We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Making all other B&Bs appealing?” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Harbor Light Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ellison Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Harbor Light Inn
Save
You added The Harbor Light Inn to your Saves list
12666 Highway 42, Ellison Bay, WI 54210 (Formerly The Harbor House Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Ellison Bay B&B and Inns
Manitowoc, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Making all other B&Bs appealing?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

We were given a stay here for a wedding gift, obviously there was a change of management, especially since we were there. Our early summer 2005 stay was unique, since I'm diabetic, tried to inform, they weren't going to accomodate, at least.

Our off season visit next time had our breakfast outside our door in winter, still, not accomodating, they'd left for their errands.
Want groceries? Most businesses are closed. Without notice...closed whirlpool..the waterheater's turñed down, after seeing the other reviews...we were lucky!
No news(reviews)
..is good news,..now found closed winters, new innkeepers have been excellent!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becky K, Manager at The Harbor Light Inn, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Hello! Thanks for your review! We are indeed under new management. No more grumpy innkeepers or strange rules here. We also are no longer a b&b, just a peaceful Inn with spacious, affordable rooms in a less-traveled (and quiet!) part of the county. The Inn has gotten a lot of TLC over the past two years and we sincerely hope you'll come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    3
    0
    3
    1
See reviews for
5
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, Minnesota
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed in the "Door County" room. It was spacious, clean, inviting, and very pet friendly. In addition, it was on the ground floor. I couldn't have been more pleased with our accommodations. There was a refrigerator that was much larger than what you would expect. The flat screen tv was perched atop a beautiful old dresser, and the room was fitted with wifi & Direct tv. Considering there was a of people staying at the Inn on Saturday night, our room was very quiet. The biggest surprise from our room was the two-person shower! Large and roomy enough for two people. I would stay here again in a heartbeat and recommend the Harbor House Inn to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becky K, Manager at The Harbor Light Inn, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Thanks so much for your kind review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

I was so surprised to see the negative reviews until I realized the Harbor House Inn is under new management. I didn't start looking for a place to stay in August until August (!) & we were originally disappointed we would be "stuck" way up in Gills Rock. Were we wrong!! We found we drove LESS than when we stayed in Sturgeon Bay or Fish Creek. That was a great plus!

We were lucky enough to stay in the Lighthouse Suite which really impressed our teenager. All the rooms are one price, $127, but when we arrived, Jenny said the other guests were charged $99 so she changed ours, too (It was the weekend before Labor Day). The room was very clean & comfortable. We enjoyed the Great Room which is a large multi-purpose room with games, coffee, etc. We cooked breakfast & dinner in the kitchen ( a tad small but had everything we needed). Jenny was wonderful, welcoming & very helpful. We had a wonderful time!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becky K, Manager at The Harbor Light Inn, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Glad you enjoyed your stay! The Lighthouse Suite is a pretty neat room, and I'm happy to hear previous management took good care of ya!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2010

We stayed at the Harbor House for our family vacation this summer and we were really disappointed. We paid $160 a night for four nights, and stayed in the Troll Cottage. Firstly, the place is really really small. It says it sleeps 4-6 people, but the four of us barely fit, and there is no way 6 people would be able to sleep here. That is because the two beds upstairs are very small, (do beds come smaller than double?) and the sleeper sofa downstairs is unsleepable (totally uncomfortable). More to the point, there is no air conditioning downstairs so there was no way anyone could sleep downstairs, it was way too stiffling hot and stuffy.

This cottage was advertised as a "house-keeping" cottage, but it really shouldn't be advertised as such. The sink in the kitchen is literally 10 inches square and does not have hot water! (I question how sanitary the plates, cups, etc. are...). The kitchen is advertised as "fully stocked" but aside from plates and cups, only had a single frying pan and an old broken pot for cooking. The bathroom only had a shower (no tub) with very low water pressure. I have also never seen such a stingy breakfast: they literally put out tiny dixie cups (the kind you use in bathrooms) for the orange juice and even put notes on the board not to take more than one piece of coffee cake!

But by far the most irritating aspect of our stay at the Harbor House was the female innkeeper: I felt like I was staying at a really persnickety relatives house and that she was watching us the entire time for any little infraction on our part (and there were many that she pointed out to us). First of all, somehow this place got tagged as a "pet-friendly" hotel and I suspect there aren't too many in Door County, because we saw a fair number of other guests with dogs, looking like they regretted their decision to stay there as well.

You are not allowed to leave your dog in the room/cottage unattended EVER (not even in a crate). That really limits ones ability to go out to eat, etc. and at the very least, the owners should list that restriction *on their website* so that folks know what they are getting themselves into. Also note: when you have to eat in your cottage because you can't go to a restaurant, because you can't leave your dog alone in your hotel, it is important to have reasonable cooking facilities. Leaving your dog in the car is not an option in the summer.

