We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine Dining in Ellison Bay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wickman House

Wickman House
11976 Mink River Rd, Ellison Bay, WI
9208543305
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $6 - $29
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Wickman House is a new restaurant, in its second season, located in a historic lodge in Ellison Bay, Door County. Offering sandwiches from grass-fed hamburgers to lobster clubs and entrees from fresh fish to pork chops all paired with local produce, the Wickman House has an option for every appetite. With a focus on farm-to-table dishes and a select list of wines and microbrews, Wickman House offers the Door County restaurant-goer a NEW standard in casual dining.
Sikeston, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fine Dining in Ellison Bay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Wow! We hit the jackpot when we found out about Wickman House in Ellison Bay, WI. After seeing an ad and hearing all the rave reviews from the locals for a 'new' restaurant in Ellison Bay, we just had to try it out. We were not disappointed. What a quaint venue and wonderful ambience for a place to dine. The staff was amazing. Very attentive and pleasant! The food was excellent! My husband had the fresh salmon and it was fantastic. I had a steak and it was perfection. The farm to table freshness was evident and so wonderful. The cocktail and wine menu was excellent.
What a wonderful addition to Door County! We will definitely be back!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    21
    6
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“This place makes me so happy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Outstanding, fresh food. Exceptional service. Great ambiance. On par with the trendiest places in Chicago without the Chicago pricetag. Nothing else like it in Door County. A little off the eaten path but worth it. Just go. You will thank me.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sister Bay, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best Friday fish fry in Door County”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Everything on the menu is fresh and delicious but the Friday night fish fry keeps us coming back. If you can't get a reservation eat at the bar. Service is friendly. Best cocktails in the county. Fresh oysters flown in daily. Farm to table food, some from the garden in back. Portions are not large except for the burgers. One of our favorite places to eat.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Amazing food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

This is a MUST DO in Door County. When the bartenders, Anthony and Mike greet people by name as they walk the door you know the locals love the food! This was the best meal I've every had in my life. Yes, really! The innkeepers at The Foxglove Inn recommended eating here when they knew we were going north for the day. The bartenders were amazing and both Anthony and Mike waited on us and chatted while making drinks. The rapport they had with each other was excellent and so fun to watch they have a great time with each other passing the bottle behind their backs to one another. We felt very special eating dinner at the bar. (We didn't have a reservation and it was an hour wait so we had the best time at the bar) Met other couples who were regulars!
I could have licked my plate clean it was so good. The bartenders say they do after hours when they eat! haha

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“Excellent entrees, work a bit on the details”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Our dinners were delicious - excellent food, creatively prepared. Our waiter and the support staff were professional, pleasant and attentive. Complements to the chef! A few things that would improve the overall experience: it was very difficult to get a reservation. No one answers the phone, and we had to leave messages 3 times over 2 days before finally getting a call back. The tables are just a little too wide, and the main dining room is VERY noisy, so you really have to lean over the too-big expanse to hear your dinner companion. The wait staff rush to and from with the floor going thump thump all the time. Consider some ways to baffle noise. Finally, the rolls didn't live up to the rest of the food - tasted like supermarket bread.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wickman House also viewed

Sister Bay, Door County
Sister Bay, Door County
 
Fish Creek, Door County
Ellison Bay, Door County
 

Been to Wickman House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wickman House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.