We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'll sail again!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bella Sailing Cruises

Bella Sailing Cruises
9993 Water St, South Shore Pier, Ephraim, WI 54211
(920) 854-2628
Website
Improve this listing
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“We'll sail again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

What a wonderful way to spend a summer morning. We had a beautiful sail in Green Bay on July 3rd. I highly recommend taking a sail with Capt. Tom and Lucky. My teenage children really enjoyed their time on the sailboat, and it made for some great family time. It was our second year on his boat, and when we return to Door County this will definitely be on our to-do list once again.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    4
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oshkosh, Wisconsin, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“100% Wonderful experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We vacation in Door County every year, and every year we go sailing. To be honest, for many years we sailed with Stiletto Catamarans, exclusively. But as our family grew, our group became too large for them to accommodate and they sub-contracted with Bella Cruises, and Captain Tom, and his first mate "Lucky" (a very small white dog) to take the over-flow of our group on a sun-set sail. He worked with Stiletto so that all three boats criss-crossed in the bay of Green Bay, and we would wave and smile to each other, take photos of the others on their boats. Captain Tom is a middle-aged, ultra-experienced, very intelligent, well-spoken man with a superb sense of humor. We were so impressed that we have subsequently sailed only with him. Of course, we still need both the Catamaran sail boats of the Stiletto Cruises, AND Captain Tom's Bella Cruises to accommodate our group... but there is never any question who will sail with Tom! In fact, not only is he a wealth of information concerning absolutely everything about the geology, history, and culture of Door County... his recommendations of places to visit, things to do, to see, and especially places to dine... are a wonderful treasure-trove for anyone visiting the area. Through him, so many small places only the locals know about... have become our favorite places to go! His little dog, Lucky, is an especially nice addition to the experience. The Bella, with it's beautiful red sails, is, without a doubt, the most beautiful sail boat in the Bay of Green Bay on almost any given day. (This observation does not apply when the Tall Ships come into port... which, this year, happens between August 16th-18th, 2013.)

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Bella Sailing Cruise. Ephraim Wi.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

The one thing you must do while visiting Door County, Wi. Take a sailing cruise with Capt. Tom and 1st mate lucky the little Maltease. Bella Cruises out of Ephraim, Wi.
We spent the afternoon sailing Geen Bay with Capt. Tom. The sailing was wonderful and Capt. Tom was one of the most friendly and knowledgeable persons we have ever sailed with. I would definitely recommend for a afternoon or sunset sail. You will not be disappointed.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downers Grove, Illinois
Top Contributor
228 reviews 228 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
221 helpful votes 221 helpful votes
“Had a great time!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Saw advertisements for the larger competition but decided we would like a more intimate sail.
With only six passengers, Captain Tom and his first mate, (a cute little pom/maltese mix) aboard we decided this would be the right cruise for us. Captain Tom got us off to a great start with introductions and some instruction and then we were off. He is very knowledgeable about the islands, history of DC and the locals. We had a great time and really enjoyed the sunset cruise.
The views were beautiful and the sunset that night a little covered by clouds but still well worth the trip. We would highly recommend.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jourdanton
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“A Beautiful Day on Green Bay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Had a great sail with Captain Tom and of course his first mate, "Lucky". Beautiful views. We were the only customers when we went on a Friday morning. Wind was fair, but the motor got us where we could see the coastline! This is a great area, Ephraim. Lots of activities and restaurants. Don't forget to stop at Wilson's for an old fashioned ice cream soda!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bella Sailing Cruises also viewed

 

Been to Bella Sailing Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bella Sailing Cruises, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.