We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Jewel in the Midwest” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Osthoff Resort

Save Saved
You added Osthoff Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Osthoff Resort
101 Osthoff Ave., Elkhart Lake, WI 53020-0151   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
A Night On Us!
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Elkhart Lake
Davenport, Iowa
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Hidden Jewel in the Midwest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I googled a spa resort in Wisconsin because years ago someone mentioned going on an annual trip with girlfriends. The Aspira Spa, located within the Osthoff Resort on Elkhart Lake came up. After looking at the pictures and accomodations, I booked a 3-bedroom, 2-bath suite. OMG, we have now committed to an annual retreat there. There was NOTHING to complain about. This is the first property I've stayed at that looks even better in person than the pictures. The grounds were immaculate, our room overlooked the property with the pond/waterfall/lake all a direct shot from our outdoor balcony. We took yoga lessons, which the instructor tailored for the 3 of us. We booked massages which entitled us to use the spa facilities for the entire day. We ate lunch in our robes/slippers, catered by the upscale restaurant, Lola's; hung out in both the indoor and outdoor whirlpools; a sauna was available; and took showers in the most awesome bath facilities ever. There were 2 large 7-head waterfall showers, full amenities such as hair get, hair spray, deodorant, blow dryers, razors, toothbrushes/toothpaste, etc. All we needed was our own clothes. Staff was the friendliest I've ever encountered. We hung out at the Elk Room Bar and ate both nights, great fun, service and food, provided by Otter's Restaurant. Can't say enough good about this resort. Look for the great seasonal packages/specials. I'm even planning a fall trip with another girlfriend.

Room Tip: We were assigned to a 4th floor room (top floor), in the main building, right in the middle. Our ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    100
    22
    18
    4
See reviews for
118
124
8
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I was only at this resort for one night - but it was a pleasant stay. The resort was well kept and had a beautiful view. The room was comfortable and clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The restaurants at the facility were good.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

This third trip back to the Osthoff Resort was as great as the first and second. The interior has perfect old-world charm. You feel like you're in another time. Dark woods and plush carpet throughout the public areas are all well-maintained. You just feel like you want to settle in for several days and enjoy the quiet.

The suite I stayed in was called a "One Bedroom Woodland Deluxe"-- it was roomy, clean, with a living room, dining area, kitchen, separate large bedroom, marble bathroom and balcony. The view of the Siebken Resort next door was fine. In the past, I've stayed in rooms that have had nicer views (of Elkhart Lake) but it felt like this room was newer or more recently renovated. Honestly, no complaints about the view.

The staff was extremely accommodating, as always.

Lunch and dinner at Otto's Restaurant (on premises) were good and the prices were very reasonable. The waiter was busy with several tables and apologized for slower than usual service. Wasn't a problem to me-- if you're there to relax, it's nice not to feel rushed.

Nice gift shop too.

Absolutely love this place. Looking forward to going back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Where else in the Midwest can you listening to great music, eat great food, and taste over 250 wines??? No where but Jazz on the Vine at the Osthoff Resort!
Everything was great, and I do mean everything!!! Lola's had good food, music, and dancing. The Mother's Day Brunch is well known and frequented!!! A great weekend. The view and grounds are awesome and speaks truly to God's magnificence!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Everyone we had contact with were exceptionally polite, courteous, well knowledgeable and professional.
The food at the restruarants was also exceptionally great. Our suite was very roomy, clean and well layed out and comfortable. The Resort was very well kept, clean and interesting with all rooms and pictures. Has a wonderful layout of amenities. A great place to buy one of the Condo Suites to live.

Room Tip: A wonderful suite would be anyone of them with a balcony/patio. All are layed out in a Great configu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Although tit was off season at this resort, we had a fabulous time. The room was comfortable and the view was amazing. We loved overlooking the lake and the pond each evening, as we enjoyed our wine.

Otto's was a lovely experience with delicious dinners and great drinks. We tried to dine there at least four times during our week and it was never disappointing.