However, the worst part about this trip was that the innkeeper is really really hyper-vigilant about abiding by the rules (and even making up more of them on the fly...). She was most unpleasant towards our active, high energy six year old son: at the breakfasts she watched him (and us) like a hawk to make sure he didn't do anything that would upset the order of the breakfast room in any way. When we first arrived, my son was excited to go over for breakfast, but by the last day, our son didn't even want to go over for breakfast, so we brought food back for him to our room. He knew she didn't like him. I had hoped that our kids could play out in the woods and enjoy the natural areas around the inn, but I felt really self-conscious letting my son run loose on the property at all, with the innkeeper watching at all times.

And the internet connection was really really bad (we could only get it sitting outside on the front porch and even then, it was spotty).

I think I could honestly have let all the other problems with this place go, but given the irritation we felt with the persnickety innkeeper, I feel obligated to write my first review ever on TripAdvisor.

This is not a great choice for active families with small children and/or pets.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becky K, Manager at The Harbor Light Inn, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Hello! So sorry you had such a crummy experience here a few years ago. I'm happy to tell you that we are under new management now, and things are a lot cleaner, better stocked, peaceful, and most of all-- friendly. We're also truly proud to be pet-friendly, as we know how hard it can be to find clean, nice pet-friendly accommodation, especially in Door Co!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lalaland
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2010

The purpose of the trip was to get away together as a couple as my husband is getting deployed soon. The reason we chose Door County was to go hiking in Peninsula with our dog. This hotel claims it is pet friendly, it is anything but. Before leaving for our hike, I made sure that the room was neat and clean, and that everything was put away.

Yet, when we got back from a long day hiking, welcoming us was a petty, nagging note from the manager tapped to our door. The manager treated us like we were getting grounded in the 3rd grade, stating that, apparently, the housekeeper had come snooping in when we were gone, and had noticed, with the help of a magnifying glass, that there was SOME dog hair on the white bed sheets... Shocker! Reality check: When you have pets, SOME dog hair will get on your precious white bed sheets, that's just the way it is. Yet, in that note, the manager warned us to keep our dog off the bed and couch and that this was listed on the pet policy. Nice way to treat your customers!

Our pet is well-behaved, friendly and stayed on his dog bed the entire time. If the Harbor House Inn can't deal with a little bit of dog hair, then they should not list themselves as pet friendly or friendly at all, based on the way they treat their customers. The note was so degrading that my husband and I left early. We did not come this far to get nagged on our vacation.

We will not return.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becky K, Manager at The Harbor Light Inn, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Hello! So sincerely sorry to hear about your poor experience here. As noted, we are under new management now, and are TRULY pet friendly, as well as much, much more people-friendly! It's my goal to make the Harbor Light's guests as comfortable and at home as possible. We've also dropped the prices way down to a pretty unbeatable rate, especially for the large room size. Gills Rock is a special place, and if you enjoyed the room (aside from the previous owners stringent policies), we hope you'll give us another shot!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2009

My husband and I just returned from a weekend at the Harbor House Inn. We stayed in the lighthouse suite, which was very clean and comfortable. The continental breakfast was good and included coffee, juice, pastries, yogurt, cereal and oatmeal. The staff was very friendly. We did not personally see any rooms in the main house, but we would definitely return to the lighthouse suite again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becky K, Manager at The Harbor Light Inn, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Thanks so much for your kind review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2009

From the outside this looks very well kept and charming. Beautiful Victorian houses and gardens. Inside, carpet needs replacing badly and charm is lost when tacky art and plastic flowers decorate the rooms. Generally I felt the property wasn't clean or fresh. The sauna was a tiny closet and there was dust and wood chips on the floor making me wonder "how long has it been since this has been used?!" The plastic blinds on the windows were dusty, carpet in need of a vacuum and there was hair in the shower drain from a previous guest. GROSS! There was even a note in the room with an envelope to leave the housekeeper a tip! Pretty blatant. Needless to say, if there is hair from someone else in my shower, there will be no tip.
Wireless internet was not working either.
Breakfast consisted of coffee, juice, bagels, danish & watermelon. I had the impression B&B's typically had a nice home cooked hot breakfast served by the owners. Not here.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Harbor Light Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harbor Light Inn

Address: 12666 Highway 42, Ellison Bay, WI 54210 (Formerly The Harbor House Inn)
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Ellison Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ellison Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
The Harbor House Hotel Ellison Bay
The Harbor Light Inn Ellison Bay, WI - Door County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Harbor Light Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.