We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fun place to stay.. enjoyed it here” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rowleys Bay Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ellison Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rowleys Bay Resort
Save
You added Rowleys Bay Resort to your Saves list
1041 County Road ZZ, Ellison Bay, WI 54210   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ellison Bay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
San Jose, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“fun place to stay.. enjoyed it here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

the stay was overall good and pretty relaxing here..the rooms were clean and cozy.. the receptionists were good especially Debbie who was very helpful and made sure that we were comfortable.. a good place to have some time off with your family

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    28
    9
    8
    7
See reviews for
33
23
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Platteville
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We have stayed alot of other places in Door county but this was by far the best. It is a little out of date but it is quiet not over crowded and right on a marina. We did the fish boil, the best I have had in Door county. The story teller was excellent and it was such a laid back experience. Everyone in the family looks forward to our trip here every year!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Maryland
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

This property deserves at least 10 stars for it's outstanding friendliness, attentive service, excellent food and view. This is a family-owned and run resort that includes a bakery with cinnamon rolls "made the old-fashioned" way and a meal buffet (you can order off the menu but why?) that changes daily and provides carefully prepared foods. Give yourself a lecture on taking only what you NEED to eat before you pick up your plate and start through that very tempting buffet line.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We went to Rowley's restaurant and pub located in Rowleys resort at Rowleys Bay Door Cty. WI. We were on a fall tour with our MG car club, 23 people. The nfood was abuffet. It was set up for lunch with different types of sliced meat for sandwiches. Salad bar, and 2 different soups. Also iced tea or coffee. and desert. It was very good and just right for a noon luncheon and driving after.
They told us to park on their lawn so it would look like a car show. They opened up the pub, just for us at noon. It usurally don't open iuntil 4:00. We thought they went out of their way for us. They even came out to greet us as we pulled in. Some one left the small paper know, because they came out to take pictures of our cars.

Room Tip: We didn't stay at the reort it self so I can not comment on it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrenville, IL
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I had to laugh when I saw someone's else's post about this place reminding them of the "Dirty Dancing" resort. That really is true. However, the place is clean, staff friendly, and the location is good. This was the most reasonably priced hotel we could find up in Door County. Our friends camped just down the street at the Wagon Wheel Campground, so this place was really convenient for us. However, the cell phone service was terrible! My friends at the campground texted and called us several times, and we texted them also. They couldn't get through to us and they didn't get my texts, which was inconvenient. Also, no one from home could contact us in an emergency either. Otherwise, our stay was pleasant. Don't expect 4-star accommodations, and you should be okay.

Room Tip: The cabins don't have air conditioning. If you go up with a group of people, rent one of the sui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenview Gal
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

I must give applause to the dining room and front desk staff, who were very warm and helpful. However, that's where my praise ends. Our lodge room was on the first floor. Everything in the bathroom worked, but paying more attention to repairs, updating, and deep cleaning would be a good idea. I had to adjust the toilet chain several times after it ran on. The sheets and comforters on the beds were old and rough. The mattress was just ok. The ceiling creaked repeatedly from the people walking overhead. Lighting in the room was inadequate. The food we had in the dining room was tasteless and I had to revert to the salad bar.

We did not take advantage of other activities on site because we were tired. I know that some Door County lodging is more "rustic" than others, but I was not satisfied for the price we paid.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the second level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moline, Illinois
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

As Snoopy used to say ,”it was a dark and stormy night”…. Such was the day we sailed into Rowley’s Bay to escape the huge storm that was moving through Wisconsin. We called ahead as we approached Rowleys Bay Resort to see if there was space available for us in their marina. The staff at the lodge was extremely helpful in guiding us into a slip. The cost was very inexpensive, especially for a spot on the Door Peninsula . We had never before visited Rowleys Bay and were not sure of what was in store for us. As it turned out the staff and facilities were wonderful. The restaurant was great, the Bakery was beyond anyone’s imagination and the cost for these services was very very reasonable. To top it off the staff offered us access to the pool and all the amenities. We rented a bike and rode into Ellison Bay one day and truly enjoyed ourselves as we traveled through the scenic countryside. We had our small dog with us and walked the trails around the lodge compound. We all loved the quiet forest setting and the relaxed atmosphere.. A very special treat was the fish boil. They have a story teller that expounds upon the history of the area as if he was the original settler. We were spellbound as we listened to him spin his tales of what life used to be in Door County. After the story we all adjourned to the dinning area and partook of one of the best meals to be found anywhere.
As mentioned the staff was wonderful from the front desk to the restaurant. The resort is truly a gem from the past in its hospitality, rustic surroundings and culinary delights. I would highly recommend to anyone traveling through Door Country to stop and stay or at the very least enjoy a meal at Rowleys Bay

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rowleys Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rowleys Bay Resort

Address: 1041 County Road ZZ, Ellison Bay, WI 54210
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Ellison Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ellison Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Door County's Affordable Waterfront Resort Rowleys Bay Resort offers the best of both worlds-a waterfront destination with affordable lodging options. Whether you prefer a traditional room, suite, cottage or vacation home, all are just steps away from our 700 feet of shoreline. As the largest waterfront resort in Door County, we accommodate and cater to the needs of a wide range of groups. The atmosphere is casual, relaxed and friendly. With our restaurant, bakery, banquet hall, meeting rooms and other amenities all under one roof, families and groups feel safe and connected. 100 Acres of Solitude on a Pristine Bay Rowleys Bay Resort is situated on 100 secluded acres dominating a pristine, undeveloped bay on Lake Michigan. Think of our unique, peaceful setting as a cul-de-sac without noisy through-traffic and bumper-to-bumper people. Be as one with nature as you hike our five miles of trails and enjoy four-season bird watching on our never frozen bay and the unique Mink River Estuary. Nature's light show on the water at sunrise and sunset come at no extra charge!Water Sports Access at Your DoorIf you have a passion for water sports, you have to come to Rowleys Bay Resort. From canoeing and kayaking to sailing and fishing, you won't find a better place in Door County for aqua adventures. The marina and DNR launch are your gateway and quick getaway to Lake Michigan and the Mink River. It's like having your own private playground on the water. Kayak rentals and tours, as well as charter fishing boats, are available dockside.All-You-Can-Eat Restaurant OfferingsIn addition to an all-day full menu and bar, Rowleys Bay Restaurant features Door County's longest buffet and salad bar, providing you with variety, flexibility and tremendous dining value. On Monday, Wednesday, Friday and Saturday night the generous buffet includes the area's only all-you-can-eat fish boil. The restaurant's famous Sunday Brunch buffet includes pecan rolls and other scrumptious treats from Grandma's Swedish Bakery. Historic Swedish Scratch Bakery For 40 years, Grandma's Swedish Bakery has been tantalizing the taste buds of Door County visitors and natives with homemade pastries, decadent sweet rolls and other from-scratch bakery items. Family recipes have been handed down from generation to generation, ensuring that you will receive the same authentic Swedish delights originally baked by Grandma. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rowleys Bay Hotel Ellison Bay
Wagon Trail Hotel
Rowleys Bay Resort Ellison Bay, WI - Door County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rowleys Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.