We will return.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

If you're traveling with a multi-generational crowd or simply a group that likes to go off in different directions during the day this is a great spot to call your headquarters. With both an outdoor and indoor pool, great location on 42 just south of Sister Bay and varied size condo accomodations this has been a favorite of our family for many years in both summer and fall.
Full kitchen and grills out by the outdoor pool, a garage to store your bikes, whirlpool and nice lobby to hang out in and play Scrabble into the night....who could ask for more.

There are 2 different kinds of units, we preferred the ones with the enclosed bedrooms for a little extra $. We also preferred to stay out of the lower level to take advantage of the nice outdoor balconies overlooking the woods in nice weather. Helpful and responsive staff.

Room Tip: avoid the lower level, to do so book early. But if those are the only rooms left, it shouldn't b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waterbury Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterbury Inn

Address: 10321 Water St, State Hwy 42, Ephraim, WI 54211
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Ephraim
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Ephraim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Waterbury Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waterbury Inn is nestled in the woods of North Ephraim. Just minutes away from so many great attractions. All units have kitchenettes, living space, flat screen TV and dvd player. Extra amenities: outdoor/indoor pool, hot tub, gas grills, picnic area, childrens play area, ping pong room and arcade room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Waterbury Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterbury Hotel Ephraim
Waterbury Inn Ephraim, Door County, WI

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterbury Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.