We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice family stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Newport Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Newport Resort to your Saves list
Newport Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7888 Church Street, Egg Harbor, WI 54209   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Egg Harbor
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Peoria, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice family stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

This is the fourth or fifth time we have stayed at the Newport. Nice clean family place to stay. Indoor and outdoor pools, small continental breakfast, and two small play areas for kids. We had a small issue with the room they put us in at first. Apparently they had recently cleaned the carpet on there was a strong chemical smell in the room. They were accommodating and moved us after the first day. Definitely would recommend as a nice place to stay in Egg Harbor.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from Highway E. There is a fair amount of traffic that can be heard from rooms 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    66
    9
    4
    2
See reviews for
85
67
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Crivitz, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We stayed at the Newport Resort and loved it. The two bedroom suites are perfect for families traveling together. The staff was extremely friendly and knowledgable about where to go and what to see. The kids loved the outdoor pool and we were able to take a nice bike ride in the afternoon.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vesta
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Newport Resort and loved it. The two bedroom suites are perfect for families traveling together. The staff was extremely friendly and knowledgable about where to go and what to see. Since it rained and was a little on the chilly side, we used the indoor pool every day. The breakfast bar offer a variety of hot and cold items and was very good. We will stay here again on our next Door County trip.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We spent three nights here. The best part of the place is its location in Egg Harbor. You can easily walk to restaurants, stores and the marina. The outside is well-maintained and nicely situated next to a cherry orchard.

We appreciated being able to check-in early as our son was sick. Housekeeping quickly cleaned our room while we unloaded the car. The suite we stayed in was one of the premium ones and provided us good space. The furnishings are a bit dated, though, the lighting is poor and the bedrooms a bit on the small size. It is nice to have a full-size refrigerator but we didn't do any cooking while we were there. Breakfast was included, but we didn't find many good options. (We would have really liked some fresh fruit options!)

One other comment. No one is at the front desk from 10 pm to 7:30 am, so if you need something, you can't get it. In order to get into the fitness center, you have to ask for a key or if you need change for the washers, no one is there to provide it. Also, the fire alarm went off at 5:25 a.m. and stayed on for 5 or 10 minutes after which it was turned off. We never saw the fire department come so we weren't sure what had happened. Since there wasn't anyone at the front desk then, no one there could explain why it had gone off. That was a bit unsettling.

Overall, the property is good but I'm not sure I would return, maybe trying to find a more updated place nearby.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy D, Manager at Newport Resort, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for your review. I am happy that we were able to accommodated you with an early check in. Newport Resort is a great location for enjoying all Egg Harbor has to offer. We do have personal/staff on the property available for our guests emergency needs from 10 PM until 7AM. There is a four digit number posted in the suites and in the welcome letter received at check in for any after hour needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevens Point, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

My family loved the 2 pools, and the play room. We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite, and it was perfect. The free breakfast was nice, they had a hot option each day. It was nice to have a full kitchen for leftovers. Definitely would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyside, New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We had a lovely four-night stay at the Newport Resort. The location was great -- within easy walking distance of shops, restaurants and Harbor View Park, but far enough off the main road to be very quiet. The rate was fair, considering it included a suite with a kitchen, indoor and outdoor pools, a hot tub, and a daily continental breakfast (the food wasn't awesome but it kept us going until lunch). The suite was large, comfortable and clean. Minor gripes: the bedroom was a bit too small for a king-size bed, which made it hard to move around, and our patio had a view of the parking lot. On the whole, however, I would recommend this hotel to couples and families alike.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

We have been going to Door County for 25 yrs, staying all over the area. We've rented in every city and even different condos and we all agreed the Newport was our new favorite. Staff was very friendly and everything was very clean. The indoor pool was large and my husband used the hot tub and sauna. We stayed in #118 and it was a two bedroom where one bedroom was on one side of the living room and the other bedroom was on the other side. Each had a nice attached bathroom. We loved having the full size refrigerator so we had a place to put leftovers! The included breakfast each morning was perfect. There were cereals, donuts, muffins, breads, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, juice, coffee, and two rotating hot items. These were things such as French toast, pancakes, sausage, eggs, and it was great to have this included. The only recommendation I would have would be to add some fruit, like apples or bananas, to the breakfast. Overall excellent spot for a nice quiet, relaxing Door County vacation.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foremostmgt, Manager at Newport Resort, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thanks for your great review of Newport Resort. We were excited to read that we were your "favorite" place to stay. We just started including hot items in our continental breakfast, so we are glad you noticed. The French toast and eggs have been very popular additions to our spread of breads, cereal, yogurt and the like. We do occasionally add seasonal fruit but find the spoilage and fruit flies are a problem. Glad to hear that you were able to make use of the suites features, including the kitchen. We hope you return again soon ~ Thanks for choosing Newport Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Newport Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport Resort

Address: 7888 Church Street, Egg Harbor, WI 54209
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Egg Harbor
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Egg Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Newport Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One and Two Bedroom suites with king beds, fully equipped full sized kitchen, living area with 37" flat panel TV, whirlpool tub, gas fireplace and private deck. Great for families with many amenities; outdoor pool, indoor pool, whirlpool, sauna, fitness room and property wide complimentary high speed internet. Children's indoor play park and outdoor playground. Free continental breakfast. Great location walking distance to Door County shops, restaurants and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Despegar.com so you can book your Newport Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newport Hotel Egg Harbor
Newport Resort Egg Harbor, Door County, WI

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Newport Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.