We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upscale in cheese curd country” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shady Grove

Shady Grove
N6240 State Road 65, Ellsworth, WI 54011-4901
715-273-3787
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 17 Restaurants in Ellsworth
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Red Wing, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Upscale in cheese curd country”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

This is one of my favorite special occasion restaurants. White linens and great food with outstanding service. It isn't cheap because it isn't supposed to be.

The atmosphere is tight and unpretentious. Kind of a northern Wisconsin feng sui. It is a husband/wife owners and they clearly care about their customer.

I am a vegetarian, which is a real challenge in this part of the country. But it is my burden to bear and I never judge a restaurant by their lack of veggie options. Shady Grove always has at least one veggie option and the last time they had three (yes!).

Always make reservations because it is small and it is busy.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    12
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baldwin, Wisconsin
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Cozy supper club”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

LOVED all the chef specials! Service and food soar above what is offered locally. You can tell these people love what they do.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“We were told this place was excellent...But that is not our opinion!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Six of us walked in on a Saturday night during dinner time. The parking lot was packed but the hostess told us we would have to wait just a few minutes for a table...surprise...surprise. We see the staff cleaning up a table for six and meanwhile a group of six people walk in and have a converstion with the hostess...they got the table. So we wait for the only other table that would accomodate six and that goes to a party of five waiting at the bar...hmmm. We eventually get a table sized for four with six chairs pushed in around it.

Eventually a server comes and takes the order...several of the preferred items on the menu are sold out! Okay so we finally get an order in. When our food is finally served, two of the salads that were to be served prior to the entree are served with the entree. Oh well.

Then the server never comes back to check on us. After getting another server to send our server out, our beverages get refilled.

The bill comes. Several drinks from the bar are on the tab...what is this we ask as we were never at the bar. The server disappears and returns with a corrected bill.

The food was okay but nothing to write home about. We would not go out of our way to eat here again but would try it again if we were driving by at meal time.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Wing, Minnesota
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

We had an excellent meal last night at the Shady Grove. We were able to sit down within 5 minutes despite the limited seating on a Saturday night. The staff were all very friendly. The Bison special was excellent and prepared just right to my "medium" request. The deep fried walleye was also excellent. My Dad had the pork tenderloin and loved it. My son had the rib-eye steak and really enjoyed that as well.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Visit This Restaurant No Matter What”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

We were staying in Red Wing, 11 miles away, when we happened to visit with someone who had moved from Chicago and pronounced this place outstanding. He was correct. It looks like an ordinary bar from the outside and it once was. The decor is still a little Wisconsin fisherman but the food is superb. We had morels and asparagus to start. At $13 for an appetizer it inspired trepidation. I have to say it was excellent as was the ramp soup that followed. (Both the morels and the ramps are in season and locally sourced) As a bonus we did not experience the dreaded 'ramp breath'. We had duck follow and again we were highly satisfied. My sweetie had an excellent wine and I ordered their Negroni (house specialty) and it was terrific. (At a Twin Cities restaurant I had one and it was too sweet) To top it off sweetie had a lemon custard. I do not like them but my one taste told me it was infused with the right degree of bitterness. When you go talk to Heather, she is the owner (with her husband) and she has a great story. She will remember your name and tuck in your child's napkin. Her husband does the cooking and she does the desserts. When it is warmer get appetizers and drinks on the patio You eat dinner inside. Service was generally good although our server didnt know some things we thought she should. Reserve or you will be out of luck. Open only for dinner

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shady Grove also viewed

 
Ellsworth, WI
Ellsworth, WI
 

Been to Shady Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shady Grove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.