We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply amazing resort! Stunning beauty and top-notch service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Osthoff Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Osthoff Resort to your Saves list
The Osthoff Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   101 Osthoff Avenue, Elkhart Lake, WI 53020-0151   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
A Night On Us!
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Elkhart Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Sun Prairie, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Simply amazing resort! Stunning beauty and top-notch service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

My wife and I had our mini honeymoon here for 2 nights this week and cannot stop talking about how amazing of an experience we had! The food, the room, the beauty, you name it... 5 stars! The one aspect that will keep us coming back more than anything is the service. Every person from the bellhop to the maids to the bartender had a smile on their face and welcomed us as if we had been there 100 times. I liked how it was family-friendly, yet the resort was not over-run with annoying little ones. Elkhart Lake is one of the most (if not THE MOST) prestine lakes I have every seen, and the beach was extremely well kept. The bartenders (Jane in the Elk Room, and the Zachs on the Lake Deck), were a pleasure to be served by, made delicious drinks, and gave excellent recommendations for running around town. We are from Madison, and you cannot find a server/bartender (let alone housekeeping staff) that are that pleasant... even with the draw of a college town. The Osthoff Resort does it right... and my wife and I will certainly be returning as soon as often as we possibly can.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 333, one-bedroom suite, woodland view. Very nice!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    132
    28
    20
    4
See reviews for
145
156
9
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ohio
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

The Osthoff Resort was a truly remarkable and relaxing vacation. As first-timers, we were very impressed at the quaintness and beauty of the area. We stayed in lakeview accommodations which were immaculate and gorgeous. Boat and canoe availability were convenient. Biking not as intense as we anticipated, but the area itself is a treasure. Will definitely return!

Room Tip: Accomodations immaculate and excellent!! Recommend the lakeview/sunrise! Did not use spa...cannot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Great place, and really enjoyed the amenities within the resort. Otto's restaurant had superb food and service was great! We had dinner and lunch at Otto's and dinner one night at Lola's. Lola's was pricey, and food was average. We sat outside, and under our table and others was mulch and food from people before us (left note on comment sheet). No ambiance at all, soft music inside and dead silence outside. Otto's definitely better...the hotel gave us a credit of $30 if we spent money in their resort, and that was a pleasant surprise. We could not get a Lakeview suite so we stayed in a Woodland suite, which I though would be facing the woods, but we had a parking lot view(should tell us)...room was nice but air conditioner was on wall furthest from bedroom so bedroom was stuffy and warm.....used ceiling fan on high! I would definitely come back but request a different room!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mound, minnesota
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Stayed at the Osthoff every other year since 1999 and have a great experience every time. The rooms are lovely, no matter what type you get. The grounds are beautiful with many colorful flowers. I went to Aspira Spa for the first time and it was exceptional. Rented a kayak one morning for a very quiet time on the lake. The only noise was the water off my paddles and birds singing. The food and service at Lola's on the Lake is amazing. When my husband is at Road America, I'm at the Osthoff!

Room Tip: Condo type rooms have window AC in living room. It does cool the bedroom with the help of ceiling f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orland Park, IL
Level Contributor
39 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

This resort is old school.....but not OLD. The resort is very classy and has three pools, indoor exercise room, two great restaurants and is close (walking distance) to the town and other very nice restaurants. You can rent a fishing boat, a sail boat, a speed boat, go on a "morning coffee cruise: or a "twilight cruise". You can rent bikes and there is a private sand beach area if you would like.....great place for adults and kids.

And then there is the SPA......do you hear angels singing???? It was sooooo wonderful. A must if you stay there.

I would definitely recommend this place to all.

I would recommend it.

Room Tip: North building on the pool side rooms are lovely and the view from the outdoor patio is just great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joliet
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

I spent three nights at The Osthoff July 21-24 2013. The staff was courteous, the grounds were great, the small beach area was fun and clean. All in all this is a great place for a quick get a way or to have a group get together. the downtown area is small but again very friendly. There area a few bars and places to eat within walking distance of the resort.
The restaurants at the resort are nice, the food is better than you would expect from a hotel.
I loved the bar at the beach and the food at the snack bar wasn't bad at all.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago Il
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

The booking process was easy. This property is quiet, clean, comfortable and a nice family get away. There is a lot to do, or do as little as you want, and relax.

The rooms are pricey, but we had a two bedroom condo with a kitchen. You can save money by cooking for yourself, and we did. However we did eat at the lake, and twice at the pool.

Room Tip: Book early, ask for a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elkhart Lake
0.2 mi away
Victorian Village Resort
Victorian Village Resort
#2 of 2 in Elkhart Lake
3.5 of 5 stars 71 reviews
6.1 mi away
52 Stafford
52 Stafford
#4 of 5 in Plymouth
4.5 of 5 stars 53 reviews
16.0 mi away
GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel - Sheboygan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Plymouth
15.0 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Sheboygan
6.4 mi away
AmericInn Plymouth
AmericInn Plymouth
#3 of 5 in Plymouth
4.0 of 5 stars 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Osthoff Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Osthoff Resort

Address: 101 Osthoff Avenue, Elkhart Lake, WI 53020-0151
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Elkhart Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Elkhart Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Osthoff Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Osthoff Resort, in Elkhart Lake, Wisconsin, is a premier AAA Four Diamond resort located on 500 ft of recreational lakefront. Offering a casual atmosphere within its elegant surroundings, The Osthoff Resort provides a romantic getaway for couples, while year-round indoor and outdoor activities, provide a family with many opportunities to enjoy spending time together. Our conference center offers spacious and well-appointed ballrooms and meeting rooms to assist in the productivity of retreats and conferences for our group guests. A host of seasonal getaway packages are available providing guests varying options for a holiday vacation. Whether spring, summer, fall or winter – The Osthoff Resort is your place in the lake.™ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Osthoff Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Osthoff Resort Elkhart Lake
Osthoff Hotel Elkhart Lake

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Osthoff Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.