We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware of garden rooms” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Waterbury Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Waterbury Inn to your Saves list
Waterbury Inn
2.5 of 5 Condominium   |   10321 Water St, State Hwy 42, Ephraim, WI 54211   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Berkeley, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Beware of garden rooms”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

The garden rooms are actually basement rooms and have a funky odor despite the various air purifiers the management has left around. Otherwise I would liken the experience to staying in your parents basement-it's relatively clean, but worn and outdated and probably wasn't that well built to start with.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    14
    10
    6
    1
See reviews for
36
25
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vail, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

We arrived only to find a sign at the front desk stating that they would be right back. After waiting over 5 minutes, we were able to check in. Lobby area smelled of pool and chlorine.
Our room had a terrible musty and moldy odor...very unpleasant! Woke up Sunday morning to find the hallway from our room to the lobby dark and coffee not served until after 8 am in the common room. Don't stay here if you want a romantic getaway -- lots of kids!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

We stayed in a Flagship single bedroom suite. It was really the size of a hotel room with a queen sized bed and some kitchen items squeezed in. It could supposedly sleep 4, but it was cozy for just 2 of us. There wasn't room to do more than make coffee in the kitchenette. There was a patio door - but no patio or balcony. We couldn't keep the door open to let in the breeze because of the noise of neighboring air conditioners. Our air conditioner was so loud that it was difficult to sleep. The light fixture in the bathroom looked like it would soon fall down. The towels had seen better days. It was probably a nice place when built, but it needs an update. It was less expensive than the condo units in Door County and it did have the kitchenette, so if that is what you are looking for it could be OK. But having stayed in some condos in Door County in the past, this was a disappointment, though it was available on short notice. The staff was friendly.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2011

Friendly helpful staff
Family orientated
clean
Cook in your room or on outside grills
Two pools and exercise roo

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2010

The Waterbury Inn was not very impressive. The rooms are advertised as condos, but really are just out-of-date apartments. Our room was on the garden level (aka basement) and the hallway smelled horrible (like urine). Also in order to get to our room, we had to go in the main entrance, past the desk, drag our luggage across the first floor, carry it down a flight of stairs and then down another hallway. They do not have elevators. The room decorations appeared to be from a craft fair that was held in the eighties and the bed was small and uncomfortable. The mattress was not very firm and every time my husband moved it woke me up and vice versa. We did not sleep much at all for the two nights we were there. I also felt it was overpriced for what they had to offer. Also the "free" Internet connection was slow and had a low signal.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2010

I had the pleasure of spending two nights at the Waterbury Inn in a 1 bedroom with loft condo.

On the plus side:
--the rate was reasonable
--the room accomodated our travel situation very well. I was traveling with 2 other ladies and I was able to get a condo with 3 beds. It would also be ideal for families with kids who can sleep in a loft with twin beds. There was only one bath, so loft sleepers have to go downstairs to use the facilities.
--The condo had a small balcony.
--It was well equipped with the basics...microwave, dishwasher, stove, frig, large table/chairs, sitting area
--The lobby area had complimentary coffees, a large screen TV and a public computer
--Ephraim is in the heart of Door county, so it is a good location.
--Friendly staff
--Free internet and parking

On the downside:
--There are no water views....but water views come with a higher rate
--The carpet was a bit soiled
--No elevator
--Relatively short hours for the fitness center and pool. The early risers may miss having access to the facilities.
--The condos are on the small side.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford,Ohio
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

We stayed in one-bedroom, ground floor suite for 3 nights. Our room was musty and had an odor. There was a dehumidifier up against a wall that we emptied twice a day so there is a lot of moisture in the room. Plus had a window AC running continuously. I suspect there was flooding there earlier in the summer. Housekeeping doesn't show up until after 3P, by then we were back for the afternoon cooking dinner before going swimming. Awkward time to show up. Indoor and outdoor pools nice, grounds nice. Location was about a mile or so from downtown Ephraim on a busy road with quite a hill between the Inn and Ephraim. Makes bicycling to and fro difficult. I would look elsewhere if all they have is ground floor units available. Second and third floors were probably better.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Waterbury Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterbury Inn

Address: 10321 Water St, State Hwy 42, Ephraim, WI 54211
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Ephraim
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Ephraim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Waterbury Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waterbury Inn is nestled in the woods of North Ephraim. Just minutes away from so many great attractions. All units have kitchenettes, living space, flat screen TV and dvd player. Extra amenities: outdoor/indoor pool, hot tub, gas grills, picnic area, childrens play area, ping pong room and arcade room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Waterbury Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterbury Hotel Ephraim
Waterbury Inn Ephraim, Door County, WI

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterbury Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.