We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Endless activities in lovely surroundings with outstanding food and drink!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Osthoff Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Osthoff Resort to your Saves list
Osthoff Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   101 Osthoff Ave., Elkhart Lake, WI 53020-0151   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Winter Getaway
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Elkhart Lake
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Endless activities in lovely surroundings with outstanding food and drink!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Endless activities in lovely surroundings with outstanding food and drink!! Our room was spacious with three tvs and a balcony. Perfect size for our family of seven. The water sports were great as we're the beach and pools. My only suggestion would be to hang a huge clock outside by the rentals so we could make sure we returned equipment on time. Every meal was excellent. The beach bar poured generously! The kids said it was our best vacation ever!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    111
    23
    18
    4
See reviews for
126
136
8
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stay at the Osthoff several times a year and always have a great time! It's a relaxing and fun time for kids and adults. We have young kids and they enjoy the boat rentals (paddle boats, kayaks, etc), beach (which is very clean and shallow for little ones), pools, fishing, bonfire, etc. The lake is beautiful and we enjoy the live music on the weekends and the easy walk into town to visit the shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Upon arrival our room was upgraded. What a pleasant surprise!

Room was very nice. Loved the view of the lake and the ponds. Pillows were very comfortable.

Elkhart Lake is a beautiful community. Would stay at the Osthoff again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is a little expensive for what you get, but they have very nice rooms with good service. The scenery is beautiful in the area. The pool is basic and the food was good in the hotel. I would recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed at the Osthoff for 5 nights, during the FCA event. We had a 1-bdrm. condo in the south building, at first very disappointing when we discovered the A/C unit was in the living room, without a second one in the bedroom. The staff was wonderful in adding a portable window A/C in the bedroom in short order. The room was clean and well-equipped. Extra towels, dishwashing soap and paper towels were provided when leaving a note for housekeeping.

The layout of the hotel can make for long walks, so if you're attending functions in the conference area be sure to ask for a room closer to the main building.

Can't say enough about the staff. Everyone was smiling, helpful and followed through even with a completely full hotel.

Room Tip: South building 1 bedroom condos do not have A/C in the bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Our stay at the Osthoff started off very rocky... We arrived on Sunday to find that the pontoon boat we had reserved for the full day Tuesday had not actually been reserved (although our account had been charged at the time of reservation, two months prior). When we arrived in our room, there was a message waiting via the phone in our room to say we couldn't actually have to pontoon on a Sunday, because of the no-motor-Sunday rule on the lake. Hmmmm, we knew that, which is why we called months ahead to reserve for TUESDAY. Unfortunately, we couldn't get a full day, but we did end up with a 3-hour rental on Tuesday and they gave us a discount for the trouble. Still, my husband verified the date several times when making the reservation, it shouldn't have happened.

Cleaning is subpar. When we arrived in our room the breakfast bar attached to the sink was filthy with lake sand! The bar was brown so I can understand how they may not have seen it, but they should be cleaning it before every new arrival whether it looks dirty or not! Bathroom was dirty too, hair on the floor and a glob of something dried on the floor -- they obviously had not been mopped before our arrival. Gross. I spent the first 20 minutes of our stay scrubbing and cleaning various surfaces.

That said, overall we did have a nice stay. The room was in a newer wing and quite lovely (aside from the cleaning issues), and our boys slept on the pull-out couch while we were in the attached bedroom. Comfy king bed. We overlooked the courtyard, don't bother to pay for a lakeview, courtyard is very nice.

Our kids spent each morning in the pool (one indoor and two outdoor pools) and afternoons at the lake. Outdoor areas were clean and well-kept. The beach is small, and there was one day (out of 5) where we had trouble finding a spot to sit. People apparently come down very early in the morning and put their towels over a chair for the entire day -- including hours and hours while they are away. It was disappointing to see so many chairs "reserved" but not nearly that many people actually using the beach. If everyone just played fair, there would be plenty of chairs for everyone at any given time. The marine rental has lots of fun options, we tried a paddle boat, kayak, pontoon boat and even hydrobikes (so fun!).

It's a nice, sandy, clear lake. Definitely sporting-focused, my husband was disappointed by the fishing options. Also, the marine rental opens late and closes early, so there's no way to get a fishing boat for the best fishing times of day. Teenager at the marine rental had no idea about good fishing spots on the lake, perhaps understandable given that most of their rentals are for sporting.

Staff was generally friendly. They seem to employ a lot of teenagers, especially in Otto's Restaurant. One server dissolved into uncontrollable (loud) giggles while flirting with her friends at the next time and finally did leave the dining area to get control of herself. Food quality was unimpressive, don't bother with Otto's! I'd say it's similar in quality to an Applebees. I know this is their more casual restaurant, but they have such an opportunity to do some creative, fun dishes! Ho-hum at best. Head into town for the Paddock Club for dinner (amazing!) and try lunch at the Off the Rails sandwich shop (this is the kind of mid-price food Otto's should be doing! creative and delicious). 

Elkhart Lake is a sweet little town! We found prices to be very reasonable almost everywhere, from the resort gift shop to the Sissy's ice cream stand and the Two Fish art gallery. Easy walk from the resort to restaurants and a few shops, which is just what we wanted. We didn't move our car for the entire trip.

My husband noticed before our trip that there was a washing machine on every floor, so we brought alone some detergent. $1/wash and $1/dry per load. SO WORTH IT to be able to wash swimsuits after the lane and then go home with clean clothes! Machines were nice and newer. I didn't see anyone else using them the entire time we were there.

I had hoped to try the spa, but prices were inflated compared to my area. I figured I could wait until I was home and get a 90-min massage for the price of their 50-min service.

Overall, not fantastic but a nice stay. We'd consider coming back another year!

Room Tip: Skip the lakeview, courtyard views are very nice and lake is somewhat obscured by trees. "Woodl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Older room,but pleasant. Grounds were lovely. Nice fitness rm and pools. The lake was nice although the beach could be improved. This resort is for relaxation. You need a car to get into the town which has nice restuaraunts. Low key, harkens to a more relaxed time. Drives to Sheboygan and other cities in Wisconsin are manageable.

Room Tip: Enjoyable with enough to do for a couple of days. Soft and mellow like a Wisconsin August evening, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Osthoff Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Osthoff Resort

Address: 101 Osthoff Ave., Elkhart Lake, WI 53020-0151
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Elkhart Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Elkhart Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Osthoff Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Osthoff Resort, in Elkhart Lake, Wisconsin, is a premier AAA Four Diamond resort located on 500 ft of recreational lakefront. Offering a casual atmosphere within its elegant surroundings, The Osthoff Resort provides a romantic getaway for couples, while year-round indoor and outdoor activities, provide a family with many opportunities to enjoy spending time together. Our conference center offers spacious and well-appointed ballrooms and meeting rooms to assist in the productivity of retreats and conferences for our group guests. A host of seasonal getaway packages are available providing guests varying options for a holiday vacation. Whether spring, summer, fall or winter – The Osthoff Resort is your place in the lake.™ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Osthoff Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Osthoff Resort Elkhart Lake
Osthoff Hotel Elkhart Lake

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Osthoff Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.