We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Trip Very Fun” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Osthoff Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Osthoff Resort to your Saves list
Osthoff Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   101 Osthoff Ave., Elkhart Lake, WI 53020-0151   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Winter Getaway
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Elkhart Lake
Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Family Trip Very Fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

A girls weekend away in celebration of our baby sister's 50th birthday. We got a three bedroom condo, which was very comfortable for all of us, though our mother, in her 80s, had a bit of trouble getting into her bed due to the height. Very clean, spacious condo. Plenty of room in the living area and kitchen. Nice big dining table for meals and games. Wonderful views from our balcony, which overlooked Elkhart Lake, the pond and gardens, and swimming pool. Very helpful staff. All the sisters (7 of us) had a fabulous time learning how to make French pastries. Thanks to our instructor, Scott, and assistants Norrine and Betty. Had a great hike around the Lake. Rejuvenating massages at the Aspira Spa, though one of us showed up for a massage that was booked two weeks prior, but the computer lost her reservation, so she had to reschedule for the next day. They made up for it by giving her a discount, and offering the use of the spa facilities to the family for the full day. Enjoyed Lola's and Otto's restaurants in the hotel. Best meal offsite was at The Paddock Club, which is only a couple blocks walk away.

Room Tip: Some prior reviews said the old wing of the hotel was not up to snuff, but we were very happy with o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    111
    23
    18
    4
See reviews for
126
137
8
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Staying at the Osthoff was like staying in a plush hotel on a tropical island. There in an indoor pool, two outdoor pools, and a beautiful beach. The grounds are landscaped beautifully and the flowers are vibrant. I was totally in awe of the color of the water - aqua blue and it almost looked fake. It was calming and relaxing. Our two bedroom suite was very nice. The room was tastefully decorated and the kitchen was equipped with everything that we needed. The shower could have used a safety bar because it was quite slippery and there was nothing to hold on to. We ate at Otto's for dinner and breakfast and both meals were excellent. The servers were very attentive. The staff is very friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, Massachusetts
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

First for the Rants:
1. Except for the public rooms the hotel was tired. My guest room definitely needed an update. It was situated at the far end of the property and a good walk from the lobby. Additional the different wings of the hotel don’t match up floor to floor. I was on the 3rd floor which was a half flight different from the main building.. Only the second floor seem to connect the different wings, so until I learned this I felt as though I was stuck in a maze. Signage was also poor.
2. Not enough parking spaces for the size of the hotel. I was never able to park near my room and on a few occasions only could find a spot on the street at the front of the hotel.
3. I felt that the hotel was overpriced. I paid $260 for Friday and Saturday nights and $240 for Thursday and Sunday nights.
4. Even though the staff was pleasant, they seemed inexperienced
5. Bath towels were extremely thin
6. No turn down service or freshening of the room in the evening
7. No in room safe.

Now for the Raves
1. The resort was close to Road America
2. I ate at Lola’s Sunday night and was impressed by the quality and the presentation of the food.
3. The breakfast in Otto’s was also quite good.
4. The mattress in my room was extremely comfortable
5. My room was clean
6. The shower was a good size with plenty of hot water.
7. My room had a small refrigerator.

Would I stay at the Osthoff again? I not sure, but there isn’t much to choose from.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The hotel is almost all suites, from one bedroom to three bedroom. All of them have a small kitchen with range, full fridge and dishwasher. Families will love the three bedroom with two of the bedrooms and a bathroom on an upper level - the living space is huge.
There are two restaurants (and others nearby), a beach, bike and boat rental, two outdoor pools and one indoor, a nice little exercise room, and a small lagoon where you can fish.
The staff is very helpful and responsive to your needs. They will even find a babysitter for you.
We will do our 50th wedding anniversary there with all four of our families.
If you begin a stay on Sunday or Monday, they offer a third night free.

Room Tip: Take a lakeside suite for the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We fell in love with the Osthoff so much we had our wedding there this past weekend. The staff is very accommodating to ensure you have a great stay. We are planning to come back each summer to enjoy the lake activities and to unwind!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Endless activities in lovely surroundings with outstanding food and drink!! Our room was spacious with three tvs and a balcony. Perfect size for our family of seven. The water sports were great as we're the beach and pools. My only suggestion would be to hang a huge clock outside by the rentals so we could make sure we returned equipment on time. Every meal was excellent. The beach bar poured generously! The kids said it was our best vacation ever!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stay at the Osthoff several times a year and always have a great time! It's a relaxing and fun time for kids and adults. We have young kids and they enjoy the boat rentals (paddle boats, kayaks, etc), beach (which is very clean and shallow for little ones), pools, fishing, bonfire, etc. The lake is beautiful and we enjoy the live music on the weekends and the easy walk into town to visit the shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Osthoff Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Osthoff Resort

Address: 101 Osthoff Ave., Elkhart Lake, WI 53020-0151
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Elkhart Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Elkhart Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Osthoff Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Osthoff Resort, in Elkhart Lake, Wisconsin, is a premier AAA Four Diamond resort located on 500 ft of recreational lakefront. Offering a casual atmosphere within its elegant surroundings, The Osthoff Resort provides a romantic getaway for couples, while year-round indoor and outdoor activities, provide a family with many opportunities to enjoy spending time together. Our conference center offers spacious and well-appointed ballrooms and meeting rooms to assist in the productivity of retreats and conferences for our group guests. A host of seasonal getaway packages are available providing guests varying options for a holiday vacation. Whether spring, summer, fall or winter – The Osthoff Resort is your place in the lake.™ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Osthoff Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Osthoff Resort Elkhart Lake
Osthoff Hotel Elkhart Lake

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Osthoff Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.