We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful property” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Osthoff Resort

Save Saved
You added Osthoff Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Osthoff Resort
101 Osthoff Ave., Elkhart Lake, WI 53020-0151   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
A Night On Us!
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Elkhart Lake
Springfield, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful property”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

This was our second stay here for a track event at Road of America. The bellmen were so helpful throughout our stay. The bartenders were friendly. We had a suite in the main section of the resort. The bedroom was pretty small and could only accommodate a queen size bed...a bit small for a couple used to king beds. The air conditioner is at the front end of the living area so there is no direct air flow into the bedroom. With temperatures well into the 90's it would have been nice to have a better designed air conditioning system. We had a wonderful meal at Lola's. I highly recommend this property especially for families with children.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    245
    98
    22
    17
    4
See reviews for
115
122
8
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I had absolutely no complaints. Staff went above and beyond to help us and were very friendly. The resort is very clean and up-to-date. They do a lot of extras like place a newspaper by your door each morning. Very cozy lodge, great pools, and nice beach. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindenhurst, Illinois
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Clean, big rooms, full kitchen, larger living space, resort has it all.
Service was fantastic.
Pool, beach, boating, outdoor bar all within a 3-5 minute walk. We did not use our car once while we stayed, restaurants off property ar a short walk away.
We will return!

Room Tip: The large corner premium 2 bedroom is worth the xtra $$$.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

very clean, accommodating and great service! Used the pleasures program for kids and enjoyed some adult time. The lake provided lots to do for kids and a relaxing place to have some beverages. Food was okay, kids loved the activities.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

The Osthoff Resort is a relaxing place to stay. The grounds are beautiful and the staff is very helpful and friendly. We went during the week in June -- which was a quieter time. (If you're looking for a party and live entertainment at night, the weekends might be a better choice.) The beach on the lake is really nice and the Aspira Spa is fantastic. The rooms are nice, and well equipped. My only complaint would be the prices on the water gear rentals. I thought they could be a little less expensive during the weekdays. All in all, I would recommend the Osthoff, and plan to go back next year.

Room Tip: Good coffee pots in the rooms -- but bring your own coffee and filters if you really like coffee.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

My husband, daughter and I stayed at the resort for two nights this past weekend. I am pregnant and we did not want to fly to Florida this summer, so we thought we would try out this resort. After reading fantastic reviews, I had very high expectations.
I will start with the positive experiences: The resort is large and the location on the lake is great. The grounds are nice too. Although the weather wasn't that great, we really enjoyed the outdoor pools. When it rained we even used the indoor pool. The private hotel beach is nice. You can also rent kayaks and boats at a very reasonable price. We mainly ate at the Otto's Restaurant and the Lake Deck. Food was good. They had live music at the Lake Deck on Friday and Saturday, which was fun. The staff was very accommodating. They responded very quickly whenever we had any issues (other than servers in the restaurant). The room was a good size with a relatively large bathroom. I liked that there was a bath tub as well as a shower. The room also had a balcony.
There were some things that I did not expect during our stay. Specifically, the balcony was full of cobwebs and the bed was quite uncomfortable. We also received very poor service at Otto's during the Sunday's buffet breakfast, which was very disappointing.
Lastly, I was really surprised that they did not have any type of dining / drinks service by the pool. The website has a pool side menu, but this service obviously does not exist.
In summary, our stay was good. We enjoyed our weekend. However, compared to other 4 and 5 star properties that I have stayed in, I would not rate this at the top of my list. It is likely that we will come back, but it will be mainly for the convenience, since this property is so close to Chicago. I think if they improve some services, this can be a true gem in this area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
92 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Stayed here for an extended weekend with my wife. After reading reviews of the (2) neighborning resorts, awfully glad we stayed here! Resort offers everything one could need: Lake / beach, pool, spa (didn't use) multiple restaurants / bars as well as ability to walk everywhere in town. Stayed in basic lodge unit with large 2 person whirlpool in bathroom. Room was very clean and adequate size for 2 people. Large balcony with view of courtyard and partial lake view. Maid service was spotty. Although race was in town, this resort and the entire town is very quiet. Would have been nice if there were an outside hot tub.
Lola's was nice but can be pricey as everything is Ala Carte. Beach / bar across the street is very nice. Very friendly and very reasonably priced given this is a resort. Golf course is a 1 min drive and decent.
Would definately recommend this place and will be back for sure.
Recommend the Tiki Bar next door, Off the rail (B'fast & Lunch), Paddock Club, and Lake Street Cafe. Some of the older places in town can tend to have a "musty" smell to them.

Room Tip: Pay the upcharge for a courtyard or lake facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Osthoff Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Osthoff Resort

Address: 101 Osthoff Ave., Elkhart Lake, WI 53020-0151
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Elkhart Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Elkhart Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Osthoff Resort, in Elkhart Lake, Wisconsin, is a premier AAA Four Diamond resort located on 500 ft of recreational lakefront. Offering a casual atmosphere within its elegant surroundings, The Osthoff Resort provides a romantic getaway for couples, while year-round indoor and outdoor activities, provide a family with many opportunities to enjoy spending time together. Our conference center offers spacious and well-appointed ballrooms and meeting rooms to assist in the productivity of retreats and conferences for our group guests. A host of seasonal getaway packages are available providing guests varying options for a holiday vacation. Whether spring, summer, fall or winter – The Osthoff Resort is your place in the lake.™ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Osthoff Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Osthoff Resort Elkhart Lake
Osthoff Hotel Elkhart Lake

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Osthoff Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.