We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Place, well groomed!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Osthoff Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Osthoff Resort to your Saves list
Osthoff Resort
101 Osthoff Ave., Elkhart Lake, WI 53020-0151   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Autumn Getaway
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Elkhart Lake
chicago
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful Place, well groomed!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Great place, and really enjoyed the amenities within the resort. Otto's restaurant had superb food and service was great! We had dinner and lunch at Otto's and dinner one night at Lola's. Lola's was pricey, and food was average. We sat outside, and under our table and others was mulch and food from people before us (left note on comment sheet). No ambiance at all, soft music inside and dead silence outside. Otto's definitely better...the hotel gave us a credit of $30 if we spent money in their resort, and that was a pleasant surprise. We could not get a Lakeview suite so we stayed in a Woodland suite, which I though would be facing the woods, but we had a parking lot view(should tell us)...room was nice but air conditioner was on wall furthest from bedroom so bedroom was stuffy and warm.....used ceiling fan on high! I would definitely come back but request a different room!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    104
    23
    18
    4
See reviews for
122
127
8
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
mound, minnesota
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Stayed at the Osthoff every other year since 1999 and have a great experience every time. The rooms are lovely, no matter what type you get. The grounds are beautiful with many colorful flowers. I went to Aspira Spa for the first time and it was exceptional. Rented a kayak one morning for a very quiet time on the lake. The only noise was the water off my paddles and birds singing. The food and service at Lola's on the Lake is amazing. When my husband is at Road America, I'm at the Osthoff!

Room Tip: Condo type rooms have window AC in living room. It does cool the bedroom with the help of ceiling f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orland Park, IL
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

This resort is old school.....but not OLD. The resort is very classy and has three pools, indoor exercise room, two great restaurants and is close (walking distance) to the town and other very nice restaurants. You can rent a fishing boat, a sail boat, a speed boat, go on a "morning coffee cruise: or a "twilight cruise". You can rent bikes and there is a private sand beach area if you would like.....great place for adults and kids.

And then there is the SPA......do you hear angels singing???? It was sooooo wonderful. A must if you stay there.

I would definitely recommend this place to all.

I would recommend it.

Room Tip: North building on the pool side rooms are lovely and the view from the outdoor patio is just great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joliet
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

I spent three nights at The Osthoff July 21-24 2013. The staff was courteous, the grounds were great, the small beach area was fun and clean. All in all this is a great place for a quick get a way or to have a group get together. the downtown area is small but again very friendly. There area a few bars and places to eat within walking distance of the resort.
The restaurants at the resort are nice, the food is better than you would expect from a hotel.
I loved the bar at the beach and the food at the snack bar wasn't bad at all.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago Il
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

The booking process was easy. This property is quiet, clean, comfortable and a nice family get away. There is a lot to do, or do as little as you want, and relax.

The rooms are pricey, but we had a two bedroom condo with a kitchen. You can save money by cooking for yourself, and we did. However we did eat at the lake, and twice at the pool.

Room Tip: Book early, ask for a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthem, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

This resort was hopping with guests (especially children this week) yet I felt like I was personally attended to with great friendliness and consideration, the training of this staff is impeccable. The resort and surrounding area is beautiful with great restaurants in such a small village, truly a serene location to spend a lovely get-away from the hustle and bustle of work.

Room Tip: The three bedroom suite was great for our large family and we choose room 436, nice balcony and grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

This was our second stay here for a track event at Road of America. The bellmen were so helpful throughout our stay. The bartenders were friendly. We had a suite in the main section of the resort. The bedroom was pretty small and could only accommodate a queen size bed...a bit small for a couple used to king beds. The air conditioner is at the front end of the living area so there is no direct air flow into the bedroom. With temperatures well into the 90's it would have been nice to have a better designed air conditioning system. We had a wonderful meal at Lola's. I highly recommend this property especially for families with children.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Osthoff Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Osthoff Resort

Address: 101 Osthoff Ave., Elkhart Lake, WI 53020-0151
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Elkhart Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Elkhart Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Osthoff Resort, in Elkhart Lake, Wisconsin, is a premier AAA Four Diamond resort located on 500 ft of recreational lakefront. Offering a casual atmosphere within its elegant surroundings, The Osthoff Resort provides a romantic getaway for couples, while year-round indoor and outdoor activities, provide a family with many opportunities to enjoy spending time together. Our conference center offers spacious and well-appointed ballrooms and meeting rooms to assist in the productivity of retreats and conferences for our group guests. A host of seasonal getaway packages are available providing guests varying options for a holiday vacation. Whether spring, summer, fall or winter – The Osthoff Resort is your place in the lake.™ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Osthoff Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Osthoff Resort Elkhart Lake
Osthoff Hotel Elkhart Lake

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Osthoff Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.