We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite what it used to be” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Lapas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Villa Lapas to your Saves list
Hotel Villa Lapas
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Costanera Highway, Camaronal, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Camaronal
Maribel, Wi, Usa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Not quite what it used to be”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed here for the second time in three years, and noted a dropoff in quality from our previous visit. We still liked the location along the river, and were able to see quality birds and other wildlife right outside our rooms. The food is still good, but does not seem to be as good as it was three years ago, and everything else seems a bit worn. I'm not sure why, but staff morale seems low. When I asked how to give tips for restaurant staff, a tip jar appeared on the bar. Most places have a tip box for all the staff to share, but the fact that I had to ask in order to have this option was puzzling.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    50
    36
    14
    6
See reviews for
25
56
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Small basic rooms, poor food and very little to do - the "sky way" walk offered by the hotel is pricey, requires a 2 mile drive up a steep road and is just a short unmemorable hike with a guide. Unless you are going very early in the morning, all you will see is lots of plants and ants -hardly worth the pricey $30 a head they charge to do it. The pool looked less than clean. That said, there are good activities nearby, including the Jungle Crocodile Tour (don't miss it - really well done) and Vista Los Suenos ziplining. Jaco has some good restaurants - try El Hicaco for excellent seafood and outstanding service. It's a good half hour by taxi to Jaco if you want to get a decent meal.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton, Colorado
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We had planned to stay in Jaco 2 nights... glad we didn't. This hotel was ok. Beds weren't that comfortable. Breakfast was just ok. Beaches were dirty in Jaco. We did have a good dinner in town thought. We moved down to Manuel Antonio for more nights. We got a bad rain storm while we were here so the next day when we hiked in Carara National Park the bugs and humidity were so bad we could hardly stand it. I heard macaws but never saw any which was sad but the bugs literally drove me out of the park. The were horrendous.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conwy, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

good location for birding the section of coast and Carara NP but best if you have your own transport. The hotel wasn't really clean, the "all inclusive" angle is only because its a bit of a trek to elsewhere, the food was really poor. The staff were pleasant enough but the place seemed understaffed and dated. A bit Faulty Towers like! Not sure how people are being positive about it - maybe we timed our stay badly but I'd keep your stay to a minimun or look elsewhere, maybe on the coast and allow time to travel a bit more. We stayed at a range of places in Costa and this was by far the worst.

Room Tip: get an upgrade, the cottage style rooms higher up along the drive were best.
See more room tips
Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

This is a new stunning property in the forest on a hillside with fantastic views of the forest below and ocean. Awesome sunsets with the Nicoya peninsula in the distance. I'm not a birder, but did recognize the toucans. Very intimate (five rooms I believe) with several decks for enjoying the views. Rooms were gorgeous with large windows facing the ocean. Chef was outstanding; next time we'll make it a point to have more meals here. With having all doors open all the time (for the breeze, smells and forest sounds) and being in a rain-forest, we did have some insects in the room. Aside from this, an outstanding experience.

Room Tip: views from top floor were outstanding
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Top Contributor
201 reviews 201 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

I stayed two nights here as part of a birdwatching tour group. This is an older property, but well kept and very comfortable, a great place to use as a home base for exploration along the central portion of the Pacific Coast. The property borders a pretty stream which was low, but still flowing, during our visit (it was dry season). There are trails emanating from the main hotel area into the forest that would be of great interest to bird watchers. The rooms are set side-by-side in several long buildings, all on the first floor level. My room was very comfortable, with air conditioning and a semi-firm bed (which was just right for me). The open air restaurant was very nice, and there was a bar. There is a swimming pool near the reception/bar/restaurant area. Meals, as in many lodging places in Costa Rica, are buffet style. Cooks were available at breakfast to custom-cook omelets, to go along with the other offerings. At the noon and evening meals, one had at least two entrees to choose from, along with side dishes (don't forget the gallo pinto -- the rice and beans). All the food was tasty. Overall, a really pleasant stay. The hotel is close to Carara National Park and not far from the not-to-be-missed crocodile bridge over Rio Tarcoles.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder Creek CA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

Positive first. We were there for birding and this property and proximity to Carara was perfect. Scarlet Macaws flying over and perching in the tree tops, Tiger Herons in the tree right in the parking lot, huge iguanas all over the place. Walking the trails by the river produced a lot of different birds and a river otter! Heard Spectacled Owls at night. Pool was refreshing. Staff was very friendly, and the food was good even if the variety wasn't quite there. The downside was the rooms. The air conditioner dripped condensation on the floor. The shower was pretty much inoperable so we were forced to use the ice bucket to rinse off. Found out later another in our group had the same problem with their shower. I'd stay here again but I'd "shop" for a room with a working shower.

Room Tip: Make sure the air conditioner and the shower are in reasonably good working order.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa Lapas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Lapas

Address: Costanera Highway, Camaronal, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Camaronal
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Camaronal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Villa Lapas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Villa Lapas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lapas Hotel Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Lapas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.