We hope to visit during the summer season to use all of the activities on the lake!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

My girlfriend and I booked the Osthoff Courtyard Deluxe Suite with the Bed and Breakfast package on Monday through Wednesday in late April.

We called the day before to verify our reservations, since they don't send an email confirmation when you book online. The front desk was very polite and helpful. We found out our room wasn't occupied, so we would be able to check in at anytime during the day. Brittanie and Abby were great answering all of our questions and making the whole check-in/out process efficient and seamless. Extremely friendly and helpful, letting us know that our $40 dining credit was already applied to the bill. However, we didn't notice that there was a bell service attendant until we left. Although, he did seem very nice.

The room was beautiful and amazingly well-kept. The balcony had a wonderful view, the televisions had great picture quality, the wifi was fast, and the whirlpool was the cherry on top. There was no DVD player, but that was fine as we had all the channels we needed. They had eating utensils/plates, pots/pans - basically everything you'll need to feel as at home as possible. Also, the bed was one of the most comfortable we've ever slept in. I think it would be pretty cool to have robes in the room. Not necessary by any means, but it would be a nice touch. The grounds are well maintained, and it is beautiful at any time/day.

Room service was great. Our breakfast order was brought to us very prompt, and the ladies bringing the food were super friendly. Everything was delicious and surpassed our expectations. Housekeeping did a wonderful job too for such a big room. They really need a "Do Not Disturb" door handle sign for the rooms though, we didn't see any.

We didn't try the spa services this trip because it was a bit pricey, but if we come back this will likely be on our to-do list. Tennis court was nice, located right by the parking lots, so we didn't have to bring our racquets/balls to our room. L'ecole de la Maison didn't have any cooking classes going on during our stay, but we were aware of their schedule - this would definitely be something we would do as well. Arcade room was plentiful and had all the essentials available. Indoor pool/sauna was nice, hopefully they can open the outdoor pools as it has been warm out lately.

We were a little disheartened to find out that the lake was pretty much closed until Memorial Day. This was the main reason why we came - we are all about canoes. We asked if there was any kind of boating opportunities elsewhere, but we were told that there was nothing around that was available this time of year. Also, basketball/volleyball was nowhere to be seen on the grounds. We were told that we would have to go to a nearby school after school finished to be able to play. A little misleading when you look at the website.

We were really struggling to find something to do on Monday night. Since Lola's and many of the bars around us were closed on Mondays, we just headed to Sheboygan to explore the city and then took a trip to Milwaukee the following night.

Aside from the spa, tennis, and swimming in the indoor pool, the resort is lacking in activities. If you're going here for the spa/relaxation and quiet days, this is the spot for you. But if you're looking for lots of options your best bet would be to come here Memorial Day to Labor Day - that's when everything is available for you.

Overall, definitely a relaxing/rejuvenating experience with impeccable rooms, immaculate grounds, and pleasant staff. However, we were hoping to be able to do more at the resort during the 'off-season'. If we come again, it will be between Memorial and Labor Day. Staff did an excellent job though, and it was a positive experience.

Room Tip: Get a suite that faces the grounds, and book your trip between Memorial Day and Labor Day. Also, try...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Osthoff Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Osthoff Resort

Address: 101 Osthoff Ave., Elkhart Lake, WI 53020-0151
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Elkhart Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Elkhart Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Osthoff Resort, in Elkhart Lake, Wisconsin, is a premier AAA Four Diamond resort located on 500 ft of recreational lakefront. Offering a casual atmosphere within its elegant surroundings, The Osthoff Resort provides a romantic getaway for couples, while year-round indoor and outdoor activities, provide a family with many opportunities to enjoy spending time together. Our conference center offers spacious and well-appointed ballrooms and meeting rooms to assist in the productivity of retreats and conferences for our group guests. A host of seasonal getaway packages are available providing guests varying options for a holiday vacation. Whether spring, summer, fall or winter – The Osthoff Resort is your place in the lake.™ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Osthoff Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Osthoff Resort Elkhart Lake
Osthoff Hotel Elkhart Lake

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Osthoff Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.