We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shallows Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Shallows Resort to your Saves list
Shallows Resort
2.0 of 5 Specialty Resort   |   7353 Horseshoe Bay Rd, Egg Harbor, WI 54209   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Aurora, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Tranquil”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Spent the weekend at this resort and had a very peaceful stay. The room(s) we rented were fully stocked with cooking utensils, extra bedding and very clean. The only minor complaint we had was the coffee that came with the room, not the coffee served with the complimentary continental breakfast.

Owners were friendly and helpful with the outdoor grill. Even though the weather was not the greatest, our stay was.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    15
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
31
27
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Menasha, Wisconsin, United States
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

If you don't know where this private wonderful hotel on the water is, you won't find it driving by.
We used a map to find this precious private room on Lake Michigan, up in Door County in Egg Harbor. We were lucky to get a room so close to Labor Day, but it was one day before the big week end up there, so we took it! Glad we did, our room was right on the water with a private deck to overlook the water. It was so hot that day we decided to go swimming in their adjacent pool. We were the only ones in there, so quiet and private. Forgot about the Sauna (next time).
Huge room, very clean, large bathroom. Lots of amenities. Sent us off with warm cinnamon rolls, coffee and juice! What a nice place. They owe us one sunset though (it was clouding up and we missed it). They said it was included! Maybe next visit.

Room Tip: Ask for Number #1 Close to pool and community room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downers Grove, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

This was our first time staying at the Shallows Resort in Egg Harbor. We had a waterfront room overlooking the water. What a beautiful view!!! The room was spotless, very comfortable beds and nice décor. We were able to also bring our Golden Retriever and he had a great time at the County Park on the water that is close by as well as the two new dog parks in Egg Harbor and Sister Bay. It is just a short distance into downtown Egg Harbor and the rest of the quaint towns along the water. The property is well maintained and the cinnamon rolls in the breakfast room were also very good (it will be hard to resist not having another one!!). We hope to be back again. Very nice place to stay. The resort provides bicycles, boats, basketball court and tennis courts at no cost.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun Prairie, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

I had so many plans to do/see/go to for the two days I was up in DC. I spent most of my early mornings and evenings sitting on the patio outside my room or walking the 50 feet down to the shore and sitting in a chair just listening to the water, watching the birds, and enjoying BEAUTIFUL sunsets!
I stayed in one of the motel rooms, #7, which is on the first floor. Fifty feet from the water and right next to the woods. I know there was a couple in the room above me and a family next to me but I hardly heard them.
Two queen beds, a microwave and fridge (a little cutting board was provided too). The bathroom is a really nice size -- shower and tub -- and a separate sink/vanity area with a little alcove to hang your clothes in and stow bags.
I know the resort has been around for decades, but I would have never guessed it. Beautiful grounds. The room was clean and looked freshly painted. Oodles of bikes for guests to take out and ride. There were four or five boats by the pier that people could check out as well. The pool looked very inviting and there was a little play area for the kids to enjoy.
The continental breakfast consisted of wonderful cinnamon rolls, mini bagels and cream cheese, OJ, coffee, and hot chocolate all served in the Gathering Room. You can enjoy your breakfast in there or (as I did) take it back to your room to enjoy on the patio/balcony.
The beauty of the Shallows is you have a comfortable place to rest your head. You have plenty of places to just chill out and relax. If you have kids, there are plenty of activities for them to engage in (there's also a tennis court). Obviously when you are in Door County you are going to go out and explore but the Shallows is your home away from home to come back to.
P.S. I'm already planning my return and I just left three days ago!

Room Tip: Being the last room on the end, #7 was nice and quiet. Being next to the woods, I did see a total o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cave Creek, Arizona
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

What a comfortable, beautiful setting and so relaxing! Our room was like a little apartment with all the necessities that you need. Our friends stayed in the one next door - so it was fun preparing coffee in the morning, getting ready to explore all the towns along the route up to the tip of the peninsula! Dawn at the front desk, was a crack up and exciting to listen to and explore all the places she told us about. One night we stayed in and just had cheese, meats and wines that we got at the local market...which was fabulous. Yes, this is a family place but for us 4 adults, it was a beautiful setting, serene, nice and close to everything!

Room Tip: We stayed back off the lake, but with views from the balcony. Lots of kids activities around the po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmhurst, Illinois, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Although this is a perfect resort for a family with young children, it also works well for couples or families with older children. It has a beautiful view, set right on the waterfront. The sunsets are amazing. The resort includes canoes, kayaks and rowboats, also bikes, basket ball and badminton. They have two lakefront fire pits and an enclosed room with large windows overlooking the lake for games, cards at night and for sweet rolls and coffee in the morning which they provide. The pool and hot tub also are positioned to enjoy the view while swimming or lounging in the sun. The entire property is meticulously kept and the staff super friendly. The only thing that would make it better is a beach area with some sand. The shoreline there is rocky.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

As others have stated, the rooms are not awesome, but clean and tidy. The views make up for lack of a flat screen tv( not that you need one in the room). Love that Bob and Liz have plenty to offer guest's...canoes, swimming, my son loved the bikes and tennis ct. Was great that is was all included, didn't have to pay extra for anything. Thank you Bob and Liz for being such great hosts, and making our annual door co vacation lovely. Hopefully returners get dips on rooms next year:)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Shallows Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shallows Resort

Address: 7353 Horseshoe Bay Rd, Egg Harbor, WI 54209
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Egg Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Egg Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Shallows Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shallows Resort is a relaxed, family-friendly Door County resort located directly on shores of Green Bay. From our shoreline you can watch the sun set, launch one of the resort's canoes, kayaks, or rowboats and sit by the camp fire ...all in the seclusion of our Egg Harbor waterfront resort. We have a variety of accommodations and price points to meet your vacation needs. Make our Door County lodging your home base to tour the entire Door peninsula - we're centrally located to some of the area's best restaurants, parks, golf and shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Shallows Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shallows Hotel Egg Harbor
Shallows Resort Egg Harbor, Door County, WI

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shallows Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.