We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chef's Hat Cafe

Chef's Hat Cafe
3063 Church Street, Ephraim, WI 54211
920-854-2034
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 10 Restaurants in Ephraim
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Dessert
Lake Geneva, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Pouring rain...so we headed for a spot with easy parking. This is a small place with very healthy, homemade delicious food. I had the asparagus queasadilla and it was great. Front of area is a coffee shop and bakery. Highly recommend! !

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    70
    19
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Naperville, Illinois
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Had Breakfast here twice in three days”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

The food was great, service very good and the fresh baked scones were delicious. Enough said. They have a nice outdoor seating area and the inside service area is conversation friendly. Great staff and quick service.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Independence, Iowa
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“view of the lake with delicious food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

My sisters and I ate here as a part of a girl's family weekend. We couldn't have been more pleased with the atmosphere, food, and service. The lunch special of 1/2 sandwich, kettle chips, soup, and fresh slice of pie was a door county specialty. The food was delicious, with many options to choose from. They even had diet Dr Pepper! Would definitely go back!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delafield, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Absolutely Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

I would have to say that this was one of the best restaurants we have gone to in Door Co. (We went twice in one trip!) I would highly, highly recommend this little cafe because the food is excellent, the prices are fair, and the atmosphere is great. The lunch special is amazing ($9 for sandwich & soup plus homemade pies). Everything is homemade and the service is great. Overall a most visit if you're in the area.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Top Contributor
201 reviews 201 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
“Best breakfast in Ephraim”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

A really nice, diverse breakfast menu, not just "eggs, meat, and toast." Service was fast, friendly, and very helpful with accommodating dietary restrictions. Food was wonderful, and the view from the outdoor seating was great.

The southwest omelette was huge, the house-made granola with yogurt and fresh fruit was amazingly good. And the coffee was great!

We really wanted to go back for dinner, but just ran out of time on this trip. Next time, for sure!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chef's Hat Cafe also viewed

 
Ephraim, Door County
Fish Creek, Door County
 

Been to Chef's Hat Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chef's Hat Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.